Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Genie on non-SWN setup?


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,947 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:06 AM

Have been running more than one literally for years...never had a single issue.

How often do you take your setup on the road?

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,803 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:07 AM

How often do you take your setup on the road?

Oh...about 25 times a year.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#23 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:09 AM

Oh...about 25 times a year.


Gotcha beat. We live in our RV full-time. So it's always "on the road". ;)

#24 OFFLINE   Floyd

Floyd

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2004

Posted 30 December 2012 - 12:46 PM

If this isn't what you want, then your current multi-switch would need to be changed to a SWiM-16, and have your two HD receivers connected to the legacy ports. This would let them move to the RV without problems.


Do the legacy ports on the SWiM-16 provide access to all the HD sats/chs?

#25 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 30 December 2012 - 12:51 PM

Do the legacy ports on the SWiM-16 provide access to all the HD sats/chs?


I believe they're functionally equivalent to a port on a multi-switch. So it should.

#26 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:36 PM

Do the legacy ports on the SWiM-16 provide access to all the HD sats/chs?


I believe they're functionally equivalent to a port on a multi-switch. So it should.


I thought there was one catch with using the Legacy ports though. Maybe if VOS sees this, he'll pipe in as I'm sure he'll know...

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#27 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:46 PM

Ah. Found it. The legacy ports only do 101/110/119. So no Ka signals from 99/103. So my answer to the question was wrong, since he was asking about HD. Sorry.

#28 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,850 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 December 2012 - 02:05 PM

Legacy ports vary between the SWM8 & SWiM-16.
The SWM8 doesn't pass Ka-lo, but does pass Ka-hi.
The SWiM-16 passes all frequencies, but with 10+ dB of loss, which is why they shouldn't be cascaded.
A.K.A VOS

#29 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 30 December 2012 - 02:10 PM

Interesting. So the FAQ at SWM8.com is wrong. Or not entirely correct.

#30 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,850 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 December 2012 - 02:17 PM

Interesting. So the FAQ at SWM8.com is wrong. Or not entirely correct.

I don't know where SWM8.com gets their info, but I do know mine from measuring them.
A.K.A VOS

#31 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,898 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 30 December 2012 - 02:46 PM

Grandpa in the RV will mess up the PI. Seen it several times.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#32 OFFLINE   Floyd

Floyd

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2004

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:55 PM

The SWiM-16 passes all frequencies, but with 10+ dB of loss, which is why they shouldn't be cascaded.


I didn't know that the SWiM-16 had any thru-ports that could be used to cascade another SWiM switch?
Unless you mean that it shouldn't be at the end of a cascade, in which case you would need enough signal to allow for the 10db insertion loss of the SWiM-16.

#33 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,092 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:06 PM

This thread may be of interest.

When one SWM isn't enough:

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=207005

#34 OFFLINE   norwestie

norwestie

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationWest Linn, OR
Joined: Dec 28, 2012

Posted 31 December 2012 - 09:27 AM

I just checked the multiswitch that the installer used; it is a Zinwell WB68.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...