Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

CES 2013: Engadget posts a hands on for the HR44


  • Please log in to reply
110 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,594 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:36 AM

I was just wondering if a client can see more than one server at one time, or do you choose the server that the client box is fed from?


Currently it is DirecTV policy to only permit one Genie per account, so adding a second one is not an option right now. I'm making an assumption that this would apply to any combination of HR34/HR44 as long as it is considered a Genie.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,182 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:41 AM

BLAH...nothing really exciting about this. And who wants a box that requires a clunky enternal power supply?


That seems quite short sighted.

You don't think a smaller form facter and a faster chip are aren't worth getting excited about?

I was very close to pulling the trigger on an HR34 but now I am willing to wait for the HR44.:)

Edited by SPACEMAKER, 09 January 2013 - 11:15 AM.


Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#28 OFFLINE   smitbret

smitbret

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2011

Posted 09 January 2013 - 09:03 AM

Who cares about smaller? In order to match the capabilities of the new hopper, you need to do the following.

1. Add external 2TB drive to match Hopper's built in 2TB drive
2. Add Nomad box to match Hopper's built in ability for offline viewing on Ipad
3. Add Slingbox to match Hopper's built in Sling capability for remote viewing
4. Add extra C31 box for aforementioned Slingbox to work (unless you want to tie up the HR44 for remote viewings on the Slingbox)

When you add in those 4 extra boxes and cords to match what one Hopper does with one box, the whole "smaller form factor" kinda loses it's appeal (not to mention the extra cost and hassle of all those extra boxes).

Am I missing something here or did D* make a huge mistake and think that there HR34 from last year had all the features needed and didn't need improvement?


I think you are missing the target audience. 90% of customers will never use the Sling feature. Some may use it after they discover the feature but most will never utilize it like many members on this board. This board is not populated by a typical customers. The larger HDD and the Commercial Skip features of the Hopper are the 2 features that actually have broad customer appeal. In fact the 5 tuners vs. 3 tuners and the smaller footrpint will have a much bigger impact on the average customer than the Sling features on Dish. Don't underestimate the value that customers put on aesthetics.

Edited by smitbret, 09 January 2013 - 09:28 AM.


#29 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:07 AM

From the problems reported on here over the past few years, I would tend to say its the hard drive, not the power supply. Ive seen a few power supplies reported, but lots of hard drive failures.


That's not been my experience. The great majority of problems I've had have been with hardware rather than the HDDs. Since the 24s came out, I've only had a problem with one WD HDD, which WD replaced with a better one, and I'm still not really sure that HDD was bad. Just my opinion based on my experiences.

Rich

#30 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:23 AM

many other "hiccups" like freezing, rebooting, missed timers, disappearing records could be easily attributes by CPU's overheating also, beside HDD and PSU failures


I've seen more PS failures than HDD failures. I think putting them outside the box is a good idea. Be really nice if they'd put the HDD on the outside. Be even nicer if D* would realize some of us can "refurb" an HR better than their contractors and let us open the boxes.

Take the 24-100 as an example. The cable from the RF(IR?) sensor is stretched across the motherboard and fastened to it with a crimped connector. Stretched taut. Who installs a cable that's just barely long enough and is taut and crimped? I've already had one with the cable pulled out of the crimped connector. I owned it and I knew what was wrong with it and could have easily fixed it, but I got a new 24-500 for it. After what I've recently gone thru with the 500s, I'm kinda sorry I didn't fix the 100.

Rich

#31 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,388 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:29 AM

What's this talk about connecting a PS3 to the genie? Can you use it as another remote client?

I hope they offer a suitable remote control.

The Sony remote doesn't seem particularly well-suited to DVR control nor can it control a the TV or/or an AVR.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#32 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,388 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:33 AM

I think you are missing the target audience. 90% of customers will never use the Sling feature. Some may use it after they discover the feature but most will never utilize it like many members on this board.

I'm pretty sure you underestimate the number of Slingbox and Vulkano users there already are in DIRECTV land.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#33 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:33 AM

I hope they offer a suitable remote control.

The Sony remote doesn't seem particularly well-suited to DVR control nor can it control a the TV or/or an AVR.


I tried a PS3 for awhile and you're right, but can't you buy a more DVR friendly remote that would supplant the PS3's controller?

Rich

#34 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,388 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:35 AM

I tried a PS3 for awhile and you're right, but can't you buy a more DVR friendly remote that would supplant the PS3's controller?

The PS3 uses Bluetooth, so it isn't a cakewalk to upgrade as you might with IR.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#35 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,388 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:49 AM

You don't think a smaller form facter and a faster chip are aren't work getting excited about?

Perhaps, but I'm getting a very large rats nest of wall warts and cabling behind my home entertainment center these days what with all the accessory boxes, powered adapter/converters, numerous hard drives, networking gear and similar.

What they really need to do is make everything run on 9-12VDC so that we can power these devices with a single large supply instead of a bunch of bricks and wall warts.

All the heat sinks in the world aren't going to help if the device is easier to bury deep in a pile of other stuff. I think they ought to consider making these boxes more like the Wii or Boxee Box so that magazines and heat-generating electronic devices can't be piled on so easily.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#36 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,154 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:52 AM

The PS3 uses Bluetooth, so it isn't a cakewalk to upgrade as you might with IR.


It was quite easy getting my Harmony remote working with it. Just needed the adapter. Cost, yes, but I'd still consider it a cakewalk.

#37 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 614 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:56 AM

...Has Dish opened up user access to the second TB? That's a serious question...


On a Hopper 1.25TB is available for the user and 2 2TB external drives (useable on any DVR in the account) can be connected at one time. That's just for one Hopper.

Is the entire 1TB on a Genie drive available to the user?

#38 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,388 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:02 AM

It was quite easy getting my Harmony remote working with it. Just needed the adapter. Cost, yes, but I'd still consider it a cakewalk.

Yet even with all of that, will it support all of the important buttons for DVR use?

I'm pretty hard core about my skip buttons (something I'm not to enamored with on the Harmony remotes as it is).

The $49.99 street price is no picnic as you admit and it brings another small box and its own wall wart to the rats nest.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#39 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,388 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:14 AM

Is the entire 1TB on a Genie drive available to the user?

There is a significant reserved space.

The number probably started at around 100GB and was bumped up in September.

The move to more channels per transponder will probably offset some of the bump.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#40 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:19 AM

There is a significant reserved space.

The number probably started at around 100GB and was bumped up in September.

The move to more channels per transponder will probably offset some of the bump.


Maybe I missed this, but ur saying dtv is upping its channels per transponder? Is it because of better compression or something else? And do u know why it change the amount of reserved space on the hdd?

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#41 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,269 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:37 AM

Maybe I missed this, but ur saying dtv is upping its channels per transponder? Is it because of better compression or something else? And do u know why it change the amount of reserved space on the hdd?


we had ongoing discussion about 6th and 7th channel on many Ka tpns.
The thread about HR44 :backtotop:

#42 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 856 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:12 PM

I don't have an HR34, but I read that they are about as responsive as the other HR DVR's, is the "faster" chip in the HR44 noticeable? Channel load time? Scroll speed? Remote responsiveness?

#43 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:40 PM

I don't have an HR34, but I read that they are about as responsive as the other HR DVR's, is the "faster" chip in the HR44 noticeable? Channel load time? Scroll speed? Remote responsiveness?


I don't have one either but have been told by multiple people that the HR34 is somewhere between the old HR21/22/23s and the HR24 as far as speed goes.

Hopefully the HR44 can keep up with the remote from day 1!

#44 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 09 January 2013 - 02:46 PM

Did they specify what wireless band will be used with the HR44? I would hope they go with wireless-ac and keep it backwards compatable with older bands.

#45 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,269 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 January 2013 - 02:50 PM

Did they specify what wireless band will be used with the HR44? I would hope they go with wireless-ac and keep it backwards compatable with older bands.


Yes, see FCC link above ...

#46 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,304 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 January 2013 - 03:00 PM

I wonder if you will be able to specifically order one.


I doubt it, not based in them saying that its the next gen genie. But I'd wonder if it will be much of a concern for long anyway.

#47 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 09 January 2013 - 03:34 PM

This box looks cool. I'm all for space saving small designs. I mean look at all the power in a modern smartphone like the Galaxy Nexus or iPhone 5. They fit in the palm of your hand and they run all kinds of apps and things flow so smoothly. The graphics generated seem more buttery / liquid / have flow or whatever you want to call it than what comes out of a small pizza box sized receiver. Lower the size, speed up the CPU and make it run cooler. Big plus!

Also they said you can search for shows up to a year in advance? Really, do content providers have a years worth of programming already specified and scheduled a whole year in advance?

The single click on demand is a feature I've been asking for since I first signed up with DirecTV in 2010. Glad they are making that mainstream.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#48 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,639 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 09 January 2013 - 03:43 PM

Also they said you can search for shows up to a year in advance? Really, do content providers have a years worth of programming already specified and scheduled a whole year in advance.

Not really, most networks still only give out 2 weeks in advanced, some do a month but anything over 2 weeks isn't set in stone. Some networks won't even release the weekend schedule until 3 days prior.

It's mostly Smart Search displaying shows from the entire database and not limiting results to just whatever's on the schedule for the next two weeks. i.e. Body of Proof isn't returning until February, you can search for it and set it to record whenever it returns. The year in advanced is a benefit for things like HBO where some shows have a year between seasons. For things like new fall season shows they won't appear until they are added to the database in late spring or over the summer.

#49 OFFLINE   unixguru

unixguru

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 648 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 04:27 PM

Perhaps, but I'm getting a very large rats nest of wall warts and cabling behind my home entertainment center these days what with all the accessory boxes, powered adapter/converters, numerous hard drives, networking gear and similar.

What they really need to do is make everything run on 9-12VDC so that we can power these devices with a single large supply instead of a bunch of bricks and wall warts.

All the heat sinks in the world aren't going to help if the device is easier to bury deep in a pile of other stuff. I think they ought to consider making these boxes more like the Wii or Boxee Box so that magazines and heat-generating electronic devices can't be piled on so easily.


Power and heat are getting to be a serious problem. This is probably a brick. I'm torn as to which I dislike most, bricks or warts. At least the warts are getting smaller and thinner - but they still require a less-common right angle power strip to put multiples together.

There is really no need for anybody to make a brick anymore. Apple has proven that 85W can be stuffed into a 1" thick wart (about 3"x3"; lower wattage are smaller). Their cords suck (melt) but the wart part is good design. With a right angle power strip you can stack them side by side.

I don't think we will see a single large® DC supply. What total wattage? There would be different sizes and we would be right back to buying more of them - or upgrading.

Interesting vents along the top edges of the HR44. Maybe consumer electronics need to look at going to vertical format so that convection can be utilized more and with side-by-side stacking there would be less cross-component heating.

#50 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 13,985 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 07:07 AM

Who cares about smaller? In order to match the capabilities of the new hopper, you need to do the following.

1. Add external 2TB drive to match Hopper's built in 2TB drive
2. Add Nomad box to match Hopper's built in ability for offline viewing on Ipad
3. Add Slingbox to match Hopper's built in Sling capability for remote viewing
4. Add extra C31 box for aforementioned Slingbox to work (unless you want to tie up the HR44 for remote viewings on the Slingbox)

When you add in those 4 extra boxes and cords to match what one Hopper does with one box, the whole "smaller form factor" kinda loses it's appeal (not to mention the extra cost and hassle of all those extra boxes).

Am I missing something here or did D* make a huge mistake and think that there HR34 from last year had all the features needed and didn't need improvement?

Actually Nomad would exceed the Hopper in that respect. You off load the recordings onto the device (tablet, phone, laptop, etc.) and don't need an internet connection to watch the recording. In this case Nomad would satisfy both 2. & 3.

As for 4. in your list; DIRECTV Anywhere meets that criteria. And, you don’t have to have an HR44 to use it.

If someone needs the added capacity they could install a 4TB eSATA drive. And let’s face it, most people don’t need to store more than 200 hours of HD, but if they did they could have double the capacity of the Hopper. I don’t know about you but I delete recordings after I watch them so 200+ hours of HD is more than enough for me.

So, in reality you’d only need to add the Nomad and if you really needed the space, the eSATA drive. ;)

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...