Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Pause and swap live tuners on Hopper?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ljsss

ljsss

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2008

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:33 PM

I was a Dish customer years ago, but have been with DirecTV for the past three years. I am about out of contract and thinking about going to the Hopper system. One feature that I use all the time is pausing and swapping live tuners on one TV. For instance, watching football game "A" on ABC, pausing it and swapping over to ESPN to watch football game "B" for a few minutes (and letting some "commercial time" build up over on game "A"). I will do this and swap back and forth and end up watching both games and fast forwarding through all of the commercials and time-outs. Is this possible on the new Hopper?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,857 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:23 PM

Hoppers yes (qualified), Joeys no.

The reason why I say "qualified"... is because you could have Joeys linked to the Hopper that might interfere with some PiP/swap operations.

IF speaking strictly about a single Hopper installation, or when all Joeys are known to be off, then the Hopper should function much like the other Dish dual tuner receivers with regard to swapping and PiP... of course there are 3 SAT tuners in a Hopper + the USB OTA module for an additional single OTA tuner... and you could be using any two of those for your swapping/PiP viewing.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#3 OFFLINE   ljsss

ljsss

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2008

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:27 PM

Thanks for the quick response!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...