Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

DBSTalk Exclusive First Look: HR44-700 Genie


  • Please log in to reply
671 replies to this topic

#251 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,985 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 20 January 2013 - 01:03 PM

Right now my setup consists of two HR24's connected via WholeHome. I'm pretty satisfied with the performance EXCEPT for one thing that bugs me: when I'm fast forwarding/rewinding a program that is stored on the other/remote HR24; the images refresh at a much slower rate than when I'm watching the program locally.

Question for those who have played around with the HR44, and have used HR24's with Whole Home: how do the refresh rates of the HR44's clients compare to the HR24 being viewed remotely from another HR24?

Or for anyone who's played around with HR44 + clients, how do the ff/rwd refresh rates of the clients compare to those of the HR44 viewed locally?

Thanks!

It seems comparable to my eye. However, and this is just a guess, it could be a function of the MRV functionality (e.g. network functionality) and not which machine is the client and which the server.

Of course I've been wrong before. :grin:

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#252 OFFLINE   prefabsprouter

prefabsprouter

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 20 January 2013 - 01:08 PM

It seems comparable to my eye. However, and this is just a guess, it could be a function of the MRV functionality (e.g. network functionality) and not which machine is the client and which the server.

Of course I've been wrong before. :grin:

Mike


Thanks, Mike. Do you mean ff/rwd refresh rates of HR24 and HR44 clients are comparable, or are you referring to refresh rates of HR44 locally vs. HR44 client?

#253 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,985 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 20 January 2013 - 01:23 PM

Thanks, Mike. Do you mean ff/rwd refresh rates of HR24 and HR44 clients are comparable, or are you referring to refresh rates of HR44 locally vs. HR44 client?

Actually, I don't see any noticeable difference between any MRV session. It doesn't seem to matter which box is the client and which is the server.

This is just subjective observation and a quantitative evaluation. But, my subjective observation is there always seems to be a difference FW/RW between any local recording and MRV session.

I'm not sure this is what you're looking for, and keep in mind YMMV. ;)

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#254 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 248 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 20 January 2013 - 01:58 PM

Just think when we(if your old) got up to change the channels by hand.... With all this time stuff, seconds... I find this all to be kinda ridiculous. No offense. My HR34 is working great since the last update, thank god.... I'm usually an early adopter of new tech, yet it took DTV years to get the HR34 to work as it should. With that being said, i wouldn't personally touch the new box for a year plus. Maybe if it was leaps and bounds better, yet seconds.... It just dont justify the side step IMO.

#255 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,524 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 January 2013 - 02:19 PM

That's why I still ride my horse to work too. Them new cars always have some issue and whatnot, but my horse gets me there just fine. A bit slower, but it gets me yonder without problems.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#256 OFFLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,874 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 20 January 2013 - 02:45 PM

.............it took DTV years to get the HR34 to work as it should. ...........


Other than some retailers in Dec 2011, DTV was in Feb 2012.
Mine has worked as it should have since I installed it in Dec 2011.

#257 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 January 2013 - 06:39 PM

Right now my setup consists of two HR24's connected via WholeHome. I'm pretty satisfied with the performance EXCEPT for one thing that bugs me: when I'm fast forwarding/rewinding a program that is stored on the other/remote HR24; the images refresh at a much slower rate than when I'm watching the program locally.

Question for those who have played around with the HR44, and have used HR24's with Whole Home: how do the refresh rates of the HR44's clients compare to the HR24 being viewed remotely from another HR24?

Or for anyone who's played around with HR44 + clients, how do the ff/rwd refresh rates of the clients compare to those of the HR44 viewed locally?

Thanks!


Excellent question! My only complaint about MRV is that when using Fast Forward the ‘correction’ when you come out of FFWD over MRV gets longer the longer you FFWD. Once you come out of FFWD and it jumps back it can sometimes be a full 30 seconds or more – then when you try to FFWD again it will jump even further back when it comes out of FFWD.

This is only a problem on a MRV client – it works as expected when watching a local recording.

I haven’t seen an HR34 or HR44 with any clients – C31 or other MRV clients… Is the ‘Auto-Correct’ when you come out of FFWD still screwy with them?

I have 3 HR24-500s that all do this when viewing a recording from any other HR24-500. It was even worse with the HR22s I used to have.

#258 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,594 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 January 2013 - 06:55 PM

My experience is very similar to Mike Bertelsons, overall watchng via MRV versus on the local DVR is very much the same, except that remote commands take slightly longer (noticeable, but not objectionable to my wife or I).

#259 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 January 2013 - 06:57 PM

My experience is very similar to Mike Bertelsons, overall watchng via MRV versus on the local DVR is very much the same, except that remote commands take slightly longer (noticeable, but not objectionable to my wife or I).


I usually use FFWDx3 - do you use FastForward?

#260 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,594 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 January 2013 - 07:00 PM

I sometimes use FF 3x (and even 4x if I'm going far enough), but most often use stacked SLIPs to pass commercials.

#261 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 20 January 2013 - 07:05 PM

I sometimes use FF 3x (and even 4x if I'm going far enough), but most often use stacked SLIPs to pass commercials.


I haven't had trouble with SLIP but it is a constant problem with the 'auto-correct' (since MRV was in Beta) using FF 3x. The further you FF the bigger the auto-correct.

I just can't seem to get used to SLIP and have been using FFx3 to skip through commercials etc...

#262 OFFLINE   Mr. Tact

Mr. Tact

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2012

Posted 20 January 2013 - 09:23 PM

Personally, I would prefer to see a 2 TB drive rather than wireless capabilities.

#263 OFFLINE   Datagg

Datagg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 248 posts
  • LocationMesa, AZ
Joined: May 17, 2009

Posted 20 January 2013 - 11:56 PM

Other than some retailers in Dec 2011, DTV was in Feb 2012.
Mine has worked as it should have since I installed it in Dec 2011.


Congrats.... I got one 3 months ago and had numerous issues. Referred my bro who had the same issues also... The tech warned me of issues too, yet i ignored. Anyways, it all seems good now since last update, but for me when it comes to DTV i wont get any new tech out of the gate until it shows some serious forward momentum, not just a weak step forward and to the side...and time for them to fix the bugs every unit I have ever owned had.

#264 OFFLINE   prefabsprouter

prefabsprouter

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:09 AM

That's why I still ride my horse to work too. Them new cars always have some issue and whatnot, but my horse gets me there just fine. A bit slower, but it gets me yonder without problems.


Awesome! LOOOOOOL!!!!

#265 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:06 AM

Right now my setup consists of two HR24's connected via WholeHome. I'm pretty satisfied with the performance EXCEPT for one thing that bugs me: when I'm fast forwarding/rewinding a program that is stored on the other/remote HR24; the images refresh at a much slower rate than when I'm watching the program locally.


Not quite sure what you mean, but I've got nine 24s on my MRV and don't see any problems with any of them. Perhaps you could clarify?

Rich

#266 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:11 AM

Excellent question! My only complaint about MRV is that when using Fast Forward the ‘correction’ when you come out of FFWD over MRV gets longer the longer you FFWD. Once you come out of FFWD and it jumps back it can sometimes be a full 30 seconds or more – then when you try to FFWD again it will jump even further back when it comes out of FFWD.

This is only a problem on a MRV client – it works as expected when watching a local recording.

I haven’t seen an HR34 or HR44 with any clients – C31 or other MRV clients… Is the ‘Auto-Correct’ when you come out of FFWD still screwy with them?

I have 3 HR24-500s that all do this when viewing a recording from any other HR24-500. It was even worse with the HR22s I used to have.


Never have that problem using the Skip option. If I FF, I usually see a 90 second auto-correct, which is way too long. Easier to Skip, in most instances.

Rich

#267 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,487 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:12 AM

Never have that problem using the Skip option. If I FF, I usually see a 90 second auto-correct, which is way too long. Easier to Skip, in most instances.
Rich


I hardly ever use FF because I just Love the 30 Second Skip Button. :)
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#268 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:12 AM

I usually use FFWDx3 - do you use FastForward?


I think that's the same speed as the 30 Second Skip. The Skip is just easier because it never auto-corrects.

Rich

#269 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,487 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:13 AM

I think that's the same speed as the 30 Second Skip. The Skip is just easier because it never auto-corrects.
Rich


EXACTLY!!! :D
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#270 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:19 AM

EXACTLY!!! :D


I really thought the Skip would be used more than the FF option.

Rich

#271 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,524 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:21 AM

I only use slip on sporting events (between pitches/plays). For commercials, it's always ffX3

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#272 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,543 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:21 AM

Also skip over ffw for me

JACK,
 
 


#273 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,223 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:49 AM

I hardly ever use FF because I just Love the 30 Second Skip Button. :)


There's a FF button?? :D

I only use Skip, both forward and backward.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#274 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,512 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:56 AM

There's a FF button?? :D

I only use Skip, both forward and backward.


I use FF to blow thru half-time during football games. As soon as I see the team on the field, I hit Play and watch in amazement as it goes way back and I have to hit the Skip button 3 or 4 times. They really ought to correct the auto-correct.

Rich

#275 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,524 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:00 PM

I don't know why yours does that Rich. Auto-correct typically backs up about 15 seconds on FFX3. If yours is backing up 1.5 - 2 minutes, there's something wrong.

I've tried using slip, but just don't like it. Regardless of how many times I push it, I either end up watching 15 - 20 seconds of a commercial or I miss 15 - 20 seconds of the program and then have to rewind.

With FFX3, I see zero commercial (unless I choose to) and don't miss any of the program. I get it to stop exactly where I want it to (with the exception of the HR34 which is a bit different).

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000




Protected By... spam firewall...And...