Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can't Update Software On H24-700


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 04:39 PM

I recently purchased (leased) a H24-700 from Solid Signal and had it activated on 12/25. It is part of a SWM5 LNB configuration along with a HR22 and HR34.

The receiver functions fine except that I cannot get it to update it's software. It is currently at version 0x5a1 which is timestamped at 3/16 5:14pm.

In addition to keeping the receiver on overnight, I have also attempted multiple times to do a forced upgrade (hitting the red reset button and then entering the 02468 command upon getting the blue screen). When I do the forced upgrade, it take me to the software update status screen, which never goes above 0%. After it searches for the software for ~15 minutes, it takes me to the last channel I was watching.

I have attempted to do forced upgrades with the access card installed and not, as well as after performing a Reset Everything from the Setting's screen.

My signal strength is excellent (99 = 94-97, 101 = 95-100, 103 = 92-96, 110 = 95-96 and 119 = 92-100) and the unit has passed all the tests that can be run in Diagnostics mode.

All my other two receivers have never had an issue getting a software update.

I believe DirectTV continually runs the software update streams.

Any thoughts on what could be wrong?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   larry55

larry55

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2010

Posted 27 December 2012 - 04:52 PM

do a reboot when it come up on your click on the remote 24680.when it say starting do it then.

#3 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,829 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:19 PM

According to redh.com/dtv 0x062C is in the stream right now for the H24-700.

What do the numbers in the upper right hand corner of the download screen do?
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#4 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,829 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:20 PM

do a reboot when it come up on your click on the remote 24680.when it say starting do it then.


It's 02468 and if you read his post he already tried that.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#5 OFFLINE   larry55

larry55

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2010

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:25 PM

correct 02468

#6 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:41 PM

I'll need to check on the upper right hand, but the numbers (hex?) on the upper left keep incrementing up . . . and after 15 minutes the % complete remains at 0 (and flips to the last channel viewed).

#7 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,866 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:46 PM

check if the web site has "+" sign, that means FW is spooling and announcement sending to participants. Practically, the 02468 sequence just force to pick the announcement fist, then after parsing it, turn to right tp/PID/etc for download the code.

#8 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:55 PM

Are you able to use the version you're on now?
If so, try the menu reset- it's a touch safer than a RBR.

If you're able to use the current version, you will get updated eventually automatically, fwiw.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#9 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,103 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 27 December 2012 - 06:01 PM

The firmware for the receivers is not always in the stream anymore, you would probably be best to let it get the update on it's own. I won't take that long.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#10 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:07 PM

So guys, as of this date, my receiver has not yet received a software update . . .

Since last weekend, I have set my front panel lights to be fully dimmed (DirectTV logo at minimal brightness and the Res indicator light not on). Every few mornings, I am finding the panel lights are at full brightness. This is indicating to me that the receiver has attempted to do an automated software update over night and has rebooted itself. When I subsequently check my system info, I am still at version 0x5a1 which is timestamped at 3/16 5:14pm.

All my signal strengths continue to be in the high 90s and have again run all the advanced diagnostic tests (including the coax test). All pass. This morning, and even went through the steps of reauthorizing my receiver . . . and a forced update of the software did not work.

Everything thing else functions perfectly with the receiver (including my whole home DVR) . . .

Any thoughts on next steps?

#11 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,866 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:40 PM

try use 02468 trick

#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,930 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:47 PM

He had tried that.

#13 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,483 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:57 PM

So guys, as of this date, my receiver has not yet received a software update . . .

Since last weekend, I have set my front panel lights to be fully dimmed (DirectTV logo at minimal brightness and the Res indicator light not on). Every few mornings, I am finding the panel lights are at full brightness. This is indicating to me that the receiver has attempted to do an automated software update over night and has rebooted itself. When I subsequently check my system info, I am still at version 0x5a1 which is timestamped at 3/16 5:14pm.

All my signal strengths continue to be in the high 90s and have again run all the advanced diagnostic tests (including the coax test). All pass. This morning, and even went through the steps of reauthorizing my receiver . . . and a forced update of the software did not work.

Everything thing else functions perfectly with the receiver (including my whole home DVR) . . .

Any thoughts on next steps?


Have you tried unplugging it for several hours and then plug it back in ?
I have read a couple of posts that said this worked for them.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#14 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:54 PM

I have gone as far as unplugging the PI to SWM for 10 minutes, but will try unplugging the receiver for few hours . . . this one has me stumped !

#15 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,829 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 05 January 2013 - 02:28 PM

Another thing to try is a "reset everything". Other than that it seems like you have a bad unit. It definitely should have updated on its own by now.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#16 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 02:34 PM

Already did the reset everything to bring it back to the factory setting . . . didn't work.

#17 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,930 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 03:42 PM

Would they authorize a swap if its not getting updates? There's no error code or outward issues. Or will he have to use the "it won't turn on" line?

#18 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,829 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 05 January 2013 - 03:45 PM

Would they authorize a swap if its not getting updates?


They should, it's not functioning as it should.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#19 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,930 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 03:58 PM

Yeah, but then if the HDMI port goes out, I wold also say its not operating as it should, and we know they disagree on that.

#20 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,483 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 05 January 2013 - 03:58 PM

It is currently at version 0x5a1 which is timestamped at 3/16 5:14pm

That is a very old date. It has missed many updates.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD





Protected By... spam firewall...And...