Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Using own router w/ UVerse 2Wire modem; Whole Home problems now appearing


  • Please log in to reply
122 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:26 AM

Nothing. I've tried various connections, too. I don't know what the hell happened, because I didn't change anything, AND I connected it just as I did before. :confused:

Wired or wireless? You might have to connect a computer with an ethernet cable directly to the Netgear LAN port to regain access, you have been making some changes in both the 2Wire wireless gateway and Netgear wireless router I presume?

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:28 AM

I just tried pinging 192.168.1.1 and got some response, the usual responses. I cannot, however, gain any access to the router to change anything in it.

I haven't made any changes yet to the Netgear because I haven't been able to gain access to it when entering 192.168.1.1

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#53 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:31 AM

Try this...

http://kb.netgear.co...an-access-point


This doesn't seem to help, because my 2Wire is a modem/router. I don't have a modem and router as separate, standalone units from my Netgear router.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#54 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:33 AM

I just tried pinging 192.168.1.1 and got some response, the usual responses. I cannot, however, gain any access to the router to change anything in it.

I haven't made any changes yet to the Netgear because I haven't been able to gain access to it when entering 192.168.1.1


Does your computer have a normal IP address assigned to it? You can check by Run>Cmd type: ipconfig then see what IPv4 address it shows the 2Wire Gateway has assigned. If its a range like 169.x.x.x then you will need to manually assign an IP or reset your network adapter on your computer.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#55 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:40 AM

It looks like my PC is 192.168.1.4

Now why the hell must I reset anything on my PC? I'd like to know just how and why my Netgear suddenly can't be accessed when hours earlier it could.

This whole thing is turning into one major project, and I know it shouldn't be. Nothing is ever simple.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#56 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:46 AM

It looks like my PC is 192.168.1.4

That IP should be fine, and of course you are able to access the internet since you can post.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#57 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:48 AM

You might have to connect directly to the Netgear though with an ethernet cable to regain access into it as something appears to be preventing access from it.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#58 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 12:56 AM

I found the problem. The Netgear reset its IP address to 10.0.0.1

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#59 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:00 AM

OK, I seem to understand all the aforementioned instructions except #1. How do I set my Netgear's interface to get an IP address via DHCP?

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#60 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:09 AM

I think I've done all the proper changes on my 2Wire. I followed the quoted instructions that steve posted earlier, and I've disabled wireless capability on my 2Wire. The Netgear's IP address is currently 10.0.0.1. I didn't change that, nor did I do anything with respect to making the router choose an IP address via DHCP, mainly because I didn't know how to do that. It looked like it did that automatically, or am I not inferring that correctly? In addition, should I choose a static IP address for the router and leave it at that?

In the meantime, I'm going to move this Netgear to the master bedroom and see if I can connect wirelessly in there.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#61 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:17 AM

Well, before I went to try that, I lost access to my Netgear, dammit. Now I can't get back into it, and I've tried several different IP addresses to see if they worked; they didn't.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#62 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:17 AM

I found the problem. The Netgear reset its IP address to 10.0.0.1

Ahh yes


OK, I seem to understand all the aforementioned instructions except #1. How do I set my Netgear's interface to get an IP address via DHCP?


The Netgear router has to have an IP assigned manually for the method you are doing. Once you have the 'Use Router as DHCP Server' unchecked on the Netgear you will need to assign a static IP to the Netgear within the range of IP address' that your 2Wire Gateway hands out but not an IP that is in use with another device on your network, keep in mind whatever you change the IP to on the Netgear will be the new IP that you will need to enter in to access the settings later on.

Edited by coolman302003, 05 January 2013 - 01:55 AM.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#63 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:18 AM

That's all moot now, because for some reason I can't get access to it.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#64 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:19 AM

In addition, should I choose a static IP address for the router and leave it at that?

I think you should, you need to have DHCP turned off in the Netgear settings if the 2Wire Gateway will be handing out IPs to your devices, you don't want both trying to do that as it would cause conflicts.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#65 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:20 AM

Well, like I said, all this is moot right now. I don't know why, but I can't get back into the Netgear, even wirelessly. I have no idea what happened, either.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#66 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:21 AM

Well, before I went to try that, I lost access to my Netgear, dammit. Now I can't get back into it, and I've tried several different IP addresses to see if they worked; they didn't.


That's all moot now, because for some reason I can't get access to it.


You mentioned something about 10.x.x.x IP range and then before that I thought you were using 192.x.x.x??? :confused:

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#67 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:22 AM

I was. 192 was the default, but for some reason, when I was able to get back into my Netgear, up popped a message that said "your router's IP address has been changed to 10.0.0.1 to avoid conflicts with other devices." So, I used that one. I attempted to make the changes mentioned above, but my router sat there updating for quite some time, then timed out, and now I can't get back into it. At all.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#68 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:23 AM

Does the 2Wire hand out 10.x.x.x or 192.x.x.x range IP address to your devices? Netgear's are usually setup by default to hand out 192.x.x.x range

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#69 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:26 AM

According to a look at the 2Wire's IPs, it says the ranges for connected devices is 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.253

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#70 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:27 AM

Well, like I said, all this is moot right now. I don't know why, but I can't get back into the Netgear, even wirelessly. I have no idea what happened, either.


I was. 192 was the default, but for some reason, when I was able to get back into my Netgear, up popped a message that said "your router's IP address has been changed to 10.0.0.1 to avoid conflicts with other devices." So, I used that one. I attempted to make the changes mentioned above, but my router sat there updating for quite some time, then timed out, and now I can't get back into it. At all.


Since you have made changes to the Netgear you will most likely have to connect a Ethernet cable directly to the Netgear and assign your PC a manual IP address to regain access to the settings, as with DHCP server disabled your Netgear will no longer automatically give you an IP.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#71 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:28 AM

Well, I tried connecting an ethernet cable directly to my Netgear, but I still can't gain access to it.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#72 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:32 AM

The article linked earlier in the thread states:

"The DHCP server used by the router that is not the wireless router/access point should not have the IP address of the wireless router/access point in its DHCP range of IP pool (to avoid accidentally giving out a duplicate IP address)."

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#73 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,615 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:34 AM

Well, I tried connecting an ethernet cable directly to my Netgear, but I still can't gain access to it.


Do you have an IP address assigned? With DHCP off it would not automatically assign one now.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV  DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET)  DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#74 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:34 AM

The article linked earlier in the thread states:

"The DHCP server used by the router that is not the wireless router/access point should not have the IP address of the wireless router/access point in its DHCP range of IP pool (to avoid accidentally giving out a duplicate IP address)."


Yes, I know. That doesn't seem to be the issue. After all, when it was changed to 10.0.0.1, I had access (then lost it for some reason). BTW, that configuration schematic to which you refer isn't exactly an accurate comparison, as it deals with two standalone routers and a modem. The 2Wire is a modem/router in one.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#75 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:35 AM

Do you have an IP address assigned? With DHCP off it would not automatically assign one now.


An IP address assigned to what?

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...