Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

If I get Genie, will other receivers still record?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 04:49 PM

I am considering replacing a HR21 with the genie. I also have a HR23 a HR 22 and a H23. Will I be able to record up to 5 on the Genie, and still record up to 2 on the HR22 and The HR23 for a total of 9 at the same time? Or is it a total of 5?


Errol
HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   afulkerson

afulkerson

    MI Citizen Corps Vol of Year

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,667 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 04:53 PM

I am considering replacing a HR21 with the genie. I also have a HR23 a HR 22 and a H23. Will I be able to record up to 5 on the Genie, and still record up to 2 on the HR22 and The HR23 for a total of 9 at the same time? Or is it a total of 5?


Errol


I count 10 tuners which would require a Swm16. Of which 9 could be used for recording programs.

#3 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,024 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 08 January 2013 - 04:53 PM

Same as before, as long as you have enough tuner access on the SWiM.

Need a SWiM-16 if greater then 8 is needed.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,115 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 04:54 PM

You will get a SWM16 and be able to record 9 things at once with that equipment. Plus a total of 200 series links.

#5 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 05:02 PM

Don't know what 200 series links is, but knowing I can record 9 shows will work.
Thanks to all
Edit: I realized that means I can set up to 200 shows to record (I think)


Errol
HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

#6 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,115 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 05:05 PM

Correct. The HR34 can do 100, then each other DVR 50 each.

#7 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,346 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 05:07 PM

Series link is where you set it to record a specific show each time it is on. Like I have a series link to record First Runs for Big Bang Theory. Each time a new episode is aired, it will automatically record it.

#8 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 05:51 PM

How many RG6 lines from the SWM 16 are required for the Genie?

Errol
HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

#9 OFFLINE   Alebob911

Alebob911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,583 posts
  • LocationCERES,CA
Joined: Mar 22, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 06:04 PM

How many RG6 lines from the SWM 16 are required for the Genie?

Errol


Just one.

#10 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 06:28 PM

thanks to all, I think all my weird questions have been answered.

Errol
HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU




Protected By... spam firewall...And...