Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

DBSTalk Exclusive First Look: HR44-700 Genie


  • Please log in to reply
671 replies to this topic

#601 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 20 March 2013 - 08:27 AM

Yup, Samsung makes them. They also made the 24-200, a very good HR that seems to be quite rare.

Rich


I've got two. I guess I should feel special. :grin:

(HR24-200s, that is.)
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#602 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,930 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 20 March 2013 - 01:41 PM

Yup, Samsung makes them. They also made the 24-200, a very good HR that seems to be quite rare.

Rich

I have one.

#603 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 20 March 2013 - 01:55 PM

I have HR24-200 and I always felt it to run slightly faster / smoother than a buddies HR24-500.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST: Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#604 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,057 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 20 March 2013 - 02:26 PM

I have one.


I had one, nice machine, had mechanical difficulties. Haven't seen one since.

Rich

#605 OFFLINE   water1

water1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Oct 30, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:02 PM

Anyone know if the new remote will control an A/V receiver, in addition to TV, in the on/off sequence?
John
_____________________________

#606 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,256 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:15 PM

Anyone know if the new remote will control an A/V receiver, in addition to TV, in the on/off sequence?


The RC71 will only control the power for the DIRECTV receiver and the TV, nothing else.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#607 OFFLINE   AppAlum2003

AppAlum2003

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:16 PM

Anyone know if the new remote will control an A/V receiver, in addition to TV, in the on/off sequence?


I got mine installed today.

It will not power off/on all three devices at the same time, just like previous generations.

I was going to try the new remote, but that's a deal-breaker for me.

#608 OFFLINE   top_speed

top_speed

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2010

Posted 02 April 2013 - 06:56 AM

I got mine installed today.


Since we've been floating around here with clients n different dvr models.

Are we talking about the HR44?
Directv 'Pioneer Member' since 1994

#609 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:35 AM

Is the new remote only shipping with HR44's or will they be the default remote for ALL equipment shipped (SD or HD)?

I never held one but I can't say I like it from looks so far. Would of been nice if it slid out to reveal a QWERTY keyboard for ease of entering text in search boxes or opening up a new world of TV apps.

There's a video showing a QWERTY remote and updated software on the Hopper DVR and it looks real slick. Check YouTube, its posted from the rival satellite site. Dish also has a remote locator feature that beeps the remote. I use a similar feature for my iPhone all the time to find where it is. Wish DirecTV remotes had this.

Edited by cypherx, 02 April 2013 - 08:42 AM.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST: Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#610 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,256 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 02 April 2013 - 09:01 AM

Is the new remote only shipping with HR44's or will they be the default remote for ALL equipment shipped (SD or HD)?


My understanding is that the RC71 will go with only the HR44 Genie and C41 MiniGenie clients. Remember you can still use the old controls but only in IR mode.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#611 OFFLINE   itzme

itzme

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,590 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 10 April 2013 - 03:52 PM

Assuming the regional trials are going as expected, and based on previous similar product releases, can anyone make a good estimate on when we might see Solid Signal selling HR44s for national release?

#612 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:15 PM

The RC71 will only control the power for the DIRECTV receiver and the TV, nothing else.

This is one aspect I never thought to look at. This seems like a horrible oversight on "D"s part. Not being able to control the sound level through my AV receiver will be more than a little awkward.

#613 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:21 PM

This is one aspect I never thought to look at. This seems like a horrible oversight on "D"s part. Not being able to control the sound level through my AV receiver will be more than a little awkward.


You can control the volume of your AVR, just not power.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#614 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,113 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:22 PM

You took RAD's statement out of context.
T think that he was referring to the RC71's ability to control power, which is DTV receiver and TV-only, it won't turn an A/V receiver ON and OFF.
The RC71 will however adjust volume on supported A/V receivers.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#615 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,256 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:23 PM

This is one aspect I never thought to look at. This seems like a horrible oversight on "D"s part. Not being able to control the sound level through my AV receiver will be more than a little awkward.


When setting up the AVR you can tell it to lock the volume control to the AVR but once you do that you can't control the TV's volume.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#616 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 10 April 2013 - 06:38 PM

You can control the volume of your AVR, just not power.

That still seems like a very short sighted omission on "D"s part. I mean how much would it have taken, or cost, in the design of the company's flagship HD DVR, the HR44, to allow for turning on and off the AVR power? My AVR remote and any TV remote, and all of "E"s remotes and any universal remote can operate multiple devices. The Genie is marketed as a Whole Home DVR and really is an ultra high tech piece of home entertainment equipment. Restricting it this way seems very counter productive, especially considering the quick replacement of the HR34 with the HR44 and still neglecting this feature.

#617 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,327 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 10 April 2013 - 06:55 PM

That still seems like a very short sighted omission on "D"s part.


Agreed
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#618 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 11 April 2013 - 10:43 AM

You took RAD's statement out of context.
T think that he was referring to the RC71's ability to control power, which is DTV receiver and TV-only, it won't turn an A/V receiver ON and OFF.
The RC71 will however adjust volume on supported A/V receivers.


My RC71 will turn off my Denon, TV and DVR with one button push, as well as the obvious, controlling the volume.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#619 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,828 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 11 April 2013 - 11:03 AM

My RC71 turns on/off my TV and HR44-700, but not my audio receiver. That's OK, because my Panasonic TV turns the Pioneer receiver on/off, via an "HDMI control link".

What I don't have is something that automatically selects the correct input on the Pioneer. If it was last left in DVD mode, e.g., I have to use another remote to reset it to the HR44 input.
/steve

#620 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    Chocolate Anyone?

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 9,485 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 11 April 2013 - 11:19 AM

My RC71 turns on/off my TV and HR44-700, but not my audio receiver. That's OK, because my Panasonic TV turns the Pioneer receiver on/off, via an "HDMI control link".

What I don't have is something that automatically selects the correct input on the Pioneer. If it was last left in DVD mode, e.g., I have to use another remote to reset it to the HR44 input.


That is a bummer, on my Onkyo and using the old remote I could move the slider and choose my input using the numbers on the remote.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#621 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,828 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 11 April 2013 - 11:26 AM

That is a bummer, on my Onkyo and using the old remote I could move the slider and choose my input using the numbers on the remote.

Good news is we watch the HR44 99% of the time, so it's very rare I have to change inputs.
/steve

#622 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 11 April 2013 - 11:41 AM

Good news is we watch the HR44 99% of the time, so it's very rare I have to change inputs.

But if you channel your sound through your AVR don't you need to use the AVR's remote to turn on and off your AVR? Some here say they can control the power on/off to their AVR and some say they can't. Confusing. I realize that not everybody uses a AVR but then again, if you don't, you're not realizing the benefits of most broadcast TV being available in 5.1.

#623 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,219 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 11 April 2013 - 01:51 PM

The ones saying they are powering off their AVR with the remote either are moving the slider over to the AV1/AV2 position and using the power commands, or they have a TV and AVR that have HDMI CEC controls turned on. If they have HDMI CEC controls turned on the remote isn't actually turning the AVR off, the TV is, what happens is the remote tells the TV to turn off and then the TV talks to the receiver over the HDMI cable and tells it to turn off too. If both your TV and AVR don't have HDMI CEC, and have it on, then it isn't going to work.

Once again though I have to say. If you are spending the money on an AVR, speakers, etc. spend the money on a progammable, activity based remote like a Harmony or URC. You won't regret it in the long run.

As far as I'm concerned CES companies should just stop supplying remotes with the devices, just include the IR reciever, and make the IR commands available and let us supply our own remotes. At least maybe on the high end stuff. I honestly have a zip lock bag with about 20 remotes in it just sitting in a tote in my storage room because none of them get used at all. I have 3 Harmony remotes that control everything in all 3 rooms, and it is so much easier.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#624 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,828 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 11 April 2013 - 02:23 PM

But if you channel your sound through your AVR don't you need to use the AVR's remote to turn on and off your AVR?

What Beerstalker said. My TV actually sends on/off commands to the AVR via HDMI control signals.
/steve

#625 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,057 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 12 April 2013 - 10:58 AM

What Beerstalker said. My TV actually sends on/off commands to the AVR via HDMI control signals.


As do mine.

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...