Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Signal Issues


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,458 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 04 January 2013 - 07:24 AM

I got an error message that receiver has not recieved guide data from satellite for the last 10 hours.

I checked my signals and found I am getting 0 on all even numbered transponders on 99 & 101, 103 is fine. Also, the signal under SWM is 0 for the first 6 and 95 on 7,8 & 9, I have 9 tuners.

Is this a bad SWiM or a bad LNB? I just had this installed in September.

Thanks for you help.
HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 07:34 AM

I got an error message that receiver has not recieved guide data from satellite for the last 10 hours.

I checked my signals and found I am getting 0 on all even numbered transponders on 99 & 101, 103 is fine. Also, the signal under SWM is 0 for the first 6 and 95 on 7,8 & 9, I have 9 tuners.

Is this a bad SWiM or a bad LNB? I just had this installed in September.

Thanks for you help.


Is the issue on all receivers or just one? If just one, swap the cable on your splitter that feeds the problem receiver and see if the issue moves to a different receiver. If so, the issue is the splitter. If not, power down all your receivers (perform a menu reset and when you hear the receiver shut off pull the plug before it starts to power back up). Then unplug the PI for the SWM for at least 30 seconds. Plug back in the SWM and wait a minute or so for it to power up. Then power up your receivers one at a time checking signal strengths before powering up the next. If the issue persists, let us know and we'll move on to the next step...

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,573 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 04 January 2013 - 07:52 AM

With 9 tuners, hopefully, you have an SWM16 installation and that the DVRs are split between its two outputs. What splitters are you using?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#4 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,458 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 04 January 2013 - 07:57 AM

Is the issue on all receivers or just one? If just one, swap the cable on your splitter that feeds the problem receiver and see if the issue moves to a different receiver. If so, the issue is the splitter. If not, power down all your receivers (perform a menu reset and when you hear the receiver shut off pull the plug before it starts to power back up). Then unplug the PI for the SWM for at least 30 seconds. Plug back in the SWM and wait a minute or so for it to power up. Then power up your receivers one at a time checking signal strengths before powering up the next. If the issue persists, let us know and we'll move on to the next step...

- Merg


I don't think there is a PI. The SWM is in the attic and has feeds to each of the 3 receivers plus the CCK.
HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200

#5 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 07:58 AM

With 9 tuners, hopefully, you have an SWM16 installation and that the DVRs are split between its two outputs. What splitters are you using?


Dang it! I hate that I can't see sigs on DBSTalk app! :lol:

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#6 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,458 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 04 January 2013 - 07:59 AM

With 9 tuners, hopefully, you have an SWM16 installation and that the DVRs are split between its two outputs. What splitters are you using?


SWM16 yes. 1 output to HR34 and the other feeds the 2 HR24s. Its been working fine for 4 months.

I believe it has 2 8-way splitters connected similar to this:

http://www.solidsign...Hz)&c=Satellite Splitters&sku=874409002084

Edited by Curtis0620, 04 January 2013 - 08:06 AM.

HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200

#7 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 08:03 AM

I don't think there is a PI. The SWM is in the attic and has feeds to each of the 3 receivers plus the CCK.


There has to be a PI to power the SWM. It basically looks kinda like a power brick that would be installed on one of the coax cables somewhere. As JD pointed out, with your setup, you should have a SWM16 unit. It should look like this:

http://www.solidsign...ku=874409002480

Since you have 9 tuners, you should have a coax coming off both the SWM1 and SWM2 outputs of the SWM16 unit. Two receivers will go to one of those outputs and the third receiver to the other (as each output handles up to 8 tuners).

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#8 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,458 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 04 January 2013 - 08:15 AM

There has to be a PI to power the SWM. It basically looks kinda like a power brick that would be installed on one of the coax cables somewhere. As JD pointed out, with your setup, you should have a SWM16 unit. It should look like this:

http://www.solidsign...ku=874409002480

Since you have 9 tuners, you should have a coax coming off both the SWM1 and SWM2 outputs of the SWM16 unit. Two receivers will go to one of those outputs and the third receiver to the other (as each output handles up to 8 tuners).

- Merg


Yes I have that with 2-8 way splitters. I will check the power connection when I get home.
HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200

#9 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 08:19 AM

Yes I have that with 2-8 way splitters. I will check the power connection when I get home.


Okay. Just a couple of things... If the HR34 is by itself on that one output, you can bypass the splitter and plug the HR34 coax directly into the output of the SWM16. Also, make sure all the unused ports on the splitters have terminators on them (the little caps). Lastly, the PI will be on a coax that goes to the red port as seen on the image of the splitter you posted or it will be on a separate coax that goes to the power port on the SWM16.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#10 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,188 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 January 2013 - 08:47 AM

Sounds like a possibly bad cable from the LNB to the 18v 99/101 (even) input of the SWiM-16.

#11 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,573 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:01 AM

Using sws8 splitters is probably causing a problem. You have 1/8 of the input at the outputs. I'd put the HR34 on one output of the SWM16, as noted above, and use a 2 way splitter on the other output for the two other DVRs.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#12 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,188 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:17 AM

Using sws8 splitters is probably causing a problem. You have 1/8 of the input at the outputs. I'd put the HR34 on one output of the SWM16, as noted above, and use a 2 way splitter on the other output for the two other DVRs.


I'd recommend this too, assuming the TS has no need for an additional run from the splitter for a CCK or something.

But as to the specific problem, since the TS mentioned only the even transponders on 99 and 101 being out I suspect the 18v (even) 99/101 LNB cable input to the -16.

The TS may want to try switching the 99/101 18v and 13v inputs to see if the problem moves to the odd transponder set for 99 and 101.

#13 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,057 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:33 AM

But as to the specific problem, since the TS mentioned only the even transponders on 99 and 101 being out I suspect the 18v (even) 99/101 LNB cable input to the -16.


Bingo! Most likely a poor connection either at the LNB or at the input to the SWM16. Given the symptoms, it is either this, a bad LNB, or a bad SWM16.

#14 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,458 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 14 January 2013 - 07:33 AM

FYI, it was a bad connector.

Thanks for all your help.
HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200




Protected By... spam firewall...And...