Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

H20?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 349 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 03:50 PM

There must be a way to rig up an Ethernet connection on this for whole home. Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:19 PM

Sorry to disappoint but it's just not going to happen. Pick up an H24 or H25 instead.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,484 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 04 January 2013 - 05:49 PM

There must be a way to rig up an Ethernet connection on this for whole home. Any ideas?


I have one and I use to feed 3 SD TV & PIP to 3 HD sets - Get receiver and you and you can still use reg splitters to feed other tvs

Just add a B-Stop filter for swm use and it won't work for whole home without a RJ45 connection- Just add another HD receiver and hang on the H20 :)
"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,338 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 05:55 PM

Back when Whole Home first came out, I was a but upset that I'd have to upgrade my H20, when I wanted to do unsupported. I figured there had to be a way to plug in a USB network adapter. I quickly came to the realization that it wouldn't happen, like Stuart said.

I haven't regretted getting rid of it, but I do think they shouldn't be replacing H20 with H20 like they did to you.

#5 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 04 January 2013 - 06:05 PM

There must be a way to rig up an Ethernet connection on this for whole home. Any ideas?


Like the other thread, I would just call and ask for a 3D receiver swap. I don't believe there is any cost or any agreement with it.

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,227 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 06:31 PM

Like the other thread, I would just call and ask for a 3D receiver swap. I don't believe there is any cost or any agreement with it.


There's no cost, but there is a new 2 year agreement.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 04 January 2013 - 08:59 PM

There's no cost, but there is a new 2 year agreement.

- Merg


A little research and I was correct earlier. There is no cost or new agreement with a 3D swap. :)

#8 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,227 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 09:45 PM

A little research and I was correct earlier. There is no cost or new agreement with a 3D swap. :)


My bad. Was thinking of H20 swap outs for Whole Home.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#9 OFFLINE   hitokage

hitokage

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 118 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2010

Posted 04 January 2013 - 11:20 PM

Theoretically it's possible if the firmware had support to do it, but as others have said it doesn't and it's not going to happen ever.

Now the reason I said it was theoretically possible was because at one point in a certain commercial type application (I can't recall it's name at the moment - it was before SWM) they had a USB dongle for a SD box to receive the satellite signal over ethernet instead of using COAX.




spam firewall