Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

DBSTalk Exclusive First Look: HR44-700 Genie


  • Please log in to reply
671 replies to this topic

#651 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,211 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 04 June 2013 - 07:45 PM

Think I've seen that WD20EURS recently for $88. AV-GP and best.

Just looked and $94 today. Great drive, there's also bigger.
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#652 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,335 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 05 June 2013 - 09:42 AM

 

So the best thing is to by a drive and the enclosure and build my own.  Might be the way to go.  eSatas externals are hard to come by.  This seems to be the only one.

Fantom Drives GreenDrive 3TB eSATA

 

 

I wouldn't trust a Fantom.  Too many problems.  Try this.   And they are on sale today.  Easily returnable if it won't work with a 3TB drive.     

 

Rich



#653 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,196 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 06 June 2013 - 02:46 PM

I wouldn't trust a Fantom.  Too many problems.  Try this.   And they are on sale today.  Easily returnable if it won't work with a 3TB drive.     

 

Rich

 

It will work with 3TB on an HR44-500.  I know that without a doubt because that's what I'm now running.  I put my RAID enclosures to work for me on a NAS setup instead.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#654 OFFLINE   Special Ed

Special Ed

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 06 June 2013 - 07:13 PM

I got the Fantom Drives GreenDrive 3TB eSATA and it is working great.   I don't pay too much attention to HD reviews because there will always be about 20% 1 star reviews saying the drive fails, crashes etc... it goes with the territory.  The happy people go about life and rarely leave a review on a drive that just works, those that have a bad experience let off steam with 1 star rants.   My main concern was when I plugged in the drive would it be compatible with the Genie and take advantage of all its 3TB glory and it does. 

 

I have ~10 external drives I bought over the years and each one had lots of bad reviews.  So far I have been lucky but eventually one will fail, eventually they all do.  As drives get larger and cheaper I tend to replace the older smaller drives with larger newer ones.  ie.. 750 gb  to 1 tb to 2 tb ect...  Now I am going to 3 and 4 TB drives as I have several redundant backups of my pc I use for my business and about 450 BD and DVD movies backed up.


Edited by Special Ed, 06 June 2013 - 07:19 PM.


#655 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 07 June 2013 - 11:07 PM

Maybe it's me but skip ahead and back is not as smooth or fast as the HR24, even fast forward 4x speed is not fast enough.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#656 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,983 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2013 - 09:57 AM

I think 4x FW is very fast...too fast actually.  I use 3x and can usually stop it right where I want.  I can't do that with 4x.

 

I just compared it to my HR24-500 and it's just as or even faster.  Maybe it's just me though.

 

Mike


µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#657 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,314 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 08 June 2013 - 10:12 AM

No, it ain't just you, Mike. I, too, use 3x almost exclusively. 4x seems to sometimes skip large chunks- i.e., to me, seems erratic± even if I could stop it just where I want consistently, it's not a good choice for me right now. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#658 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 08 June 2013 - 10:44 AM

What about when using FF x3 while viewing a recording over MRV?  The HR20\21\22\23\24x don't handle it the same as local recordings.  Does the HR44?



#659 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,983 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 June 2013 - 10:57 AM

What about when using FF x3 while viewing a recording over MRV?  The HR20\21\22\23\24x don't handle it the same as local recordings.  Does the HR44?

I really can't tell the difference between local and MRV on the HR44.  On my HR21 it is definitely snappier with local recordings.

 

It does take a few seconds longer to start the recording but trick play is identical.

 

Mike 


µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#660 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,620 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 08 June 2013 - 11:06 AM

My 44 is consistently the fastest receiver I have. Response time to any menu choice or button press is almost instantaneous.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using DBSTalk mobile app


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#661 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 08 June 2013 - 09:35 PM

No, it ain't just you, Mike. I, too, use 3x almost exclusively. 4x seems to sometimes skip large chunks- i.e., to me, seems erratic± even if I could stop it just where I want consistently, it's not a good choice for me right now.

That seems to happen on the HR44-700 too on 4x, not so sure on 3x since I don't use that very often
Now on the HR24 is a different story which is so much better in handling Trickplay even on MRV recordings.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#662 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 09 June 2013 - 02:00 PM

I really can't tell the difference between local and MRV on the HR44.  On my HR21 it is definitely snappier with local recordings.

 

It does take a few seconds longer to start the recording but trick play is identical.

 

Mike 

But is the auto-correct the same?  With the all the other DVRs I have verified that the auto-correct time is not the same over MRV.  The longer run at 3x FF the further it jumps back coming out of FF.



#663 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,983 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 July 2013 - 09:47 AM

But is the auto-correct the same? With the all the other DVRs I have verified that the auto-correct time is not the same over MRV. The longer run at 3x FF the further it jumps back coming out of FF.

My experience has been that auto-correct via MRV has been variable. Sometimes it works fine and others it is just plain terrible.

For me the variability doesn’t seem to be related to which receivers are involved or how old the recording is so I can’t say what’s causing the issue.

Most of the time it's workable though and not really that big a deal for me. It ain’t perfect but it hasn't really interfered with watching a recording...it’s better than not having it all.  :grin:

YMMV. :)

Mike


µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#664 OFFLINE   TMullenJr

TMullenJr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 425 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 11 July 2013 - 11:12 AM

Does anybody know what SATA interface type the HR-44 supports for the internal drive?  1/5, 3 or 6 gbit/s?


Edited by TMullenJr, 11 July 2013 - 11:13 AM.


#665 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 857 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 12 July 2013 - 05:55 PM

Pretty sure it's 3Gbps - plenty fast for this purpose.


Steve

My Setup


#666 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,314 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 July 2013 - 06:28 PM

Yes, and in multiples. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#667 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 466 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 08:58 AM

How do you change inputs with RC 71 on HR44?



#668 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,176 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 22 July 2013 - 09:00 AM

How do you change inputs with RC 71 on HR44?

Hold the ENTER button for a few seconds, that should bring up the input menu on your TV.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#669 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 466 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 09:10 AM

Hold the ENTER button for a few seconds, that should bring up the input menu on your TV.

Okay, thanks. I assume that will also work when using PS3?



#670 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,921 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 03:55 PM

Okay, thanks. I assume that will also work when using PS3?

Yes, as long as you are referring changing the input using the RC71


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#671 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 466 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 03:57 PM

Yes, as long as you are referring changing the input using the RC71

Same thing with older remote used for HR24?



#672 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,061 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 22 July 2013 - 08:40 PM

Old remotes had separate tv input button on them.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...