Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

DBSTalk Exclusive First Look: HR44-700 Genie


  • Please log in to reply
671 replies to this topic

#661 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,549 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 08 June 2013 - 09:35 PM

No, it ain't just you, Mike. I, too, use 3x almost exclusively. 4x seems to sometimes skip large chunks- i.e., to me, seems erratic± even if I could stop it just where I want consistently, it's not a good choice for me right now.

That seems to happen on the HR44-700 too on 4x, not so sure on 3x since I don't use that very often
Now on the HR24 is a different story which is so much better in handling Trickplay even on MRV recordings.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 
Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#662 OFFLINE   Mike Greer

Mike Greer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,612 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 09 June 2013 - 02:00 PM

I really can't tell the difference between local and MRV on the HR44.  On my HR21 it is definitely snappier with local recordings.

 

It does take a few seconds longer to start the recording but trick play is identical.

 

Mike 

But is the auto-correct the same?  With the all the other DVRs I have verified that the auto-correct time is not the same over MRV.  The longer run at 3x FF the further it jumps back coming out of FF.



#663 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,859 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 July 2013 - 09:47 AM

But is the auto-correct the same? With the all the other DVRs I have verified that the auto-correct time is not the same over MRV. The longer run at 3x FF the further it jumps back coming out of FF.

My experience has been that auto-correct via MRV has been variable. Sometimes it works fine and others it is just plain terrible.

For me the variability doesn’t seem to be related to which receivers are involved or how old the recording is so I can’t say what’s causing the issue.

Most of the time it's workable though and not really that big a deal for me. It ain’t perfect but it hasn't really interfered with watching a recording...it’s better than not having it all.  :grin:

YMMV. :)

Mike


µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#664 OFFLINE   TMullenJr

TMullenJr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 425 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 11 July 2013 - 11:12 AM

Does anybody know what SATA interface type the HR-44 supports for the internal drive?  1/5, 3 or 6 gbit/s?


Edited by TMullenJr, 11 July 2013 - 11:13 AM.


#665 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 846 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 12 July 2013 - 05:55 PM

Pretty sure it's 3Gbps - plenty fast for this purpose.


Steve

My Setup


#666 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,967 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 July 2013 - 06:28 PM

Yes, and in multiples. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#667 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 08:58 AM

How do you change inputs with RC 71 on HR44?



#668 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,986 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 22 July 2013 - 09:00 AM

How do you change inputs with RC 71 on HR44?

Hold the ENTER button for a few seconds, that should bring up the input menu on your TV.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#669 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 09:10 AM

Hold the ENTER button for a few seconds, that should bring up the input menu on your TV.

Okay, thanks. I assume that will also work when using PS3?



#670 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,330 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 03:55 PM

Okay, thanks. I assume that will also work when using PS3?

Yes, as long as you are referring changing the input using the RC71


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#671 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 03:57 PM

Yes, as long as you are referring changing the input using the RC71

Same thing with older remote used for HR24?



#672 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,042 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 22 July 2013 - 08:40 PM

Old remotes had separate tv input button on them.




spam firewall