Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

On Demand HD Quality Option


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 07 January 2013 - 09:35 PM

On Demand HD Quality Option was given to me yesterday for about 3 different shows downloaded I'm still downloading the same show but no longer getting the option. Can someon explain how it works.

The options were like Faster Download HD, High Quality HD and it was like episodes 6,7,8 of the showtimes series I was downloading I wasn't asked for the first 6 episodes.

Is this option permanent because I chose Faster Download but that's not what I always want and it has sinced stop asking.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,526 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 11:23 AM

It is not a permanent selection. As far as I can tell, it is based on a basic connection speed test. If the DVR/remote server connection is detected to be fast enough to support streaming in "near HD" quality, and the servers have the capacity to do so, you will get the option. If the test shows a slower speed, or the servers are too busy, you won't get the choice. It may not be available for all titles, either.

We have a 75 Mbps downstream connection (on FiOS) and we don't always get the option, but we often do.
Dish Network Customer from 1998-2001
DirecTV Customer since October, 2001
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

#3 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 11 January 2013 - 05:08 AM

It is not a permanent selection. As far as I can tell, it is based on a basic connection speed test. If the DVR/remote server connection is detected to be fast enough to support streaming in "near HD" quality, and the servers have the capacity to do so, you will get the option. If the test shows a slower speed, or the servers are too busy, you won't get the choice. It may not be available for all titles, either.

We have a 75 Mbps downstream connection (on FiOS) and we don't always get the option, but we often do.


Thanks first time I've ever got that option and I have a measly in comparison 30mbps Comcast.




spam firewall