Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Major problem with 24-500s


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 January 2013 - 12:47 PM

So, after all the nastiness, I found the shows she erased on one of my 20-700s that aren't on the clouds. You would not believe how fast that 20-700 is. It was almost full (2TB drive) and I got it down to 20% Available in about 5 minutes. Try that on a 24 that's part of a 10 HR MRV.

Rich

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 03 January 2013 - 12:49 PM

So, after all the nastiness, I found the shows she erased on one of my 20-700s that aren't on the clouds. You would not believe how fast that 20-700 is. It was almost full (2TB drive) and I got it down to 20% Available in about 5 minutes. Try that on a 24 that's part of a 10 HR MRV.

Rich


I'd like to try but I'd have to add a few HRs to my 'cloud' first!:)

#28 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 January 2013 - 12:51 PM

While there may be some 'Boomerange Effect' I wasn't really referring to you!:lol:


I think I was the first one to tell you that when you had just gotten the 22-100s. My wife is a great button pusher, I watch her use a remote with great trepidation. One of the first things I taught my son about computers was, if you don't know the answer to the question, don't do anything, come and ask me what to do. Now if my wife would just take that simple thought to heart...

Rich

#29 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 January 2013 - 12:52 PM

I'd like to try but I'd have to add a few HRs to my 'cloud' first!:)


I'll save you the effort, it takes..........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................a lot longer.

Rich

#30 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,537 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 08:10 AM

This has occurred twice with my (only) HR24-500. When in a list of any kind, once you had used the remote to move down the list, the DVR would scroll down the list on its own, with the light on the front of the HR24 pulsing as if it was receiving IR commands. It was not a remote problem, because it happened both with the regular DirecTV remote and with my Pronto remote. Rebooting did not solve the problem, nor did powering down. On each occasion, this problem lasted several hours, and then just went away, seemingly without any action on my part.
Interestingly, the problem has been reported by some amateur radio operators, and in their cases traced to RF interference seemingly with the touch panel itself. One person reported the problem seemed to be linked to another piece of equipment using a touch panel that was placed on top of the HR24. When the equipment was moved the problem went away. Another poster said moving his router from the top of the Hr24 solved the problem. Nothing definitive, but it all seems to point to an RF interference issue with the touch panel.
Rich, in your case maybe one "cloud" was picking up RF interference and the other one not.

#31 OFFLINE   hjones4841

hjones4841

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 148 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 08:26 AM

I recently installed 7 HR24-100s. Are they more stable than the 500s? So far so good, but it has only been 2 weeks.

#32 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:56 AM

This has occurred twice with my (only) HR24-500. When in a list of any kind, once you had used the remote to move down the list, the DVR would scroll down the list on its own, with the light on the front of the HR24 pulsing as if it was receiving IR commands. It was not a remote problem, because it happened both with the regular DirecTV remote and with my Pronto remote. Rebooting did not solve the problem, nor did powering down. On each occasion, this problem lasted several hours, and then just went away, seemingly without any action on my part.
Interestingly, the problem has been reported by some amateur radio operators, and in their cases traced to RF interference seemingly with the touch panel itself. One person reported the problem seemed to be linked to another piece of equipment using a touch panel that was placed on top of the HR24. When the equipment was moved the problem went away. Another poster said moving his router from the top of the Hr24 solved the problem. Nothing definitive, but it all seems to point to an RF interference issue with the touch panel.
Rich, in your case maybe one "cloud" was picking up RF interference and the other one not.


I can't imagine what kind of RF interference could have caused my problem. I don't live near anything that could have done that. Purely residential area. Certainly nothing in my home. And to all four 24-500s in just that one cloud? I would think it would have affected both clouds if it was a massive RF surge (do massive RF surges even exist?).

We had no trucks with radios on the court that day as far as I know.

The front panels all worked properly, it certainly was a problem caused by remote commands.

A couple years ago I had an insane 24-500. That went berserk and had nothing to do with remote commands. Things happened that made no sense at all. That was a different experience than what I went thru this time. That 24-500 never fixed itself. I actually kept it a week or so just to show people what it was doing. When I showed my son what was happening, he was convinced I had a remote hidden and was toying with him. He searched me, searched the room the HR was in, looked all over the place and finally, believed me. He showed his friends what was happening and they couldn't believe it either. No other HRs were affected when all that occurred. Nothing I could do fixed it. Couldn't use the front panel either, same things happened.

But all four 24-500s on that one cloud? Mind boggling.

Rich

#33 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:58 AM

I recently installed 7 HR24-100s. Are they more stable than the 500s? So far so good, but it has only been 2 weeks.


The two 24-100s on the affected cloud worked properly all thru the problems with the 24-500s. Don't know if that helps, my 24-500s are usually very stable too.

Rich

#34 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    Chocolate Anyone?

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,485 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:59 AM

I recently installed 7 HR24-100s. Are they more stable than the 500s? So far so good, but it has only been 2 weeks.


I've had the HR24-100 since they were released and never had a problem. I think they are all good some folks have better "luck" than others.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#35 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 10:12 AM

I've had the HR24-100 since they were released and never had a problem. I think they are all good some folks have better "luck" than others.


Yup, I'm the kind of guy you want to see walk into a crap game. Just can't win and I do know how to play. Sometimes it seems as if the only kind of "luck" I have is bad luck.

The 24-100s are the only 100s I've ever had that worked.

Rich

#36 OFFLINE   hjones4841

hjones4841

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 148 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 11:43 AM

Yup, I'm the kind of guy you want to see walk into a crap game. Just can't win and I do know how to play. Sometimes it seems as if the only kind of "luck" I have is bad luck.

The 24-100s are the only 100s I've ever had that worked.

Rich


Thanks, guys. Makes me feel better. I replaced a combo of HR20s, 21s and 22s with the 24s. Got fed up with the sluggishness of the old ones. Am converting from an old sidecar dish to SWM16 today. Hope to get a little better network reliability via coax that I was getting with Cat 5 cables. Also looking forward to getting rid of the BBCs.

#37 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 01:20 PM

Thanks, guys. Makes me feel better. I replaced a combo of HR20s, 21s and 22s with the 24s. Got fed up with the sluggishness of the old ones. Am converting from an old sidecar dish to SWM16 today. Hope to get a little better network reliability via coax that I was getting with Cat 5 cables. Also looking forward to getting rid of the BBCs.


You will see a difference on you home network.

Rich

#38 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,537 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:46 PM

I can't imagine what kind of RF interference could have caused my problem. I don't live near anything that could have done that. Purely residential area. Certainly nothing in my home. And to all four 24-500s in just that one cloud? I would think it would have affected both clouds if it was a massive RF surge (do massive RF surges even exist?).

We had no trucks with radios on the court that day as far as I know.

The front panels all worked properly, it certainly was a problem caused by remote commands.

A couple years ago I had an insane 24-500. That went berserk and had nothing to do with remote commands. Things happened that made no sense at all. That was a different experience than what I went thru this time. That 24-500 never fixed itself. I actually kept it a week or so just to show people what it was doing. When I showed my son what was happening, he was convinced I had a remote hidden and was toying with him. He searched me, searched the room the HR was in, looked all over the place and finally, believed me. He showed his friends what was happening and they couldn't believe it either. No other HRs were affected when all that occurred. Nothing I could do fixed it. Couldn't use the front panel either, same things happened.

But all four 24-500s on that one cloud? Mind boggling.

Rich

That was just as an FYI, I don't have a definite cause either. Just that others have reported the same issue with what seems to be an RFI component.
My remotes were operating in IR. Did not matter which remote I used, same problem. Put remote in other room, problem did not stop. Not a remote problem, definitely an issue with the HR24-500. Front panel controls worked fine.

#39 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 07:38 PM

That was just as an FYI, I don't have a definite cause either. Just that others have reported the same issue with what seems to be an RFI component.
My remotes were operating in IR. Did not matter which remote I used, same problem. Put remote in other room, problem did not stop. Not a remote problem, definitely an issue with the HR24-500. Front panel controls worked fine.


Well that kills that idea. I was gonna put the 24-500s' remotes in IR. Nutz. Must be a commonality to all this. Seems almost like the IR/RF sensors on the units went bad at the same time and did the same thing on four units. Does that make any sense? None of this makes any sense to me.

If all six of my 24-500s did the same thing, I'd feel better about making some kind of guess. But 4 out of 6? I could figure out a way to blame the whole MRV system in my home, but that doesn't really make any sense to me. If that were true, why didn't the 24-100s and the 20-700 do the same thing? Different chip sets? Somehow, that doesn't make any sense to me either. I can't wrap my mind around this... :nono2:

Rich

#40 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,537 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 10:38 PM

Well that kills that idea. I was gonna put the 24-500s' remotes in IR. Nutz. Must be a commonality to all this. Seems almost like the IR/RF sensors on the units went bad at the same time and did the same thing on four units. Does that make any sense? None of this makes any sense to me.

If all six of my 24-500s did the same thing, I'd feel better about making some kind of guess. But 4 out of 6? I could figure out a way to blame the whole MRV system in my home, but that doesn't really make any sense to me. If that were true, why didn't the 24-100s and the 20-700 do the same thing? Different chip sets? Somehow, that doesn't make any sense to me either. I can't wrap my mind around this... :nono2:

Rich

FYI, over at the DirecTV tech support forum every report of this SPECIFIC problem has been for an HR24-500.

#41 OFFLINE   adamson

adamson

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 539 posts
  • LocationDunnellon, Florida
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 07:50 AM

When I have power failure one of my 500's thinks there are no tuners available so then it is a boot order procedure. A normal reset like say all three dvrs reset in menu at same time all is ok. That box also lost its "Tuner 2:SAT, Record" and was brought back from the dead tuner 2. Never lost that again.This all was in previous version or versions of firmware. Other than that no issues with the new firmware for me. All is good with it so far. Remotes good on all 3.

Edited by adamson, 05 January 2013 - 07:55 AM.


#42 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 11:45 AM

FYI, over at the DirecTV tech support forum every report of this SPECIFIC problem has been for an HR24-500.


That is interesting. Has anyone reported a multiple 24-500 crash such as mine experienced?

I was pondering this last night and remembered a "doorbell battle" I had with someone in our neighborhood (I still have no idea who it was). Whoever it was had just installed a wireless doorbell that must have been just like the 3 I have in my home. As soon as he tried it, all 3 of mine went off. Took my spare RF switch out and fired back. He fired back, I fired back and this went on all afternoon. I'm thinking, I'm winning, he can't know what's going on. Anyway, after a few hours of solid fun, I had to go out. Tried starting my car up from inside the house, didn't work. Went outside, stood next to the car and tried again, didn't work. Tried another dongle and that didn't work either. Had to actually use a key to get in and finally drove off. Headed for the dealership to get new batteries and stopped to pick up the paper. Locked the car as I was walking away from it and the dongle worked! Tried all the commands and they all worked. Drove home and the dongle worked. Tried the other dongle and that worked.

What I gathered from that is that my neighbor and I flooded the air with RF signals and the car shut all remote commands down. Lost that battle.

That still doesn't account for the 24-500s that are in IR mode, but I have to wonder what would have happened if I had had 24-500s in my home at the time.

Rich

#43 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,430 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 05 January 2013 - 01:14 PM

I don't have an HR24-500 so I cannot testify to any hands-on experience with that model.

In my case...there's an HR24-100 here.

To date....I know of plenty of folks with multiple HR24-500's that enjoy them and do not have any major problems.

On the other hand...I've read about some -500 users with specific issues.

So it's a mixed bag of reports on that unit.

What is indeed a differentiator with the HR24-500 is that this specific model is the first unit and only HR24 unit not using a Broadcom processor inside.

As the firmware was maturing early on...there were symptoms and issues unique to that unit in comparison with its sister models in the HR24 family. I suspect there are certain -500 model variations in the firmware, perhaps ever so slight based on the different processor.

Is the processor is some way a consideration of -500 only model issues? :shrug:

I certainly am not qualified to know either way. But it is something that has been sitting there in the background as we've watched the HR-500's roll out for a while now.

You folks with the units in the real world are the best experts based upon your own actual use.

What I do know for sure is that there are plenty of satisfied folks using the HR24-500 every day.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#44 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,537 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 05 January 2013 - 02:06 PM

That is interesting. Has anyone reported a multiple 24-500 crash such as mine experienced?

I was pondering this last night and remembered a "doorbell battle" I had with someone in our neighborhood (I still have no idea who it was). Whoever it was had just installed a wireless doorbell that must have been just like the 3 I have in my home. As soon as he tried it, all 3 of mine went off. Took my spare RF switch out and fired back. He fired back, I fired back and this went on all afternoon. I'm thinking, I'm winning, he can't know what's going on. Anyway, after a few hours of solid fun, I had to go out. Tried starting my car up from inside the house, didn't work. Went outside, stood next to the car and tried again, didn't work. Tried another dongle and that didn't work either. Had to actually use a key to get in and finally drove off. Headed for the dealership to get new batteries and stopped to pick up the paper. Locked the car as I was walking away from it and the dongle worked! Tried all the commands and they all worked. Drove home and the dongle worked. Tried the other dongle and that worked.

What I gathered from that is that my neighbor and I flooded the air with RF signals and the car shut all remote commands down. Lost that battle.

That still doesn't account for the 24-500s that are in IR mode, but I have to wonder what would have happened if I had had 24-500s in my home at the time.

Rich


Not seen anyone with multiple HR24-500s post. But just to confirm the HR24-500 has a problem with RF interference screwing up the front panel, see this http://forums.direct...PageId=10472402 and a few similar posts. Have not had confirmation that the OP was talking about the -500 but everyone else with the problem was running the -500 version.
The problem occurs with HR24s in both the RF and IR modes. Most people aren't radio "hams" so they are not seeing the problem continuously unlike the people referenced in the post.

#45 OFFLINE   adamson

adamson

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 539 posts
  • LocationDunnellon, Florida
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 05 January 2013 - 02:45 PM

I have 3 HR'500s and one H24 on ice. None have remote issues. No issues...thank god etc etc. You all know me and I don't want to complain in my possible final months.

#46 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:51 AM

Not seen anyone with multiple HR24-500s post. But just to confirm the HR24-500 has a problem with RF interference screwing up the front panel, see this http://forums.direct...PageId=10472402 and a few similar posts. Have not had confirmation that the OP was talking about the -500 but everyone else with the problem was running the -500 version.
The problem occurs with HR24s in both the RF and IR modes. Most people aren't radio "hams" so they are not seeing the problem continuously unlike the people referenced in the post.


There was nothing wrong with the front panels of my 24-500s, only the remote control commands. I realize they go thru the front panel, but I had absolutely no problems with using the front panels to navigate around. We have never had radio ham user problem in my neighborhood, but I did on the other side of town when using an antenna. As soon as I switched to cable, the problems went away.

Rich

#47 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,537 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 07 January 2013 - 09:28 AM

There was nothing wrong with the front panels of my 24-500s, only the remote control commands. I realize they go thru the front panel, but I had absolutely no problems with using the front panels to navigate around. We have never had radio ham user problem in my neighborhood, but I did on the other side of town when using an antenna. As soon as I switched to cable, the problems went away.

Rich


Yes, I think that is a clarification. If you use the front panel manually it works OK. What seems to be happening is that the interference triggers what looks like the last remote control command. Even the light pulses as the list scans, as if the remote is still being used. If you use the front panel the scanning stops. As soon as you use the remote to move down one entry in the list, the continuous scanning starts up, and continues even if you hide the (IR) remote. The people who have posted all report the same thing. I guess the interference is screwing up the remote control processing logic in the HR24-500.

#48 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 07 January 2013 - 10:46 AM

Yes, I think that is a clarification. If you use the front panel manually it works OK. What seems to be happening is that the interference triggers what looks like the last remote control command. Even the light pulses as the list scans, as if the remote is still being used. If you use the front panel the scanning stops. As soon as you use the remote to move down one entry in the list, the continuous scanning starts up, and continues even if you hide the (IR) remote. The people who have posted all report the same thing. I guess the interference is screwing up the remote control processing logic in the HR24-500.


All four of my affected 24-500s were in RF mode as were the two 24-500s on the other cloud that weren't affected. Have you seen any reports about multiple 24-500s being affected at precisely the same time? Nothing makes any sense to me. Why not all six of them? Why only four?

Rich

#49 OFFLINE   old7

old7

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2005

Posted 07 January 2013 - 12:23 PM

I have 4 HR24-500s, two in one room and two in another. All are set to use IR. I've never had any problems with them.

Side note: I also have 2 HR20-700s in the same room as two of the HR24-500s and an H24 in a separate room.

#50 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 07 January 2013 - 12:46 PM

I have 4 HR24-500s, two in one room and two in another. All are set to use IR. I've never had any problems with them.

Side note: I also have 2 HR20-700s in the same room as two of the HR24-500s and an H24 in a separate room.


I kinda doubt if you're gonna see many posts that echo what I went thru. I also had 24-100s and 20-700s on that cloud and they had no similar problems. All in RF mode.

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...