Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

DBSTalk Exclusive First Look: HR44-700 Genie


  • Please log in to reply
671 replies to this topic

#426 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 01 February 2013 - 12:49 PM

Thanks VOS. I could have confused the terminology. Because I have 8 ports on the splitter I thought that meant swm-8.

So to get more, I likely need an LNB replacement with an extra coax feed down from it?

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST: Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#427 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,195 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 February 2013 - 12:55 PM

Thanks VOS. I could have confused the terminology. Because I have 8 ports on the splitter I thought that meant swm-8.

So to get more, I likely need an LNB replacement with an extra coax feed down from it?

If you need more than 8, you'll need to have an LNB with four coax to the SWiM-16, and two coax from the -16.
A.K.A VOS

#428 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,219 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 01 February 2013 - 02:30 PM

On second thought doesn't the Hr24-500 have an internal Deca? Which means I would need an external Deca or cinema connect with the HR34?


The HR24 does have an internal DECA adapter. However it does not have the ability to bridge your DECA network to your home internet network. Do you currently have whole home DVR? If so do you also have access to On Demand, TV Apps, Pandora, You Tube, etc? If so then you already have a Cincema Connect Kit (CCK, or WCCK) somewhere in your DirecTV system bridging the two networks together. Since you already have that and SWM then the DirecTV computer system knows that they don't have to send you another CCK (or WCCK) to go along with the HR34.

The HR34 doesn't need an external DECA and Ethernet connection will act as the bridge for all your receivers connected to your DECA cloud. It doesn't need the CCK.
Mike


We know this, and some DirecTV techs/CSRs know this, but I'm pretty sure DirecTV's official stance, and the way the installers are supposed to install it, is to still use a CCK and not to use a HR34 as the DECA bridge.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#429 OFFLINE   Bajanjack

Bajanjack

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 681 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2006

Posted 01 February 2013 - 02:39 PM

The HR24 does have an internal DECA adapter. However it does not have the ability to bridge your DECA network to your home internet network. Do you currently have whole home DVR? If so do you also have access to On Demand, TV Apps, Pandora, You Tube, etc? If so then you already have a Cincema Connect Kit (CCK, or WCCK) somewhere in your DirecTV system bridging the two networks together. Since you already have that and SWM then the DirecTV computer system knows that they don't have to send you another CCK (or WCCK) to go along with the HR34.



We know this, and some DirecTV techs/CSRs know this, but I'm pretty sure DirecTV's official stance, and the way the installers are supposed to install it, is to still use a CCK and not to use a HR34 as the DECA bridge.



I do have whole home DVR and access to all you noted...my HR24 is hardwired to my network.....I don't have a CCK
HR34-700, HR20-700, HR21-100,HR24-500,H24-100, R16-300

#430 OFFLINE   Bajanjack

Bajanjack

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 681 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2006

Posted 01 February 2013 - 03:35 PM

I'm quite certain you're not getting an HR44.


You were right!....Just got my HR34 delivered!.......I'm still a happy camper!
HR34-700, HR20-700, HR21-100,HR24-500,H24-100, R16-300

#431 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,793 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 February 2013 - 05:56 PM

For swm-16, I've been googling it and it looks like one of those bigger old style switches. Looks like you have to have more than 1 line from the dish? 2 to 4 lines? Is that correct?

Yes, 4 coax from dish to SWM16.

How is that "Single Wire" if its more like Double or Quad wire. Or am I looking at the wrong thing in google image search?


Four coax from dish to SWM16. Single wire from SWM16 to any given receiver or DVR. So you would still feed a 5 tuner Genie with a single coax (from the SWM16 to the Genie), even though you need 4 coax from the dish to the SWM16.

If you have an SWM LNB, then it's single wire all the way from the dish. But if you have an external SWM8 or SWM16 multiswitch, then the "single wire" part is only from that point out to the receiver(s).

#432 OFFLINE   top_speed

top_speed

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2010

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:27 AM

You were right!....Just got my HR34 delivered!.......I'm still a happy camper!


No. 1 thing... keep yourself happy! enjoy her :)
Directv 'Pioneer Member' since 1994

#433 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,012 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 02 February 2013 - 10:25 AM

You were right!....Just got my HR34 delivered!.......I'm still a happy camper!


And now you know how much a CSR knows. Something to consider when dealing with them.

Rich

#434 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 02 February 2013 - 01:16 PM

You can add an external hard drive with any of the DVRs. It replaces the internal drive, doesn't add to the internal storage.

I'm sorry and really don't want to beat a dead horse. It's none of my business why any company decides how to do what they do or why the do it that way. But why oh why did "D" decide, as you say they did, to use a technology that forces an external hard drive to replace the internal hard drive instead of add to the internal hard drive? If that technology is the eSATA connection vs. the USB connection then the question still stands. It seems unlikely that "E" spends more money on their DVR's so I have to assume that cost differences in technology is not a factor.

#435 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 02 February 2013 - 01:18 PM

I'm sorry and really don't want to beat a dead horse. It's none of my business why any company decides how to do what they do or why the do it that way. But why oh why did "D" decide, as you say they did, to use a technology that forces an external hard drive to replace the internal hard drive instead of add to the internal hard drive? If that technology is the eSATA connection vs. the USB connection then the question still stands.


The quick answer is that to extend the storage, you'd need to RAID the drives, and the hardware does not support RAID.
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#436 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 02 February 2013 - 01:45 PM

The quick answer is that to extend the storage, you'd need to RAID the drives, and the hardware does not support RAID.


I don't think they would need to support any kind of RAID - they would just need to update their software to support additional storage on a 2nd drive.

I'm sure in the current software you'd be correct - the system needs to 'think' it is running on one drive. Software updates could fix that but I doubt that is likely to happen but I guess you never know. Current standard DVRs won't support drives over 2TB either. At least with the HR34/44 you can use bigger drives... But still only 1 unfortunately.

#437 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,489 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 February 2013 - 02:12 PM

Directv doesn't officially Support the External Hard Drive so if something happens you are on your own but if Directv allowed you to marry the External Drive to the Internal Drive then if you had problems Directv would have problems saying that they couldn't help fix the problem because they don't officially Support the External Drive.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#438 ONLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,324 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 February 2013 - 02:17 PM

I don't think they would need to support any kind of RAID - they would just need to update their software to support additional storage on a 2nd drive.


And just how do you think that multiple drives could be used to create one big space without either software (shiver) or hardware RAID?
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#439 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:28 PM

And just how do you think that multiple drives could be used to create one big space without either software (shiver) or hardware RAID?


Ah, how about an update to the software so it can use extra free space on a 2nd drive to store recordings? Just like I said in my post. I know that is horribly complicated for DirecTV engineers but maybe the borrow a few from somewhere?

I know you like to argue - geez...:grin:

Plenty - ok - I'd think damn near all - operating systems can use multiple hard drives without raid of any kind. Including the OS that DirecTV uses. DirecTV has just chosen not to put that additional space to use.

#440 ONLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,324 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:39 PM

Ah, how about an update to the software so it can use extra free space on a 2nd drive to store recordings?


Again, how do you do that without at least software RAID?

I know you like to argue - geez...:grin:


Ummm, no. I just ask questions. Just because you don't like them doesn't mean they are argumentative.

Plenty - ok - I'd think damn near all - operating systems can use multiple hard drives without raid of any kind.


Not when you're taking 2 devices and combining them to make one space/partition.

Even Tivo's way of "blessing" drives to make them one partition was software RAID.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#441 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,994 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:49 PM

Okay, let's get back to discussing the HR 44

:backtotop

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#442 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:52 PM

Again, how do you do that without at least software RAID?



Ummm, no. I just ask questions. Just because you don't like them doesn't mean they are argumentative.



Not when you're taking 2 devices and combining them to make one space/partition.

Even Tivo's way of "blessing" drives to make them one partition was software RAID.


What is so difficult here? If 'this' free space is full then use 'this' free space....

The OS itself has no problem supporting multiple drives.

It doesn't matter how Tivo does it or anyone else for that matter. If DirecTV wanted to support 'Adding' space rather than replacing the internal drive with an external drive it would be a simple thing. It isn't finding a cure for cancer or sending a man to mars. An IBM pc from 1981 could store data in multiple places - and so can DirecTV. They have just chosen not to.

I'd love to have the HR44 support just pluggin in external drives - even if was just like Dish does it....

#443 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,217 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:55 PM

As Mike said ... eSATA elsewhere.
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#444 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:57 PM

The genie doesn't support an EHD? Do any Direct boxes support EHD? How big is the genie HD, 1 TB?

#445 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    Chocolate Anyone?

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 9,484 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 02 February 2013 - 04:02 PM

The genie doesn't support an EHD? Do any Direct boxes support EHD? How big is the genie HD, 1 TB?


You absolutely can put an external HDD on the Genie, I don't know what the size limit is because nobody has hit it yet.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#446 ONLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,324 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 February 2013 - 04:03 PM

The genie doesn't support an EHD? Do any Direct boxes support EHD? How big is the genie HD, 1 TB?


All of the DirecTV HD DVRs support eSATA drives from the standpoint that they will work. They do not however support them if you call in because of an issue with an eSATA drive.

A Genie has a 1TB drive but will support much greater, no limit, via eSATA. I personally have used up to 12TB on my HR34.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#447 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 02 February 2013 - 05:34 PM

Didn't mean to start a @##@#en contest. Just wonder why "E" can do it and it seems logical that many would want it, and "D" doesn't do it. Like Mike said, from a engineering and technical stand point it would be an easy thing to accomplish. For me this very much pertains to the HR44. They made upgrades or changes from the HR34 and this would be a big incentive for me to go for the HR44.

#448 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:00 PM

I had hoped they would change it once they got past the 2TB limit.

I'm sure it just isn't high on their priority list.

Maybe some day.... A guess its one step at a time.:)

#449 ONLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,324 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:11 PM

Just wonder why "E" can do it and it seems logical that many would want it, and "D" doesn't do it.


It could be something as simple as the same reason they chose black and blue for the GUI colors, they just wanted to.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#450 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 03 February 2013 - 02:18 AM

Just that external power pack alone would create problems space-wise, oh well rearranging would be in order

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?





Protected By... spam firewall...And...