Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

DBSTalk Exclusive First Look: HR44-700 Genie


  • Please log in to reply
671 replies to this topic

#101 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,931 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:33 AM

They changed the additional receiver fee to an additional TV fee. Same price, different more accurate name. You would pay the monthly fee when using a C31/41 or a TV with built in RVU.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#102 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,616 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:52 AM

I am out of contract, so can't wait to upgrade to HR44. A few questions:

1. Does the HR44 allow use of the HDMI and the Component outputs at the same time? (slingbox)
2. Is there caller ID and will it show up on all the TVs?
3. Will we still have to pay for multiple recievers with each C31(41)?

TIA


Yes
Yes
Yes.

The C31s are charged as extra Samsung TVs/RVUs.

"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#103 OFFLINE   Jacob Braun

Jacob Braun

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 975 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 11 January 2013 - 11:17 AM

I am out of contract, so can't wait to upgrade to HR44. A few questions:

1. Does the HR44 allow use of the HDMI and the Component outputs at the same time? (slingbox)
2. Is there caller ID and will it show up on all the TVs?
3. Will we still have to pay for multiple recievers with each C31(41)?

TIA


1. You'll get issues on channels that enforce HDCP, just like you would now on an HR2x with HDMI and Component cables at the same time. This is happening only on the On Demand and premiums right now.
2. It will show up on all of the RVU clients...so on the HR44+C31s. If you have other (H25, etc) receivers not connected to a phone line, they will not get caller ID.
3. Of course!
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#104 OFFLINE   HinterXGames

HinterXGames

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 313 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2012

Posted 11 January 2013 - 12:31 PM

Yes on the reciever. As a reminder, that 6$ fee is for sharing the programming (which is why you don't pay it on the primary, as you pay the full package price on that reciever). It is not for renting/leasing/equipment at all.

#105 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,665 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 11 January 2013 - 02:53 PM

I want to mention one more time that the HR44-700 is not available at this time, please do not call DIRECTV and ask for it.


What's the time table on avaliablity? I'm off contract and have been getting flyers from COX and Dish. Centurylink is also rolling out their Prism TV service here in Phoenix, so lots of free offers from them on a daily basis.

#106 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,974 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 03:13 PM

What's the time table on avaliablity? I'm off contract and have been getting flyers from COX and Dish. Centurylink is also rolling out their Prism TV service here in Phoenix, so lots of free offers from them on a daily basis.

As has been poster already, there is no timetable. We haven't been told when they will become available.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#107 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,974 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 03:14 PM

Can you use an HR44 as a normal DVR in a whole home configuration and watch its content on the other DVRs? I'd like five tuners and 1tb, but already have a working network of whole home DVR's that all talk to each other perfectly.

It can be used as any other DVR...except it will connect to your internet router wirelessly. :D

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#108 OFFLINE   Krazeyman

Krazeyman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Posted 11 January 2013 - 03:21 PM

It can be used as any other DVR...except it will connect to your internet router wirelessly. :D

Mike


Keep in mind as well that it not only connects to the internet wirelessly, but it also feeds the internet into the swm which will eliminate the need of having a cck-w. So it will allow all of your receivers to get connected to the internet.

#109 OFFLINE   Tisby

Tisby

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2010

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:05 PM

So is it safe to say it works with AM21s? Does it also scan for channels like the 34 does? I know the guide doesn't populate for the extra channels, but it's still nice to have them there.

#110 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,161 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:07 PM

As others have said, great box. UI speed is the best so far and with no fan running all the time very quiet also.

And yes it works with AM21's and does channel scan like the HR34.


So is it safe to say it works with AM21s? Does it also scan for channels like the 34 does? I know the guide doesn't populate for the extra channels, but it's still nice to have them there.

Answered already.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#111 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,974 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 06:07 PM

So is it safe to say it works with AM21s? Does it also scan for channels like the 34 does? I know the guide doesn't populate for the extra channels, but it's still nice to have them there.

Yes it works with the AM21 and it scans like the HR34.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#112 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,616 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 09:33 PM

Yes it works with the AM21 and it scans like the HR34.

Mike


But the power set up is different.

"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#113 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,974 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 09:36 PM

But the power set up is different.

You are right. :)

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#114 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 969 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 12 January 2013 - 07:45 AM

Keep in mind as well that it not only connects to the internet wirelessly, but it also feeds the internet into the swm which will eliminate the need of having a cck-w. So it will allow all of your receivers to get connected to the internet.


does it bridge the internet into the swm? would the other recivers get an ip from your router or from the reciever feeding the internet?

#115 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,092 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 09:43 AM

does it bridge the internet into the swm? would the other recivers get an ip from your router or from the reciever feeding the internet?

Yes, but I'd hard wire it if it was going to be the interface for multiple DVRs. Get a few MRV streams going on, then a few VOD downloads, could get to be a lot for a wireless network.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#116 OFFLINE   RoyGBiv

RoyGBiv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 655 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 10:44 AM

Yes it works with the AM21 and it scans like the HR34.

Mike


Glad to hear it. This was going to be my question, because looking at the pics I did not see a USB port.

SMK

#117 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,092 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:04 AM

Glad to hear it. This was going to be my question, because looking at the pics I did not see a USB port.

SMK

Between the phone jack and ethernet port, above the eSATA connector.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#118 OFFLINE   RoyGBiv

RoyGBiv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 655 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:12 AM

Between the phone jack and ethernet port, above the eSATA connector.


Sorry. I just enlarged the pictures and could see the USB port.

SMK

#119 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,340 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:12 AM

But the power set up is different.

Yes...the different 2-pin power connector is one of the first things that is noticed when examining the back panel, along with the return of the support for both optical and coax audio outputs (when compared to the HR34).
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#120 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 589 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 12 January 2013 - 02:16 PM

Wonder if one would be able to get a 44 to go with a 34 (and get rid of my HR22 & HR24)??
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#121 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,838 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 12 January 2013 - 02:19 PM

Yes, but I'd hard wire it if it was going to be the interface for multiple DVRs. Get a few MRV streams going on, then a few VOD downloads, could get to be a lot for a wireless network.


Um, problem with that assert action. No Whole Home Service will go over the wireless, only Video On Demand.

#122 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,838 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 12 January 2013 - 02:22 PM

Wonder if one would be able to get a 44 to go with a 34 (and get rid of my HR22 & HR24)??


Not at this time. But hopefully someday.

#123 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,201 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 12 January 2013 - 02:36 PM

Wonder if one would be able to get a 44 to go with a 34 (and get rid of my HR22 & HR24)??

That's the ultimate setup for some, his and hers beast DVRs, along with a few speedy H25's, a rockin setup someday. Or even two 44's if/when allowed. Along with a nomad, and Slingbox, awesomeness.
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#124 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,092 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 02:43 PM

Um, problem with that assert action. No Whole Home Service will go over the wireless, only Video On Demand.


My C31 connected via WCCK does. :)

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#125 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,340 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 12 January 2013 - 03:05 PM

My C31 connected via WCCK does. :)

Yup. I've seen that work firsthand.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996




Protected By... spam firewall...And...