Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Static or DHCP on simple system


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,489 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 January 2013 - 07:52 PM

Right you are, but just to keep things in perspective... there may be a million or more WHDVR customers who don't even know how to spell DHCP whose boxes are getting their IP addresses automatically, presumably without issues.


Yes, but for those who DO have Problems the Solution seems to be a True or Quasi Static IP Address.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,102 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 07 January 2013 - 08:41 PM

...I can't help you on routers much unless you've an open budget as my ASUS RT-N66U has come down to appx 160 dollars at Fry's...


The ASUS RT-N66U is hands down the BEST router I have used in 18 years of home networking. I've had D-Link, Netgear, Linksys, Buffalo, Motorola and others whose names I don't recall, and the ASUS outperforms all of them. If you haven't done so already, you might want to try Merlin's build of the ASUS firmware. You can read about this build (as well as an independant review of it) at the smallnetbuilder forum.

PS: You have me beat, we only have 32 devices on our household LAN. :)

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#28 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,102 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 07 January 2013 - 08:48 PM

In testing and implementation of WHDVR Service there were many many instances where until the User began using Static IP Addresses or Quasi "Static" IP Addresses assigned by DHCP Reservation List there were problems associated with a disconnect from the Router to Nomad.

After using Static IP Addresses or Quasi "Static" IP Addresses assigned by DHCP Reservation List these Problems disappeared so many here at DBSTALK unanimously prefer Static IP Addresses. :)


Well, my approach in networking is "if it isn't boken, don't fix it." Unless someone has a specific issue with connectivity, I see no reason to reccomend they use static IPs. It is more work, requires more technical expertise, and adds maintenance. For most people, DHCP "just works" and provides "play and play" convenience.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#29 OFFLINE   br408408

br408408

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 113 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 07 January 2013 - 09:09 PM

I have been using WHDVR since it was first supported. I had problems at first with boxes dropping off so I switched to static IP's, and haven't had a single problem since. I have my computers on DHCP, but like to use static IP's for things like DVR's and printers. Just seems to be less problems (no problems) this way...and I don't see a down side to using static IP's on these devices.

#30 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 07 January 2013 - 11:07 PM

Well, my approach in networking is "if it isn't boken, don't fix it." Unless someone has a specific issue with connectivity, I see no reason to reccomend they use static IPs. It is more work, requires more technical expertise, and adds maintenance. For most people, DHCP "just works" and provides "play and play" convenience.


Correct. There is nothing wrong with using DHCP, but as stated there are some that have issues with their receivers renewing the DHCP lease. Switching to DHCP Reservations or Static IP Addresses seems to resolve those issues. As such, I don't necessarily recommend switching unless it seems like the issues presented could be resolved by switching.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#31 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,827 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 08 January 2013 - 07:03 AM

I have been using WHDVR since it was first supported. I had problems at first with boxes dropping off so I switched to static IP's, and haven't had a single problem since [...]

I could be wrong, but I think in the early days of MRV there were some issues with DHCP lease acquisition and renewal in some folks' setups that DirecTV has long since put to bed. Not unlike the early days of HDMI compatibility. It's probably not easy to come up with an implementation that works with everyone else's hardware on day one.
/steve

#32 OFFLINE   mjm76

mjm76

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 09:52 PM

I could be wrong, but I think in the early days of MRV there were some issues with DHCP lease acquisition and renewal in some folks' setups that DirecTV has long since put to bed. Not unlike the early days of HDMI compatibility. It's probably not easy to come up with an implementation that works with everyone else's hardware on day one.


I wish that was true but my WHDVR(MRV) works fine as long as I don't have the internet connected. Of course I can not do on demand, but if I connect my internet back the boxes start dropping off and I am having to restart my receivers all the time.

I have not figured out how to do an infinite lease on my E3000 router yet, which would probably solve the dropping of the boxes in WHDVR setup. I can only do a 7 day lease, not an infinite.

If anyone knows how to do a infinite lease for my E3000 CISCO router, please let me know.

Thanks,,, :)

#33 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:22 PM

I wish that was true but my WHDVR(MRV) works fine as long as I don't have the internet connected. Of course I can not do on demand, but if I connect my internet back the boxes start dropping off and I am having to restart my receivers all the time.

I have not figured out how to do an infinite lease on my E3000 router yet, which would probably solve the dropping of the boxes in WHDVR setup. I can only do a 7 day lease, not an infinite.

If anyone knows how to do a infinite lease for my E3000 CISCO router, please let me know.

Thanks,,, :)

A common "fix" is to use a static IP outside of the DHCP reserved range.
A.K.A VOS

#34 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:23 AM

A common "fix" is to use a static IP outside of the DHCP reserved range.


+1

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#35 OFFLINE   wrj

wrj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2006

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:33 AM

I wish that was true but my WHDVR(MRV) works fine as long as I don't have the internet connected. Of course I can not do on demand, but if I connect my internet back the boxes start dropping off and I am having to restart my receivers all the time.

I have not figured out how to do an infinite lease on my E3000 router yet, which would probably solve the dropping of the boxes in WHDVR setup. I can only do a 7 day lease, not an infinite.

If anyone knows how to do a infinite lease for my E3000 CISCO router, please let me know.

Thanks,,, :)


I have a E3000 but I use Tomato firmware. But what you are talking about is possibly a reserved DHCP address. It never changes. But I don't have the linksys firmware loaded to help you. Maybe do a google search. Also, you can do a static ip. You do that on the DVR itself.

#36 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:19 AM

I have a E3000 but I use Tomato firmware. But what you are talking about is possibly a reserved DHCP address. It never changes. But I don't have the linksys firmware loaded to help you. Maybe do a google search. Also, you can do a static ip. You do that on the DVR itself.


Most stock firmwares don't allow an unlimited lease time. DHCP Reservation is not an unlimited lease. It is just a way to tell the router that every time the lease is renewed to use a specific IP address for the specified MAC address.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#37 OFFLINE   rahlquist

rahlquist

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,640 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:07 PM

Most stock firmwares don't allow an unlimited lease time.


Stock Firmware, what is this foreign tongue you speak?

#38 OFFLINE   wrj

wrj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2006

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:15 PM

Most stock firmwares don't allow an unlimited lease time. DHCP Reservation is not an unlimited lease. It is just a way to tell the router that every time the lease is renewed to use a specific IP address for the specified MAC address.

- Merg


Thanks for clearing that up. But would static ip help with what was originally asked?

#39 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:18 PM

Thanks for clearing that up. But would static ip help with what was originally asked?

The IP addresses are currently being served by DHCP. I have no problems in the couple days this has been installed but I was wondering if there is any advantage to a static IP or is DHCP fine?

I don't see any advantage.
Changing to static is good "when you have problems". ;)
A.K.A VOS

#40 OFFLINE   wrj

wrj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2006

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:21 PM

Stock Firmware, what is this foreign tongue you speak?


I'm assuming what is meant that for a E3000, stock firmware is what came with it. That is, the Linksys firmware.

There are 3rd party firmwares which can replace the original firmware and provide additional functionality. For some Linksys routers, there is Tomato or DD-WRT 3rd party firmwares which can replace the original manufacture's firmware.

#41 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:32 PM

I don't see any advantage.
Changing to static is good "when you have problems". ;)


+1

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#42 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:33 PM

I'm assuming what is meant that for a E3000, stock firmware is what came with it. That is, the Linksys firmware.

There are 3rd party firmwares which can replace the original firmware and provide additional functionality. For some Linksys routers, there is Tomato or DD-WRT 3rd party firmwares which can replace the original manufacture's firmware.


That's exactly what I meant. I use DD-WRT on my Linksys routers, although I previously used Tomato. At the time I started using it, the Linksys firmware didn't allow DHCP Reservations, which I am a big fan of.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#43 OFFLINE   wrj

wrj

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2006

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:49 PM

That's exactly what I meant. I use DD-WRT on my Linksys routers, although I previously used Tomato. At the time I started using it, the Linksys firmware didn't allow DHCP Reservations, which I am a big fan of.

- Merg


I use Tomato on my main E3000 router and DD-WRT on my E1000 used as a AP.

I noticed all the Directv DVRs I have used play very well with my Linksys routers and prior routers using DHCP. I'm thankful for that.

#44 OFFLINE   rahlquist

rahlquist

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,640 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:52 AM

I'm assuming what is meant that for a E3000, stock firmware is what came with it. That is, the Linksys firmware.

There are 3rd party firmwares which can replace the original firmware and provide additional functionality. For some Linksys routers, there is Tomato or DD-WRT 3rd party firmwares which can replace the original manufacture's firmware.


Lol I should have included a smiley, I was just poking fun at The Merg. Yeah I run DD-WRT on my E3000 (SVN revision 19519).

An on topic I have always used Static Leases for all my devices but I also set the IP manually in the D* equipment. Has always worked great and no network dropouts.

#45 OFFLINE   FHSPSU67

FHSPSU67

    CE'er & Retired Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,578 posts
  • LocationWindber, PA
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 08:31 AM

Yup. Static IP's and Reserved IP's work just fine.

Just as a reminder about them...

A static IP is one that you set on the device itself. A reserved IP address (DHCP Reservations) is an IP address assigned by the router, however, the same IP address is issued out by the router to a device according to the device's MAC address. If you use actual static IP addresses, you should make sure that the address used is not one that is within the DHCP range that the router uses.

Personally, I prefer DHCP Reservations. Along with knowing what the IP address is of all my devices, I can easily see what the list is by looking in my router setup. I can also change IP addresses easily while just at my computer/tablet/etc. With static IP addresses, you need to go to the device itself to change its IP address and you generally can't see the device's IP address via the router.

- Merg

Thanks for the explanation, I've learned something today.
I've always used DHCP reservations, but had always thought those were static IPs. Now I know the difference.
PS: I never claimed to be a networking expert:)
Fred
DIRECTV since November 1995

#46 OFFLINE   azarby

azarby

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,112 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 11 January 2013 - 08:40 AM

Yup. Static IP's and Reserved IP's work just fine.

Just as a reminder about them...

A static IP is one that you set on the device itself. A reserved IP address (DHCP Reservations) is an IP address assigned by the router, however, the same IP address is issued out by the router to a device according to the device's MAC address. If you use actual static IP addresses, you should make sure that the address used is not one that is within the DHCP range that the router uses.

Personally, I prefer DHCP Reservations. Along with knowing what the IP address is of all my devices, I can easily see what the list is by looking in my router setup. I can also change IP addresses easily while just at my computer/tablet/etc. With static IP addresses, you need to go to the device itself to change its IP address and you generally can't see the device's IP address via the router.

- Merg


I use DHCP with reserved addresses also. The only issue I have had is recently my router was thought to be acting up (really wasn't, It was a provider issue) and I was required to reset the router to factory defaults. This deleted the internal DHCP reervation table and I had to reset several remote control apps that needed to know the IPs. Otherwise it works fine.

#47 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:24 AM

I use DHCP with reserved addresses also. The only issue I have had is recently my router was thought to be acting up (really wasn't, It was a provider issue) and I was required to reset the router to factory defaults. This deleted the internal DHCP reervation table and I had to reset several remote control apps that needed to know the IPs. Otherwise it works fine.


Yup. With DHCP Reservations and Static IP Addresses, each has its own benefits and downsides. You found out the downside to DHCP Reservations.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#48 OFFLINE   ronton3

ronton3

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2006

Posted 11 January 2013 - 07:16 PM

The ASUS RT-N66U is hands down the BEST router I have used in 18 years of home networking. I've had D-Link, Netgear, Linksys, Buffalo, Motorola and others whose names I don't recall, and the ASUS outperforms all of them. If you haven't done so already, you might want to try Merlin's build of the ASUS firmware.


I am new to wireless. I installed an RT-N66U, because of the favorable reviews at AVS, to run my new Ipad Mini. I have a small set up with a ROKU XS, ATV3, and OPPO 83, G5 Mac Pro PPC by ethernet, and the Mini by wireless. It has been surprisingly simple and trouble free to set up. I am using DHCP
.
I am using WPA-2 personal, Is that an appropriate setting. I have a WD portable drive and I can see it on the Mac and Mini, but I can't figure out how to delete and add to it from the Mac or Mini, is there a way. I want to try setting up VPN but am concerned about screwing something up.

I have Centurytel DSL, going to an old non wifi Actiontec router and the ASUS by ethernet to it. Should I be concerned about settings on the Actiontec will it slow the ASUS down? Would Merlin help with a simple set up like mine? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks ron

#49 OFFLINE   ronton3

ronton3

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2006

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:37 PM

Could anyone answer any of the questions, please? Thanks ron

#50 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,489 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 January 2013 - 05:09 PM

Thanks for the explanation, I've learned something today.
I've always used DHCP reservations, but had always thought those were static IPs. Now I know the difference.
PS: I never claimed to be a networking expert:)


There are "Quasi" Static IP Addresses assigned by DHCP and RENEWED when DHCP Renews It's Licenses so DHCP Assigns the Same IP Address but with True Static IP Addresses once it is Assigned Outside of the DHCP Range then it will Never have to be Reassigned or Renewed as in the case of DHCP Reservations!!! :D
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup




Protected By... spam firewall...And...