Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Tax time for 2012, software or online?


  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 06 January 2013 - 02:34 PM

wingrider - what's wrong with activation? Keeps people from giving the disk to their friends and protects their copyright.


Had to reprint a tax return from a previous year for tution assistance, between the time the return was filed and the time it need to be printed the computer that it was originally installed on melted down and I built a completely new box, took me aboout 2 and half weeks to get the program put back on and re-authorized - never again, they never admitted that it was hashed on the current equipment that it was installed on.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,617 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 06 January 2013 - 02:42 PM

Had to reprint a tax return from a previous year for tution assistance, between the time the return was filed and the time it need to be printed the computer that it was originally installed on melted down and I built a completely new box, took me aboout 2 and half weeks to get the program put back on and re-authorized - never again, they never admitted that it was hashed on the current equipment that it was installed on.


....seriously? You can get AND use an official transcript of your return from the IRS for that purpose.
DTV = Digital Television

#28 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 06 January 2013 - 03:01 PM

Had to reprint a tax return from a previous year for tution assistance, between the time the return was filed and the time it need to be printed the computer that it was originally installed on melted down and I built a completely new box, took me aboout 2 and half weeks to get the program put back on and re-authorized - never again, they never admitted that it was hashed on the current equipment that it was installed on.


I always print one for the IRS, one for me to file and one using PDF Creator and have that file backed up on a Flash Drive.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#29 OFFLINE   1980ws

1980ws

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationLongwood, Florida
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 06 January 2013 - 04:01 PM

I've used Tax Act now for as long as I can remember. Save all my forms in a flash drive,my pc (back up data plan) and hard copies. $10 bucks a year, remembers my data, and never a problem. Sounds like everyone has good choices per their comfort level. I know a few who refuse to do either, still do paper filing. I yearn for a Flat or Fair tax in this country, but understand politicians couldn't rule us without the power of taxation.

Enjoying D* since 2008 - Choice Xtra Classic
NFLST - MLB.TV PREMIUM - NHL Gamecenter Live
Phillies - Flyers - Rays - Noles


#30 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,270 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 06 January 2013 - 06:54 PM

If you are doing more than 1 tax return Tax Cut offers 5 free e-files compared to 1 for Turbo Tax. I switched for this reason. I think Turbo Tax interface is a little better but I was happy to save money :)


Turbo Tax now offers 5 free e-files, even the basic version. I bought the deluxe version last year but didn't need the extra features so I went back to the basic version this year.

#31 OFFLINE   Garyunc

Garyunc

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 06 January 2013 - 07:43 PM

Turbo Tax now offers 5 free e-files, even the basic version. I bought the deluxe version last year but didn't need the extra features so I went back to the basic version this year.


Thanks for the tip but you would think they would adversite that fact on their products page :confused:
http://turbotax.intu...personal-taxes/
DirecTV customer since 1995

#32 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 06 January 2013 - 08:25 PM

Thanks for the tip but you would think they would adversite that fact on their products page :confused:
http://turbotax.intu...personal-taxes/


The Disc version in the store shows 5 E files.
http://www.officedep...ac-Traditional/

Helps you get every dollar you deserve from your taxes
Asks plain-English questions that are easy to understand and answer
Expert one-on-one answers to your unique questions throughout the year
Double-checks your return for deductions and credits
Includes 5 Free Federal E-Files

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#33 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:17 PM

I use tax act too.. but since I have no deductions anymore I could just hand do them on EZ form..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#34 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:11 AM

I always print one for the IRS, one for me to file and one using PDF Creator and have that file backed up on a Flash Drive.


Had the original files, a user should be able to regenerate ANY report or output as long as I have the original files, the file was backed up on a flash drive, a burned cd with a copy in one of my fireproof gun safes and another in the safe deposit box. there is no excuse for what occurred othe then the desire for a company to make it as difficult as possible to recover information, beside the jury was still out on the spyware portion of the accusations

#35 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,617 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 07 January 2013 - 08:37 AM

Had the original files, a user should be able to regenerate ANY report or output as long as I have the original files, the file was backed up on a flash drive, a burned cd with a copy in one of my fireproof gun safes and another in the safe deposit box. there is no excuse for what occurred othe then the desire for a company to make it as difficult as possible to recover information, beside the jury was still out on the spyware portion of the accusations


You had no need for the software if you had the files. Your story doesn't make any sense.
DTV = Digital Television

#36 OFFLINE   4HiMarks

4HiMarks

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,412 posts
  • LocationLaurel, MD
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 07 January 2013 - 11:36 AM

I've never used anything but TaxAct. There is a free version, but the premium version costs less than $20 and includes one free e-file for both state and federal. It will also import data from last year, and flag anything that deviates substantially from it on this year's return, and offer tips on how to reduce your tax burden next year.

It will generate a PDF of your return for you, in addition to backing up the program-specific files (which is probably the issue wingrider ran into). I also store a copy of my return on a flash drive, and email it to myself to file in a webmail account in the cloud.

If you order it for download, they will have a record of your purchase, and should your machine ever melt down, or be replaced, you can just log in to your account and re-download an earlier year's program files to recreate the return.
Dish subscriber since 2000, HD since 2004.

#37 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,389 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 07 January 2013 - 01:19 PM

I've been using TT for many years. They charge extra for efiling a state return, so I print out the state return and mail it in. State refund is delayed a couple weeks, but it's always a small refund anyway.

Amazon download seems to be cheapest approach, although I haven't checked Costco yet.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#38 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:20 PM

You had no need for the software if you had the files. Your story doesn't make any sense.


Hmm, kind of hard to read the files and generate a tax return without the program now isn't it? I had the original input files that I created as I inpput the data to generate the tax return, not any output

#39 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,617 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:43 PM

Hmm, kind of hard to read the files and generate a tax return without the program now isn't it? I had the original input files that I created as I inpput the data to generate the tax return, not any output


That you didn't use the option of generating a PDF is your own fault. Not to mention, as I said earlier, the IRS will send you a transcript of your return free of charge that includes all the information you needed. You chose the most difficult path for some reason.
DTV = Digital Television

#40 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 08 January 2013 - 05:36 AM

That you didn't use the option of generating a PDF is your own fault. Not to mention, as I said earlier, the IRS will send you a transcript of your return free of charge that includes all the information you needed. You chose the most difficult path for some reason.


Why should I, I have the files backed up I should be able to reload the program without going through any blasted rigamarole and grovel to the developer of the software just becaiuse they want security on their SDT application. Sorry your second suggestion of calling the IRS to get a transcript was not within the time frame I had to produce the documentation required.

Bottom line - I should be able to reload ANY application on my machine without having to jump through hoops and grovel to the vendor to get it activated again - just how blasted hard is this concept to understand.

The tax application I switched to allows me to do just that, if I don;t have the install disc for that year a quick call or email to their customer service department gets me a link to a download site that allows me to bring down the application for ANY YEAR that I used it to file tax returns. Short, fast, no stupidity on the companies part.

No I chose that path that should have been the simplest and easiest - just reinstall the application and print it again, but Quicken in their inffinite paranoid world made that the hardest path to follow. Why is this o hard to understand for you? :confused:

#41 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:46 PM

Beginning in early 2012, with TurboTax 2011 tax year version, I can't use the software version at all unless I do it in a Windows XP virtual environment on my Windows 7 PC. This is all due to TurboTax's f-----g .NET Framework 4.0 issue. My .NET Framework files are all up to date, but every damn time I tried to install last year's TurboTax, and now trying to install THIS year's TurboTax, I get the same error message regarding .NET Framework 4.0, and NOTHING the Intuit people have suggested works. Hell, even their troubleshooting tips for Windows 7 PCs isn't correct. Their instructions don't match the configuration of Windows 7 systems.

Idiots.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#42 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,617 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:48 PM

Works fine in my Windows 7 PC with .NET 4.5.
DTV = Digital Television

#43 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:49 PM

I don't care. It DOESN'T work AT ALL in my Windows 7 PC with .NET 4.5.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#44 OFFLINE   djlong

djlong

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,273 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: Jul 08, 2002

Posted 04 February 2013 - 05:59 AM

It smacks of not being a .NET problem but something else on your system that is screwing things up - otherwise EVERYONE's Win 7 PC would be affected.

This is one of Windows' big problems - so many things being installed and not COMPLETEL uninstalled over the years leaves a messy registry behind. And I say that having been a Windows developer for many years.

#45 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 04 February 2013 - 11:26 AM

Well, a search through the TurboTax forums indicates that there are others who also are suffering this problem.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#46 OFFLINE   djlong

djlong

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,273 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: Jul 08, 2002

Posted 05 February 2013 - 06:11 AM

No doubt about that. The problem is trying to figure out what combination of hardware, software and revisions produce this problem. Given the nature of the Windows beast and Windows software, that's a *tall* order. Never mind the fact that you're having to coordinate a research effort amongst {dozens|hundreds} of individuals out of possibly millions of customers for whom it worked and THAT effort has to be in support of a $50-$80 product that has no "service contract".

I don't envy your position.

#47 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,379 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 05 February 2013 - 06:34 AM

I've been using TurboTax on PCs for more than 10 years without a single issue.

Basic diagnostics 101 makes one look at what is unique on a PC that would prohibit mainstream software from working.

The top 2 causes - failure to keep basic OS current and virus/firewall obstruction.

Those may/may not apply, but are often the cause.

If software works on many millions of PCs but has issues on a fraction...then owners should examine what is "nonstandard" on their setup.

I'm aware of at least 2 people who still have AOL on their PCs...which has been proven to trash PCs...so each environment warrants closer inspection before pointing fingers at mainstream software.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#48 OFFLINE   jerry downing

jerry downing

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 548 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Mar 07, 2004

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:29 PM

I've been using TT for many years. They charge extra for efiling a state return, so I print out the state return and mail it in. State refund is delayed a couple weeks, but it's always a small refund anyway.

Amazon download seems to be cheapest approach, although I haven't checked Costco yet.


I just did my taxes today using TT and I saw that there was a $20 fee for E-filing state taxes. You can pay this fee by having it deducted from your return, however there is a $30 fee for doing that. It's the first time that I have ever seen a fee being assessed in order to pay a fee.

#49 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,126 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 February 2013 - 08:48 PM

I just did my taxes today using TT and I saw that there was a $20 fee for E-filing state taxes. You can pay this fee by having it deducted from your return, however there is a $30 fee for doing that. It's the first time that I have ever seen a fee being assessed in order to pay a fee.

That is a new one ... so $50 for e-filing? None of that charge if you decided to print and mail it in?

As far as my taxes: Up until last year Indiana allowed free state filing online. Last year as a transition they gave out coupon codes for TurboTax and other websites. This year no extra discount (that I could find).

So this year I got to the end of my taxes online on TT and they wanted to charge me ~$15 for federal and ~$28 for state. I considered using someone else for the state portion, so I went to another website ... filled out all of their info ... ended up with the SAME results as TurboTax and paid $15.60 including e-filing. ~$15 is better than ~$43.

#50 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 12 February 2013 - 09:09 PM

Why did TT even charge you to e-file for federal return? I filed mine for free.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...