Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

211k check switch stays on 1 of 1


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   john payne

john payne

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2009

Posted 07 January 2013 - 10:44 AM

I have a unusual problem I have yet to encounter. Looking for guidance on what part is bad.

I have a customer that is trying to install a 211k and 1000.4 dish himself.

He had a Directv dish already installed there and there are no line of sight issues.

He is using a meter to align the dish, but alignment is not the problem.

When he runs a check switch the 211k stays on testing 1 of 1 and never moves from there. He is taking the signal meter out of the line before running the test. He has left the receiver on the testing 1 of 1 screen for hours with no change.

Even if it wasn't pointed it would do a 4 count check switch, and if it was a bad connection or cabeling problem it would be a 38 count test.

I'm guessing it's a bad receiver. What do ya'll think?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   davejacobson

davejacobson

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 219 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2005

Posted 07 January 2013 - 11:36 AM

Has he rebooted the reciever and tried again. I have run into that on the 211
A good serviceman is not expensive or free. He is priceless

#3 OFFLINE   john payne

john payne

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2009

Posted 07 January 2013 - 11:47 AM

sorry i forgot to include that. yes, he has rebooted.

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 January 2013 - 11:53 AM

try to measure voltage at 211k coax sat input; 1st w/out coax, then with a load [LNBF 1k4]

#5 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 07 January 2013 - 12:36 PM

What D* system is being replaced? Are there any D* components left in line?

#6 OFFLINE   john payne

john payne

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2009

Posted 07 January 2013 - 12:52 PM

it was replacing a d12 on a 3lnb dish that was working fine.

#7 OFFLINE   john payne

john payne

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2009

Posted 07 January 2013 - 12:57 PM

The only connection in the line is at the ground block. To eliminate any possible line issue a temporary line was ran up to the dish. The problem still occured, so its not a cabeling issue

#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 January 2013 - 03:43 PM

what voltage you measured ?




spam firewall