Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

722 to Hopper recording transfer question...


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   huskerroo

huskerroo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
  • LocationKansas City
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:05 PM

Hi all,

I have a 722 and am considering moving to a Hopper. I have ~ 30+ hours of HD recordings and have always thought I needed to connect an EHD to the 722, install the Hopper, then reconnect the EHD. Then in my research I found the following:

"As it happens, that internal drive can also be used to transfer recordings from your old Dish DVR." from http://www.engadget....ome-dvr-review/.

Can a USB cable connect 722 to Hopper directly and transfer my content???

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 04 January 2013 - 06:00 PM

No, need an EHD.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,980 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 January 2013 - 07:56 PM

if you'll try that for your two PC, you will see: host-to-host doesn't work by simple USB cable (actually you'll need SPECIAL USB cable: A to A)
same for DVR
I'm not telling you these DVR doesn't have SW support for host-to-host connection by USB, eSATA or Ethernet for transfer your events.

#4 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 390 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 04 January 2013 - 10:26 PM

You need an EHD.

#5 OFFLINE   huskerroo

huskerroo

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10 posts
  • LocationKansas City
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 05 January 2013 - 11:49 PM

Thanks all! That is what I thought but when I came across Engadget reporting, I thought I'd dig a little more with the question. Appreciate it!!!

huskerroo

#6 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 541 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 06 January 2013 - 09:39 AM

Once you have those recordings on the EHD, leave them there, they play easily from a drop down menu on the Hopper and there have been some lost recordings reported in transferring to the Hopper.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...