Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 Genie, version 0x05FD - Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
181 replies to this topic

#176 OFFLINE   jacksonm30354

jacksonm30354

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 618 posts
  • LocationAtlanta
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 13 March 2013 - 10:06 AM

Hell's Kitchen recorded on WAGA 5 (FOX) in Atlanta 3/12/2013 8PM-10PM, hung at the 1hr 5 minute mark during playback. I got the keep/delete message after a while. The status bar indicates the recording was the correct 2 hours. I reset the HR34 and it still hung at the same place.

Americast 1999-2001

DirecTv   2001-2010 3 HR22s, 1 R22

FoxTel    2010-2011 2 iQHDs

DirecTv   2012-2014 HR34, 2 C31-700s, H25

Comcast   2014-     Tivo Roamio Pro, 3 Tivo Minis, 2 Motorola DTAs.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#177 OFFLINE   sbergstc

sbergstc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 121 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 13 March 2013 - 11:12 AM

Hi all,

I've been away from the forum for several years, but now I'm back with questions about the Genie. Finally decided to get one after delaying because of an anticipated out of state relocation. The move still hasn't taken place and I don't want to wait any longer...

My question is related to the mix of TV models... My primary TV is a JVC that is obviously not RVU capable and the 2nd is a Samsung ES6150 that is. I just got off the phone ordering a Genie and a client, but I'm unsure whether I'll actually need the client and installation of a new cable to that room. The rep was knowledgeable enough, but getting irritated with my questions and wanted to finish up and move on, so I just placed the order and decided to come here for the info knowing that this is the best place anyway.

I had initially thought that I could hook the HR34 to the JVC and it would work with the Samsung without any additional equipment, but the D-tv rep said no, ALL TV's had to be RVU in order to use only the HR34.

Can I setup the HR34 the way I originally thought or do I need the client?
Are there other RVU devices yet besides Samsung TV's?

Thanks in advance for your response,
SBerg
"...remember, no matter where you go, there you are!" Buckaroo Banzai :grin:

#178 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,202 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 13 March 2013 - 11:29 AM

All TV's don't need to be RVU, you can mix and match. The Samsung TV will need a coax run to it and DIRECTV will install a DECA-BB to connect it. Since you'll still pay the $6.00 for the Samsung TV I recommend that you go with the C31 client on the Samsung and not go with the built in client. I have tried the Samsung RVU client and much prefer the C31 over it due to bugs and performance issues.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#179 OFFLINE   sbergstc

sbergstc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 121 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 13 March 2013 - 11:46 AM

So I don't actually NEED the client... I thought so... I appreciate the recommendation to keep the client. I'll do that instead... like you said, if you're still paying the $6 might as well get the best results.
Thx
"...remember, no matter where you go, there you are!" Buckaroo Banzai :grin:

#180 OFFLINE   sbergstc

sbergstc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 121 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 13 March 2013 - 04:40 PM

How long does it take for a new product to rollout everywhere? Or how long before D-tv is shipping/installing the Hr44, if that's not the same question? What are the first 10 markets? I'm in DesMoines IA and I bet not its the top ten :( Having 2nd thoughts about my Hr34 order install next week seeing that the rollout begins end of this month... unless that's inaccurate info.
Thx.
"...remember, no matter where you go, there you are!" Buckaroo Banzai :grin:

#181 OFFLINE   SteelDog

SteelDog

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2007

Posted 14 March 2013 - 02:01 AM

So still experiencing horrible performance using FF/rewind and I am getting random video freezes whenever I play content from another DVR in the house. It's consistently freezing at random times. It's incredibly annoying.

Not sure if I should call and get a replacement unit or simply wait it out after the next release.

#182 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,435 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 14 March 2013 - 06:26 AM

Steeldog - if by "horrible performance" you mean that the HR34 often jumps forward instead of back when you "play" after FF than then that is a software bug that we all experience and replacing the unit is not going to help. Your video freeze issue probably is not going to be solved by replacing the HR34 either since it could easily be a "whole home" issue not related to the Hr34; I suggest you post in the DirecTV Connected Home forum




Protected By... spam firewall...And...