Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper with Sling - CES Press Releases


  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 481 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 06:05 PM

All of the literature I've been sent so far says "Hopper with Sling". Hope no one minds if I refer to them as H1 and H2. much simpler.:)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 January 2013 - 06:42 PM

Hmmm... Menu twice displays Hopper with Sling....white label on the back displays XIP 913. I guess you are right, its officially called the Hopper 2.


Are you doing that at home or at CES ? Pretty much you're telling about demo or beta box.
Have you seen white label on a back of H ? Not ? OK, I'll tell you now - it has a name: HOPPER 2000; but a few SW versions back the name changed to simple Hopper. So, the XiP813 still in docs, but for customers. Expect same for production of XiP913 aka Hopper 2.

Edited by P Smith, 09 January 2013 - 06:48 PM.


#43 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 09 January 2013 - 06:59 PM

It should really be Hopper 1.5 :P .

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#44 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:13 PM

then should we take the omitted "2000" designator seriously too ? ;)

#45 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:30 PM

I thought that the "2000" moniker went out of date 13 years ago anyway :P .

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#46 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 10 January 2013 - 08:57 AM

I guess what confused me is the fact you come out and say the OFFICIAL NAME is Hopper2, then in a later post you says its the 913 aka Hopper2. :confused:

#47 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:15 AM

OK, the name would find it's own way to orders and paperwork ... Relax.

#48 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 10 January 2013 - 05:22 PM

Unless they come up with a new type of node, however, you would only be able to have one Hopper and one Hopper 2 "see" each other... because if you had 2 Hoppers on a dual node, you'd have to put your new Hopper 2 on its own node, which would be isolated...

Swapping a Joey for a Hopper 2 will not be easy peasy in terms of cabling/node work...


Or you could get a second node and put a jumper between the client lines on each node and all 3 Hoppers will see each other.

#49 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,450 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 10 January 2013 - 06:10 PM

Or you could get a second node and put a jumper between the client lines on each node and all 3 Hoppers will see each other.


Somebody already said this earlier... but I've never seen this as officially supported by either Dish or Echostar. All it takes is a firmware update to disable that functionality IF they decide to implement it in some new way.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#50 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 11 January 2013 - 12:44 AM

Somebody already said this earlier... but I've never seen this as officially supported by either Dish or Echostar. All it takes is a firmware update to disable that functionality IF they decide to implement it in some new way.


As I said earlier, I told DIRT about issues with 3 Hoppers on MoCA and not long after, a software update was released and what do you know, it fixed the issues. Pretty sure that they don't plan on disabling it.

As for WiFi getting disabled... I can say without a doubt that it won't be disabled. I am however not allowed to say how/why I know this ;) .

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#51 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 January 2013 - 12:58 AM

because your hands hold their balls :D

#52 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 11 January 2013 - 02:03 AM

Please... Leave your fantasies out of this ;) .

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#53 OFFLINE   randob

randob

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2012

Posted 12 January 2013 - 10:53 AM

The technical reason is probably the ability to re-encode the data stream into a native iPad format at a reasonable speed. It's one thing to Sling the data live, and another thing to Sling 2 hours of data in a reasonably short time period. No doubt the USB connection is not fast enough, nor the processor in the original Sling Adapter, to encode that much data that fast.


Why not leave the format alone and transfer the native file (MPEG-4, right?). Enable this function over a USB WiFi adapter. Leave it overnight if it takes a long time. Let the user worry about how much room he has on his mobile device. And let's see support for Android and BlackBerry 10.

#54 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,567 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 January 2013 - 12:08 PM

What? It is not called a Hopper 2, it is called Hopper with Sling, just like it is displayed on the outside of the box it comes in. And on the bezzle itself.


Which can be nicely shortened to "Slopper"......
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#55 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,567 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 January 2013 - 12:14 PM

Why not leave the format alone and transfer the native file (MPEG-4, right?). Enable this function over a USB WiFi adapter. Leave it overnight if it takes a long time. Let the user worry about how much room he has on his mobile device. And let's see support for Android and BlackBerry 10.


For one, your content providers don't want HD files floating about.

For another, the average user won't like the fact, or understand it, when two movies eats up all his storage and nothing more can be transferred.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#56 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 January 2013 - 08:51 PM

For one, your content providers don't want HD files floating about.

For another, the average user won't like the fact, or understand it, when two movies eats up all his storage and nothing more can be transferred.

There is no video compression format what would beat MPEG-4 or VC-1.
Only transcoding to reduced resolution and larger GOPs will make it less size.
Floating ? They will regardless any restriction...

#57 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,567 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:26 PM

There is no video compression format what would beat MPEG-4 or VC-1.
Only transcoding to reduced resolution and larger GOPs will make it less size.
Floating ? They will regardless any restriction...


Is there something you are saying here other than the obvious?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#58 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 January 2013 - 01:34 AM

not sure, what you try to pull out ...

#59 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,017 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 13 January 2013 - 08:07 AM

Here are some of the photos of the Dish booth at CES

Posted Image
.....
Posted Image
.....
Posted Image

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#60 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,017 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 13 January 2013 - 08:10 AM

Posted Image
....
Posted Image

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE





spam firewall