Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 5 votes

Transponder Maps: Domestic & DLA ~ Data 5/13/2015


  • Please log in to reply
915 replies to this topic

#351 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,287 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 March 2014 - 09:00 PM

the problem is if D14 will add new tpns what would require to have own new IDs, for existing nets there not too many left for that ...



#352 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 4,019 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 12 March 2014 - 10:36 PM

Is there any reason they'd make any changes until D14 actually launches? Did they start making such changes well in advance of the launch of D12 or D11?


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#353 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,287 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 March 2014 - 11:05 PM

I think it happened when they finish in orbit testing, or right after that



#354 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,699 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 13 March 2014 - 02:43 AM

the problem is if D14 will add new tpns what would require to have own new IDs, for existing nets there not too many left for that ...

It would seem logical for D14's CONUS transponder ID range numbering to be the same or similar to what D12 uses at 103w.

 

However, I'm not sure what TPN ID range DIRECTV engineers may intend for D14's spotbeam tps. For while I naturally expect D14's spots to replace those of SW2 (plus add two additional ones) for transponders 1-8 on the 99s screen. I don't expect them to use the same TPN ID numbering range and scheme currently used by the Spaceways.    


Edited by HoTat2, 13 March 2014 - 02:50 AM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#355 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,699 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 13 March 2014 - 02:49 AM

... My personal expectation is that D14 will fall in line with the existing architecture, data layouts and conventions.  When the dust finally settles, I foresee the Networks at 99W configured much like their siblings at 103W.

 

Me as well ... 

... Given some free time, I will assemble a "Projected Network Decoder" sheet, with D14 included and post it up here.  That will give all a chance to laugh with me - or laugh at me - as the new D14 unfolds.

 

Look forward to it.

 

Should be fun ... :) 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#356 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,066 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 26 March 2014 - 12:50 PM

Doctor J Comments for the  3/26/2014 Domestic Data

 

No Local Into Local changes

 

Lots of MLB and 600's Sports Channel changes as baseball season gets ready to start




#357 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,066 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 26 March 2014 - 02:59 PM

Network Decoder: D14 Crystal-Ball-Version

Attached is a fully UN-substantiated vision of the Directv Network and TPN Configuration as it might appear with the inclusion of D14.

I have gone full circle a few times; but have come back to a view that is not terribly inspired and shows the new 99W configuration as a sort of mirror image of 103W. The D14 Schedule-S clearly lays out the transponder scheme for D14 and that drives this view of the D14 meld into the overall architecture.

I must admit I have failed miserably in an effort to map out the overall transponder frequencies. We clearly do not have complete data and I suspect that many parts of our historical data are not correct.

Again, the D14 information here is pure conjecture on my part. I have found no secret information. In a few months we will know if this post is prophetically accurate -- or embarrassingly wrong.


#358 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 4,019 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 26 March 2014 - 04:49 PM

I haven't seen any information about D14 having any Ka-lo capability, so I would expect it would have Ka-hi spots only.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#359 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,699 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 26 March 2014 - 07:42 PM

I haven't seen any information about D14 having any Ka-lo capability, so I would expect it would have Ka-hi spots only.

Correct;

 

D14's spotbeam tpns. are all Ka-hi 1-8.

 

Therefore, if we assume D14's spots will immediately or eventually replace those of SW2 as well as two additional ones, 99(s) should have the cells representing tpns. 1-8 colored in blue from D14 and cells 15-24 blue for D11's spots.

 

Otherwise a good speculation of the future Network Decoder when D14 is operational from what I can see.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#360 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 4,019 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 26 March 2014 - 09:44 PM

I guess at that point SW2 is out of a job, and becomes an in-orbit spare?


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#361 OFFLINE   JohnBoy

JohnBoy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2011

Posted 30 March 2014 - 05:43 PM

Looking at the OTA mapping in the TPN excel spreadsheet I notice that Orlando WTMO 31.1 Telemundo HD does not show up on the list.

But if I look on zap2it and titantv guides it is listed.

I have a am21 tuner coming this week and I would like to know if said channel will show up in D* database.

Also ,I have a RCA 1450BR indoor antenna that I would not trust much with the am21,could anyone recommend a good indoor antenna....Thanks.
Mas Ultra Package + NFL ST MAX (Go Bills) MLB Xtra innings (Go Yankees)
1  Genie HR 44 - 700
3   Mini Genie C41 - 100
1 AM21 OTA Tuner

#362 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,740 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 30 March 2014 - 07:52 PM

Unfortunately WTMO is a low powered class a station and didn't sign on their digital signal until 2011, long after DirecTV stopped adding new stations to the database for the AM-21 tuner. Any recent changes were a result of Tribune updating data on existing stations. (i.e. Ion's new -DT4 stations are only there because Tribune is using the same station ID they used back when they carried Worship)

As for antenna recommendations, there's no one size fits all, put your specific address into TVFool.com, if the stations all show up as green you should be fine. You might need to do some work on positioning if there's a bunch of interior walls and other sources of interference between the location and the exterior wall facing the towers. Antennas like that model also tend to have problems the lower you go on the VHF band, so pay attention to the results on TVFool.com.

Edited by KyL416, 30 March 2014 - 07:55 PM.


#363 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,066 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 31 March 2014 - 09:09 PM

Just nice to know information - like understanding the Nielsen DMA rankings.

 

If you ever wondered what cities are in what DMAs, here is the answer.  The Excel provides a listing of all the cities that make up each and every DMA.

 

The "Criteria ID" and "Region Code" fields are of value to folks in the Marketing and Advertising world.

 

 

*EDIT* 6/15/14  The attachment has been moved to the HD Locals Forum where it belongs.




#364 OFFLINE   JohnBoy

JohnBoy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2011

Posted 03 April 2014 - 03:59 PM

Unfortunately WTMO is a low powered class a station and didn't sign on their digital signal until 2011, long after DirecTV stopped adding new stations to the database for the AM-21 tuner. Any recent changes were a result of Tribune updating data on existing stations. (i.e. Ion's new -DT4 stations are only there because Tribune is using the same station ID they used back when they carried Worship)

As for antenna recommendations, there's no one size fits all, put your specific address into TVFool.com, if the stations all show up as green you should be fine. You might need to do some work on positioning if there's a bunch of interior walls and other sources of interference between the location and the exterior wall facing the towers. Antennas like that model also tend to have problems the lower you go on the VHF band, so pay attention to the results on TVFool.com.


I just installed my am21 and I notice that the tuner picked up channel 31-2 which shows Antenna TV guide information but when I click on said channel its Telemundo HD.

Antenna Tv should show up as 27-2 here in Orlando but it did not show up during am21 install but shows guide info for 31-2 which is showing Telemundo.

Anyone know how I can get my am21 to show Antenna Tv 27-2 with guide info as well as Telemundo 31-2 Guide info.

Also does anyone know what is Orlando's secondary market?

Thanks.

Edited by JohnBoy, 03 April 2014 - 04:09 PM.

Mas Ultra Package + NFL ST MAX (Go Bills) MLB Xtra innings (Go Yankees)
1  Genie HR 44 - 700
3   Mini Genie C41 - 100
1 AM21 OTA Tuner

#365 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,740 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 03 April 2014 - 04:16 PM

It looks like a bug on DirecTV's end when it comes to stations that have multiple major numbers and two of the minor numbers are the same when matching the guide data. WRDQ has a simulcast of WTMO on their signal:
27.1 maps to 27-1 WRDQ
27.2 maps to 27-2 Antenna TV
27.3 maps to 31-2 WTMO

The receiver probably incorrectly matched the listing for WRDQDT2 to the last -2 it detected on channel 27.

There is a Telemundo affiliate in Little Rock on 31-1 that might be available if you add Little Rock as a secondary zip code, but I don't know if their schedule matches up.

Edited by KyL416, 03 April 2014 - 04:19 PM.


#366 OFFLINE   JohnBoy

JohnBoy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2011

Posted 03 April 2014 - 04:19 PM

It looks like a programming error on DirecTV's end when it comes to stations that have multiple major numbers and two of the minor numbers are the same when matching the guide data. WRDQ has a simulcast of WTMO on their signal:
27.1 maps to 27-1 WRDQ
27.2 maps to 27-2 Antenna TV
27.3 maps to 31-2 WTMO

The receiver probably incorrectly matched the listing for WRDQDT2 to the last -2 it detected on channel 27.


What should i do,re run install?

Also can you tell me a secondary zip for orlando....Thanks
Mas Ultra Package + NFL ST MAX (Go Bills) MLB Xtra innings (Go Yankees)
1  Genie HR 44 - 700
3   Mini Genie C41 - 100
1 AM21 OTA Tuner

#367 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,740 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 03 April 2014 - 04:21 PM

You can try again to see if it was just an error, but if it happens again, there's not much you can really do to fix it outside of reporting it in the issues thread for your receiver and hoping they fix it.

To pull in the guide data for the Little Rock affiliate try using 72002 as the secondary zip code.

Edited by KyL416, 03 April 2014 - 04:23 PM.


#368 OFFLINE   JohnBoy

JohnBoy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2011

Posted 03 April 2014 - 04:36 PM

You can try again to see if it was just an error, but if it happens again, there's not much you can really do to fix it outside of reporting it in the issues thread for your receiver and hoping they fix it.

To pull in the guide data for the Little Rock affiliate try using 72002 as the secondary zip code.


Just did re install and no luck.Will have to report to issues thread.
Mas Ultra Package + NFL ST MAX (Go Bills) MLB Xtra innings (Go Yankees)
1  Genie HR 44 - 700
3   Mini Genie C41 - 100
1 AM21 OTA Tuner

#369 OFFLINE   coconut13

coconut13

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 201 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 03 April 2014 - 05:35 PM

Just did re install and no luck.Will have to report to issues thread.

You can try running Ok City (73101) as a secondary zip. OKC runs Antenna TV on 4.2 RF27. By matching the .2 RF27 it might put Antenna TV in your guide. D* database for Orlando does have 27.2 RF27 in the database, so you should get that channel without any trouble. Could be other problems.



#370 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,740 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 03 April 2014 - 06:03 PM

D* database for Orlando does have 27.2 RF27 in the database, so you should get that channel without any trouble. Could be other problems.

It is, see post 365. Basically since DirecTV is only matching the -2 and the RF number, it is putting the listings on the wrong channel since WRDQ has two -2's.
27-2 Antenna TV
31-2 SD widescreen simulcast of WTMO

Edited by KyL416, 03 April 2014 - 06:04 PM.


#371 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,066 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 04 April 2014 - 08:49 PM

Kyle,

 

Would you consider putting together and posting an "OTA Tutorial" for all of us? 

 

There is much confusion out there.  I regularly get PM's asking about OTA and I know my responses are very limited.  You mentioned above that the AM21 only looks at the minor number and the RF number - that was news for me.

 

Also lots of questions about the channel numbering  -  for example, one DMA will have an RF Chl 11 which provides channels 11-1 and 11-2.  Yet the next DMA will have an RF Chl 11 which provides channels 35-1 and 35-2.

 

Using the secondary ZIP effectively is a real "feature" that many folks are not familiar with.

 

I think you will quickly become a very popular guy!




#372 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,066 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 04 April 2014 - 09:09 PM

Sorry - please note that the currently posted Domestic TPN Map is still that of 3/26/14, last week's map.  It is properly titled;  it is not this week's data with an old file name.




#373 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,066 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 05 April 2014 - 02:55 PM

egakagoc2xi   Comments for the 4/5/2014 Panamericana Data

 

No significant changes; just some SD Events channels added and MLB Extra Innings




#374 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,066 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 09 April 2014 - 04:35 PM

Doctor J Comments for the  4/9/2014 Domestic Data

 

Welcome Back, Doctor J !

 

 

No HD or SD Local-Into-Local channel changes

 

 

However, some interesting moving or re-balancing has taken place since the 3/26/14 data:

 

Market 119 (Marquette, MI) has been moved from Spaceway 2/TPN 4 to Spaceway 1/TPN 3

 

Market 162 (Rockford, IL) has changed TIDs from 070 to 022, but remains on Spaceway 2/TPN 6

 

Market 190 (Tri-Cities, TN) has changed TIDs from 061 to 012 but remains on Spaceway 2/TPN 5

 

 

 

[fixed Marquette, MI]




#375 OFFLINE   jeffgbailey

jeffgbailey

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 213 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2008

Posted 09 April 2014 - 04:55 PM

Market 119 (Marquette, MN) has been moved from Spaceway 2/TPN 4 to Spaceway 1/TPN 3
 
 
 
Marquette is in Michigan (MI) not Minnesota (MN) ;)

Edited by jeffgbailey, 09 April 2014 - 04:55 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...