Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper with Sling upgrade fees


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:12 PM

. You posted sw spool info and FCC info. I'm not sure why you asked me to follow the link.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   dmspen

dmspen

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,403 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:43 AM

The only reason I would upgrade to Hopper 2 is for the send to iPad functionality. The rest seems trivial compared to a Hopper with a Sling which I already have.

#23 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,864 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:13 AM

. You posted sw spool info and FCC info. I'm not sure why you asked me to follow the link.

[off-topic]
You know, I don't get how you positioning yourself here, at the forum; are you an employee ? or beta tester ? or just label's reader at CES ? Seems to ignoring anything what is not posted by you and pretending you are the one who knows everything related to echo equipment... I don't get.
[/off-topic]
Just in case to refresh your wondering/curiousity level, do search here when the "XiP913" model has been mention first time ...

#24 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 482 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:36 AM

Those existing customers without a Hopper can still upgrade to Hopper 1.0 for $50 even after Hopper 2.0 is released.


Yes, and it wouldn't surprise me if that $50 fee was lowered soon as well.

#25 OFFLINE   zer0cool

zer0cool

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2004

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:55 AM

So, is there a DIRT team member we can contact about upgrading one of our Hoppers to the new model?

#26 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:08 AM

i was just someone who noticed the info in your posts was inconsistent/incorrect and said something about it.

#27 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,864 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:20 AM

I would reserve my answer to that time when the Hopper 2 will hit shelves.

#28 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:40 AM

Reserve my answer about the official name of the new Hopper model? I give up going back and forth with you, waste of time.

#29 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 633 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 03:11 PM

OK, first, I could not care less about whether it's called a Hopper 2 or Hopper with Sling or Super Duper Hooper Hopper. ;)

But - I was planning to upgrade from my 722 + 2 612s setup to a two Hopper/one Joey setup in later January. Seems silly to not go with the latest and greatest, but would it really cost me $200-300? And is that per Hopper????

#30 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,864 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 January 2013 - 03:58 PM

just wait for first wave - there should be a promotion for such customers as you ... so it could be your for free;
question is: when the H2 will hit the shelves ?

#31 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 11 January 2013 - 04:00 PM

just wait for first wave - there should be a promotion for such customers as you ... so it could be your for free;
question is: when the H2 will hit the shelves ?

I read the end of the this month.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#32 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,864 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 January 2013 - 04:01 PM

stop squeezing that things ! :D or we will get H2 tomorrow :D:D:D

#33 OFFLINE   VDP07

VDP07

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 482 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:09 PM

We can start activating H2's on the 17th. Pricing is $200 to $300 per
H2 for upgrades. For new customers subscribing to AT120 or higher 1st H2 is free, a 2nd H2 will be $199. Up to 3 free joeys will still be free for most.

#34 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:29 PM

I find it interesting on Dish's part to alienate the base by charging a blanket seemingly exorbitant rate. Trolling for new customers by giving the stuff away is one thing but pissing off the beta testers and faithful here and elsewhere is another. I'm hopeful this will even out on a case by case basis for upgrades.... as it has in the past.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#35 OFFLINE   fudpucker

fudpucker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 633 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 11:13 PM

We can start activating H2's on the 17th. Pricing is $200 to $300 per
H2 for upgrades. For new customers subscribing to AT120 or higher 1st H2 is free, a 2nd H2 will be $199. Up to 3 free joeys will still be free for most.


Hmmm. I'm paying over $100 per month, AT250, HBO, etc. If Dish wants to charge me over $600 to upgrade from my 722 and 2 612s to their latest Hopper technology, they may as well email me DirectTV's phone number - I assume they'll give me their latest technology for a lot less.

$600 to move up to the new DVRs is a real "screw you, existing customer" from Dish. (Oh, I forgot, this is the company that "cares" so much for their customers.)

#36 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,759 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 January 2013 - 07:22 AM

My suggestion would be to WAIT until the receivers are available then work with DIRT.

Despite the higher "list price" for current customers, DIRT has been able to work out better deals for customers in good standing.

#37 OFFLINE   bigdog9586

bigdog9586

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 12 January 2013 - 05:16 PM

I just bought a Roku HD for 50 bucks. Very nice for streaming a lot of free "stuff". Really nice if you have Amazon Prime, actually has your watchlist (where many smart TV's don't). Had too many problems streaming Dish stuff. Have one Sling adapter for on the road DVR streaming.


Back when Dish was fighting with AMC wife called and complained to Dish she was missing her shows and Dish sent us a Free Roku HD plus credited our account $35 so she could buy her shows off Amazon.

#38 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,864 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 January 2013 - 08:43 PM

you are and your wife not only one who get the free Roku small box ;)

#39 OFFLINE   chriscpmtmp

chriscpmtmp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: May 13, 2006

Posted 16 January 2013 - 05:06 PM

Now this is just a great line ...

Seems to ignoring anything what is not posted by you and pretending you are the one who knows everything related to echo equipment... I don't get.


Chris

61.5/72
Super Joey - main floor
Hopper w/ Sling - basement, bedroom, audio feed
video distributed over cat5
audio distributed over Russound


#40 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 16 January 2013 - 05:21 PM

Now this is just a great line ...


Agreed, makes perfect sense as always. Especially from someone who seems to always need to have the final word/post. Going as far as telling someone to not disturb a thread when i was confirming a posters idea because he was the last poster,weird dude in my opinion. Or if someone posts something he isn't sure of or posts info he doesn't have, regardless of the fact he has no idea about the posters validity, he argues it or says the poster is in some imaginary world. But it's cool, he's boss so ill keep an eye on my posts and make sure I get the P Smith seal of approval before posting,




Protected By... spam firewall...And...