Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can't Update Software On H24-700


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,374 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 06 January 2013 - 06:34 AM

. . . the last thing I want is a tech "reworking" my system :(


It's the last thing we want to do too...

I have only seen one HD receiver that wouldn't do a software download, that was an HR34 that got stuck at 96 percent every time. Replaced.

On SD systems if the IRDs can't do downloads (status bar stays at 0 receiver times out) the LNB is bad. Signal readings across the board will be excellent.

You could try moving the receiver to a different location.

I'd recommend having a Tech out try replacing the LNB and if that doesn't work the IRD.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,206 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 09:25 AM

I wouldn't think the LNB would be the issue, all the other boxes update fine.

#28 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:36 AM

Just called DirecTV . . they are sending a tech out next Saturday . . hopefully this will be "positive" experience . . .

#29 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,937 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:52 AM

Just called DirecTV . . they are sending a tech out next Saturday . . hopefully this will be "positive" experience . . .


Well, If nothing else you will get a H24 for a H24 :) Let us know how it goes.

"Let's Have Some Fun!"

SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK


#30 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,986 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:11 AM

Try entering the 02468 when the front panel lights come on whether or not the blue screen is up. Press the buttons one after the next but don't so fast that the IR signals may not be received.

Of course if the latest version isn't in the stream it won't work. Given enough time it'll update itself so unless you're having some problems I wouldn't worry about too much.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#31 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,236 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:30 AM

Try entering the 02468 when the front panel lights come on whether or not the blue screen is up. Press the buttons one after the next but don't so fast that the IR signals may not be received.

Of course if the latest version isn't in the stream it won't work. Given enough time it'll update itself so unless you're having some problems I wouldn't worry about too much.

Mike


He's tried the 02468 deal, didn't work. It's also been over a week and no update. Something ain't right.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#32 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,986 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:37 AM

He's tried the 02468 deal, didn't work. It's also been over a week and no update. Something ain't right.

Yes, I know that. I did actually read the post. :)

<snip>In addition to keeping the receiver on overnight, I have also attempted multiple times to do a forced upgrade (hitting the red reset button and then entering the 02468 command upon getting the blue screen).
<snip>

However, waiting for the first blue screen usually doesn't work for me. I figured that since entering the code when the front panel lights come on works best for me I'd see if his problem is timing.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#33 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:55 AM

I can get to the Software Download screen all day long . . the issue is that once it gets to that screen, %completion remains at 0% for 15 minutes without advancing, and then the restart continues until completion.

For sh!ts and giggles, I did try the suggestion to enter the code right after the panel lights come on . . that seems to be premature and won't get me to the Software Download screen . . I have to wait until the blue screen shows on the TV.

Hopefully the tech will do a swap and not be tempted to fix everything else that it not broken . . .

In over fifteen years of having DirecTV, I only had techs come out to the house twice. Both times where to install "free" receivers. Neither experience was positive. I have purposely incurred the extra expense of upgrading (dishes, LNBs, SWMs, receivers) by doing the work myself to avoid having a tech come out. I am sure there are good ones out there, but my limited experience has been bad . . .

I'll keep everyone posted on the result of the visit next Thursday . . .

#34 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,387 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:57 AM

I can get to the Software Download screen all day long . . the issue is that once it gets to that screen, %completion remains at 0% for 15 minutes without advancing, and then the restart continues until completion.

Assuming your connections and the sat signal levels are OK when checking them on that unit...it sounds like it needs to be replaced.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#35 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,206 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 12:33 PM

Well, If nothing else you will get a H24 for a H24 :) Let us know how it goes.


Not necessarily.

#36 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 06 January 2013 - 12:50 PM

I can get to the Software Download screen all day long . . the issue is that once it gets to that screen, %completion remains at 0% for 15 minutes without advancing, and then the restart continues until completion.

...

I'll keep everyone posted on the result of the visit next Thursday . . .


Have you run the system test to see if there is anything reported from the STB?
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#37 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 01:29 PM

Yes. I have gone into Diagnostic Mode (Hit Select after RBR) and ran through all the tests. All passed. I also did the Coax test and that passed. All diagnostics were run twice.

#38 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,143 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 January 2013 - 01:32 PM

I'll keep everyone posted on the result of the visit next Thursday . . .

One "last thing" I'd try is running the diagnostic tests.
Reboot and at the "receiver running self test" screen press select to enter into the menu.
Run the guided test.
It may show the defect, or not.

Guess I was slow to post. :lol:

Sounds like the box is Tango Uniform and needs swapping.
A.K.A VOS

#39 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,937 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 06 January 2013 - 01:33 PM

Not necessarily.


100% Better Chance than by having it Shipped

"Let's Have Some Fun!"

SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK


#40 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 06:41 PM

I have a requirement for 3D and a RF remote . . . so there will be a problem if I don't get a H24 as a replacement. . .

#41 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,751 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 06 January 2013 - 08:11 PM

I have a requirement for 3D and a RF remote . . . so there will be a problem if I don't get a H24 as a replacement. . .


Why not an H25?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#42 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,206 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 08:33 PM

I have a requirement for 3D and a RF remote . . . so there will be a problem if I don't get a H24 as a replacement. . .


I thought the H21 up were 3D and RF compatible?

#43 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,986 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 08:51 PM

I have a requirement for 3D and a RF remote . . . so there will be a problem if I don't get a H24 as a replacement. . .

Any of the current H2x receivers will do 3D and RF.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#44 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,206 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 08:59 PM

Of course a DECA would be needed if it isn't a 24.

#45 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 09:44 PM

The HR25 does not have RF remote capabilities . . . good point on the Hxx series and 3D. I'll just need to plan on pitching a fit if I'm not offered a H24 as a replacement (especially in light of shelling out $100 less than 3 weeks ago to esure I got a H24). :)

#46 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,206 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 09:52 PM

It's not built into the 25, but is rf compatible, just needs the dongle.

#47 OFFLINE   pjschwartz

pjschwartz

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:20 AM

Folks,

I had my DirecTV service call this morning . . .

First, I wanted to say this was probably the MOST POSITIVE visit that I have ever had by a service tech from any company. He was very knowledgeable and did a complete and thorough check up of my system. Following the conclusion of the visit, he also provided me with his cellphone number (a new policy of the DirecTV service vendor in this area) with the understanding that if I experience any technical problems in the next 3 months, I should contact him directly.

The tech's immediate diagnosis was that my H24 was defective. He provided me with the option of either replacing it with a H24 or H25 (they don't have older, outdated models on the truck). I told him I wanted to to stick with a H24. When he connected the replacement H24, it strangely also would not take a forced download of the software (even with multiple attempts).

The tech then went back to his truck and grabbed a H25. Within seconds, it took the software download. The tech's conclusion is that DirecTV may be having a software download feed issue with the H24.

I am now glad that DirecTV sent a tech instead of just sending me a replacement H24. It looks like the H24s "may" currently be having an issue that would not have been resolved with getting a like model for replacement . . . or I would have gotten an older, outdated receiver.

At least for now, I am very happy with the H25, and in hindsight, it should have been the model I ordered. It is noticeably faster than the H24.

I mentioned to the tech that the reason I went with the H24 was that it had RF remote control capabilities. He went back out to his truck and grabbed me an RF dongle, as well as an RF remote (which I was planning to purchase in the future). Both were given to me free of charge.

So far, this has been a happy ending to my issue ! ! ! !

If there are any daring forum members with an H24, I'd be very interested in the results of what your experience is if you attempt to force a download.

#48 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,751 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:46 AM

PJ--

Great outcome! You'll love the '25- or maybe you already do..

Good luck!
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#49 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,236 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 12 January 2013 - 12:11 PM

Folks,

I had my DirecTV service call this morning . . .

First, I wanted to say this was probably the MOST POSITIVE visit that I have ever had by a service tech from any company. He was very knowledgeable and did a complete and thorough check up of my system. Following the conclusion of the visit, he also provided me with his cellphone number (a new policy of the DirecTV service vendor in this area) with the understanding that if I experience any technical problems in the next 3 months, I should contact him directly.

The tech's immediate diagnosis was that my H24 was defective. He provided me with the option of either replacing it with a H24 or H25 (they don't have older, outdated models on the truck). I told him I wanted to to stick with a H24. When he connected the replacement H24, it strangely also would not take a forced download of the software (even with multiple attempts).

The tech then went back to his truck and grabbed a H25. Within seconds, it took the software download. The tech's conclusion is that DirecTV may be having a software download feed issue with the H24.

I am now glad that DirecTV sent a tech instead of just sending me a replacement H24. It looks like the H24s "may" currently be having an issue that would not have been resolved with getting a like model for replacement . . . or I would have gotten an older, outdated receiver.

At least for now, I am very happy with the H25, and in hindsight, it should have been the model I ordered. It is noticeably faster than the H24.

I mentioned to the tech that the reason I went with the H24 was that it had RF remote control capabilities. He went back out to his truck and grabbed me an RF dongle, as well as an RF remote (which I was planning to purchase in the future). Both were given to me free of charge.

So far, this has been a happy ending to my issue ! ! ! !

If there are any daring forum members with an H24, I'd be very interested in the results of what your experience is if you attempt to force a download.



Awesome! Glad it all worked out for you.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#50 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,206 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 01:26 PM

Other H24s are definitely getting software when it's in the stream, so it's not all boxes of that type. But something was definitely wrong with yours.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...