Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

YouTube not available and 301 errors


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   eph3

eph3

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2007

Posted 29 December 2012 - 08:56 AM

I am visiting my brother in TX and he has two HR22 receivers, configured with Whole Home DVR capability and connected to the Internet via hard wire network thru a Netgear router and RR cable modem. All functions well, including VOD downloads but here's where it gets weird.

The YouTube app doesn't show up in the Extras section and search results don't show YouTube matches. The DTV apps reports a 301 error and attempting to start network services results in the same error.

I've seen other posts similar to this condition, and have done the following on one HR22:
- use static IP address and block router from assigning that address
- set DNS server to the primary one for RR in this area (matches reported IP address in cable modem)
- set SDL setting to manual, kept default port values (27161, 27162)
- set up port forwarding in the Netgear router to direct the ports to the static IP address of the DVR
- hard reset both DVR and Netgear router

However, I continue seeing the same 301 error and can't access YouTube. Am I missing something? I don't have this problem with my configuration at home and I'm out of ideas. I suspect the issue is in the router so I may try bypassing that as a test.

Thanks!
DirecTV since '96, HR21-700, HR22-100 and RTV 5160

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   eph3

eph3

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2007

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:41 AM

Correction - the ports used for STB and Audio are 27177 and 27178, respectively. From the Network Services setup screen, after setting STB to manual and keeping the default port values I get an "Unable to start network services (<301>)" error.

BTW: the DVR is running 0x62c firmware.
DirecTV since '96, HR21-700, HR22-100 and RTV 5160

#3 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,927 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:08 AM

If you press the dash key (-) on the remote, it will tell you whether or not you are Internet connected.

I suggest going into network setup and doing a "restore defaults" to get it back to the original setup. If it doesn't get connected after that, verify the physical connectivity. Is there a CCK or Wireless-CCK on the network? This is needed for Internet connectivity.

Network Services is not needed for YouTube, so regardless of whether you have that set up correctly or not, will not make a difference.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#4 OFFLINE   eph3

eph3

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2007

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:57 AM

I solved the 301 error with a couple additional changes. The router is a NetGear FVS318 and I enabled uPNP and I'm also routing port 1701 to the DVR IP address. With these changes, the TV Apps now work and the 301 error is fixed.

However, the YouTube app is still missing from the Extras menu and Advanced Search doesn't display any YouTube results. Are there additional ports which need to be routed to the DVR? Or anything else required to activate or enable the YouTube app? This is bizarre to me as the configuration at my home works without any additional settings or tweaks, but I'm running over an AT&T Uverse setup.
DirecTV since '96, HR21-700, HR22-100 and RTV 5160

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,682 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:58 AM

Be patient. If that was indeed your root problem, then it can take a few days for YouTube to appear.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   eph3

eph3

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2007

Posted 29 December 2012 - 12:00 PM

Doug - I've confirmed Internet connectivity, and other than YouTube, all other services or apps which would need it work fine (TV Apps, VOD download, Pandora, etc.)
DirecTV since '96, HR21-700, HR22-100 and RTV 5160

#7 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,777 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 29 December 2012 - 12:02 PM

Check the Allow Web Videos setting.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#8 OFFLINE   eph3

eph3

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2007

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:05 PM

I've looked everywhere in Settings and cannot find the Web Videos setting. I've seen posts suggesting that it's in Parental Controls but I don't see it there anywhere.
DirecTV since '96, HR21-700, HR22-100 and RTV 5160

#9 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,567 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:26 PM

I see you fixed it

Web Video is in the menu -system -display

If he has parent controls set it won't allow Utube
"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#10 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,294 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:30 PM

I've looked everywhere in Settings and cannot find the Web Videos setting. I've seen posts suggesting that it's in Parental Controls but I don't see it there anywhere.



Parental controls, between channel blocks and spending limits, if you don't see it there try a red button reset.

There is and additional software download that might start with an RBR.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#11 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,777 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:44 PM

Parental controls, between channel blocks and spending limits, if you don't see it there try a red button reset.

There is and additional software download that might start with an RBR.


Reset the receiver twice in a thirty minute period. That will clear the cache. Give it 36 hours to rebuild. YouTube should appear in that time frame.

Edited by MysteryMan, 29 December 2012 - 01:50 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#12 OFFLINE   eph3

eph3

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2007

Posted 29 December 2012 - 05:52 PM

Yay! Everything is working now. Thanks all for the advice!
DirecTV since '96, HR21-700, HR22-100 and RTV 5160




Protected By... spam firewall...And...