Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Dumb, Dumb, Dumb!


  • Please log in to reply
149 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,197 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 04 January 2013 - 02:15 PM

Most of you, especially those that back Directv regardless of the situation, have missed the point of the entire thread. Mike Bertelsen got it, but it took 92 posts before even he mentioned it. The problem isn't the box rebooting, it's that ota doesn't work unless you have a satellite signal. That's stupid, and it's the fault of the software.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,440 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 04 January 2013 - 02:52 PM

Most of you, especially those that back Directv regardless of the situation, have missed the point of the entire thread. Mike Bertelsen got it, but it took 92 posts before even he mentioned it. The problem isn't the box rebooting, it's that ota doesn't work unless you have a satellite signal. That's stupid, and it's the fault of the software.

Unless it's designed to operate that way of course.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#128 OFFLINE   TMan

TMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 213 posts
Joined: Oct 30, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 03:24 PM

Unless it's designed to operate that way of course.


If that's the case, then it is stupid that it is designed that way! Aside from probably making it angry during a reboot, which I'll allow an exception for, an otherwise undisturbed HR34/AM21 combo should carry on happily with antenna channels if it temporarily loses satellite signal. That's a major point of having an AM21 in my opinion.

The only thing dumber than that would be to require, when an AM21 is connected, the presence of an OTA signal to receive satellite. Oh, your antenna is goofed up? No satellite for you! Or disconnect the AM21. :D
October 2012 DirecTV subscriber - HR34(Genie)/C31/C31 - AU9-S-SWM Five LNB - Premier

#129 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,440 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 04 January 2013 - 03:46 PM

If that's the case, then it is stupid that it is designed that way!

Software design is often a subjective business (matter of opinion) in terms of right/wrong/good/better/best.

I'm not saying it was designed that way...only that it was a possibility and if so...would explain the reported behavior.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#130 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,197 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:10 PM

Software design is often a subjective business (matter of opinion) in terms of right/wrong/good/better/best.

I'm not saying it was designed that way...only that it was a possibility and if so...would explain the reported behavior.


I don't know if it was intentional or not, but earlier hd boxes didn't need a satellite signal to work ota. It started with the Directv branded boxes.

#131 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,440 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:12 PM

I don't know if it was intentional or not, but earlier hd boxes didn't need a satellite signal to work ota. It started with the Directv branded boxes.

That was certainly true in the HR20-700's I used to have. Then again...those would now be 6 1/2 year old DVRs.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#132 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,202 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:33 PM

That was certainly true in the HR20-700's I used to have. Then again...those would now be 6 1/2 year old DVRs.

Haven't I already posted that unless it reboots, the OTA/AM21 works fine with the loss of the SAT signal?

At some point due to the guide data missing, it will want to reboot.

During boot-up, it needs the SAT signal to verify the account status.
A.K.A VOS

#133 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,440 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:36 PM

Haven't I already posted that unless it reboots, the OTA/AM21 works fine with the loss of the SAT signal?

At some point due to the guide data missing, it will want to reboot.

During boot-up, it needs the SAT signal to verify the account status.

Obviously I missed that post.

With a 2-week guide data inventory...it sure makes sense that E.T. would want to phone home for more data.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#134 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,202 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:47 PM

Obviously I missed that post.

With a 2-week guide data inventory...it sure makes sense that E.T. would want to phone home for more data.

While it was a bummer that the TS got screwed over watching his game in the live buffer and having the DVR reboot, There have to be some limits of the OTA functions, or these "leased" receivers would be used for dual tuner OTA DVRs after a customer dropped their SAT service.

For times when there are signal problems, we can watch recordings [even after a reboot] and without a reboot, watch OTA. This also will have a timeout but DirecTV did make some changes a few years back after some bad storms and complaints here on the forum.
A.K.A VOS

#135 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,004 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 05:09 PM

While it was a bummer that the TS got screwed over watching his game in the live buffer and having the DVR reboot, There have to be some limits of the OTA functions, or these "leased" receivers would be used for dual tuner OTA DVRs after a customer dropped their SAT service.

<snip>

This is very likely what is going on. For what ever reason the receiver decided it was time to restart and when it didn't find a signal, right or wrong, it defaulted to disabling OTA.

I understanding it was frustrating to the TS, I also understand DIRECTV may have sound business reasons. It's all theory on my part but it makes sense.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#136 OFFLINE   dfd

dfd

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2008

Posted 04 January 2013 - 05:12 PM

This is very likely what is going on. For what ever reason the receiver decided it was time to restart and when it didn't find a signal, right or wrong, it defaulted to disabling OTA.

I understanding it was frustrating to the TS, I also understand DIRECTV may have sound business reasons. It's all theory on my part but it makes sense.

Mike


While the actions it took may make sense to DirecTV the prompts did not make sense to me and that is what got me really going. If it warned of a reboot I would have taken some action to avoid missing the game.

#137 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,004 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 05:17 PM

While the actions it took may make sense to DirecTV the prompts did not make sense to me and that is what got me really going. If it warned of a reboot I would have taken some action to avoid missing the game.

That's a valid complaint. IMHO, it should have been made clear that it was going to reboot and give you the option to record what's in the buffer. I don't know how practical that is though.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#138 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,202 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 05:24 PM

While the actions it took may make sense to DirecTV the prompts did not make sense to me and that is what got me really going. If it warned of a reboot I would have taken some action to avoid missing the game.


That's a valid complaint. IMHO, it should have been made clear that it was going to reboot and give you the option to record what's in the buffer. I don't know how practical that is though.

Mike

I too agree with this, and "I'd guess" it hasn't been something that's gotten much attention.
A.K.A VOS

#139 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,197 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 05 January 2013 - 08:25 AM

While it was a bummer that the TS got screwed over watching his game in the live buffer and having the DVR reboot, There have to be some limits of the OTA functions, or these "leased" receivers would be used for dual tuner OTA DVRs after a customer dropped their SAT service.

For times when there are signal problems, we can watch recordings [even after a reboot] and without a reboot, watch OTA. This also will have a timeout but DirecTV did make some changes a few years back after some bad storms and complaints here on the forum.


Why? If the box is leased, Directv wants it back or the customer will be charged a significant amount of money to keep it. Your argument isn't supported by the facts.

#140 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,004 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 09:06 AM

Why? If the box is leased, Directv wants it back or the customer will be charged a significant amount of money to keep it. Your argument isn't supported by the facts.

I could see where someone would pay the non-returned receiver fee to continue to use as an OTA DVR with no more monthly fees; potentially years of free OTA DVR service could easily make paying the fee cost effective.

The down side would be not guide date. Even with that I'd bet if it were possible to do there'd be plenty who would do it.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#141 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,618 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 09:07 AM

There are several situations where you can have a leased box without directv service and not be charged.

#142 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,202 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 January 2013 - 10:01 AM

Why? Your argument isn't supported by the facts.

You might just not be seeing them.
A.K.A VOS

#143 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,354 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:29 PM

With age comes wisdom and patience...well....sometimes... :D


I do try, but sometimes... :lol:

Rich

#144 OFFLINE   dudester

dudester

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2012

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:22 AM

Didnt read the entire post but i splitmy ota antenaa at the box and ran another feed to my tv directly, in case the box goes out. It is much easier to scroll thru the hr20 than to switch inputs on tv so i normally just watch ota through the box, but have the option in just in case. I do not notice any quality loss in either, the signal still looks as good as or better that the local signal direct sends.

#145 OFFLINE   allenn

allenn

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 704 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:50 PM

....... i splitmy ota antenaa at the box and ran another feed to my tv directly, in case the box goes out. ......


I did the same thing. The split also gives me the option to watch all the digital channels available in my area. D* carries very few of the available digital channels.

PrimeStar/DIRECTV subscriber since 10/30/1994.
Roswell, GA (Atlanta Area)

1 D* HR44 Genie
1 D* HR24-100 and 2 D* AM21s
MRV - D* SWiM LNB and PI-21 module

NETGEAR R6300v2 Smart WiFi Router


#146 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,197 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 09 January 2013 - 06:10 PM

I could see where someone would pay the non-returned receiver fee to continue to use as an OTA DVR with no more monthly fees; potentially years of free OTA DVR service could easily make paying the fee cost effective.

The down side would be not guide date. Even with that I'd bet if it were possible to do there'd be plenty who would do it.

Mike


I was only referring to the ota function, not the dvr. I don't have any problem with the dvr not working without a satellite signal, just the ota. The price that Directv would charge to keep a unit would likely be more than what it would cost to buy an ota tuner elsewhere.

#147 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,197 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 09 January 2013 - 06:11 PM

You might just not be seeing them.


Perhaps you would care to post some of them then.

#148 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,202 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:42 PM

Perhaps you would care to post some of them then.

You already quoted one and used bold to highlight it.
Whether you believe it or not, what you're asking would turn them into "free" OTA DVRs.
A.K.A VOS

#149 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,197 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:48 PM

You already quoted one and used bold to highlight it.
Whether you believe it or not, what you're asking would turn them into "free" OTA DVRs.


As I posted earlier, I was only talking about using ota without a satellite signal, not the dvr.

#150 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,202 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 09:02 PM

As I posted earlier, I was only talking about using ota without a satellite signal, not the dvr.

DirecTV retains ownership, so if the receiver can't determine if it's still on an active account, it doesn't work.
The OTA works for a while if it hasn't lost power, but has lost the SAT signal.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...