Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

The New DirecTV Remote Control


  • Please log in to reply
355 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you like it smaller with fewer buttons? (396 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you like it smaller with fewer buttons?

  1. YES (139 votes [35.10%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 35.10%

  2. NO (257 votes [64.90%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 64.90%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#181 OFFLINE   Phil17108

Phil17108

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationOrange County California
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 17 June 2013 - 12:30 PM

I have a week of use on the new remote with the 44 and it works great in RF. The old one with the hr23 we had in the living room HT were slow or not at all, and the RF did not have the range the 44 and RC71 have. 


Edited by Phil17108, 18 June 2013 - 08:26 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#182 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 17 June 2013 - 02:28 PM

Have both a 65 and a 71 set up for my new 44.
Will give the 71 a trial before I vote.

I share the complaints about not being able to see the progress bar without stopping.
Also--when the recording is paused, is there a way to place a bookmark on the progress bar, as the green button does?

#183 OFFLINE   Stevies3

Stevies3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jul 22, 2004

Posted 17 June 2013 - 02:40 PM

What is the code for the Samsung on the RC65RX remote?


-------------------------

DirecTV since 1996

1 x HR44
1 x H24

2 x C41

3 x RVU
SWM3-LNB


#184 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,406 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 17 June 2013 - 03:59 PM

OK got my Rc71, now how do I program it to my TV?


  • DaveO likes this

 Former Directv Subscriber May 5th-2012 - November 7th 2014 

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus anolog Bedrrom 5 and 6

 

 


#185 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,406 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 17 June 2013 - 04:11 PM

Never mind , it was simple. I was looking for a TV switch , but I see just entering the tv codes works.

 Former Directv Subscriber May 5th-2012 - November 7th 2014 

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus anolog Bedrrom 5 and 6

 

 


#186 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 17 June 2013 - 04:46 PM

What is the code for the Samsung on the RC65RX remote?

 

The RC65RX can't be used as an RVU remote. 


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#187 OFFLINE   Button Pusher

Button Pusher

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 971 posts
  • LocationThe Bluegrass State
Joined: Jan 19, 2007

Posted 18 June 2013 - 01:55 PM

I don't have one! Man I have some old equipment! :down:


Jeff

My Setup
















#188 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,406 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 18 June 2013 - 05:23 PM

I love the new remote, I think it works great!


 Former Directv Subscriber May 5th-2012 - November 7th 2014 

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus anolog Bedrrom 5 and 6

 

 


#189 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,160 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 22 June 2013 - 03:32 PM

I like it other than I have not figured out how to control my Pioneer AVR with it.


All is well in Mudville. The RC71 now controls my Pioneer AVR.
Perhaps I Misremembered.

#190 OFFLINE   DesertWind53

DesertWind53

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: May 28, 2007

Posted 24 June 2013 - 09:45 PM

Dang, the button layout at the top of the RC70H is FAR better than the crappy layout of the RC71!  I've had mine for weeks now, and am as used to it as I'm gonna get, and I still HATE the placement of the guide/menu/list buttons.  The RC70H gets it right IMHO.  But it's IR only, and I don't feel like paying for more remotes.  I wish they'd do the same layout on the RC71 at some point.



#191 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 25 June 2013 - 06:59 AM

Actually there was a consumer version of the RC70H but it was never available for retail. Note that the RC70H is specifically designed NOT to work with residential DIRECTV boxes.


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#192 OFFLINE   DaveO

DaveO

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2004

Posted 20 July 2013 - 12:28 PM

Kind of ripped that the installer installed my new Genie HR-44, and as with the previous installer, took off without giving me the remote control, in this case the RC71 that should have come with it.  If you look on Ebay you will understand as there are plenty being sold there. I'm not stupid (although considered an elder at 74).

 

Anyway, I purchased a couple on Ebay and now:

 

For the aged and mentally infirm, would someone be so kind as to post directions on how to get this sucker into RF mode?  I follow the directions using the HR-44 menu setup but no luck. I currently have the Genie working in RF mode with my old RC32RF, but I have two new ones I'd like to program.

 

It works great in IR mode.

 

I really would appreciate someone taking the time to type in step by step instructions. I've searched the posts and have found several differing opinions.

 

I have reset my RC71.  Held down mute and select for two blinks, type in 961, channel up, type in 405048 and then enter (as one suggested). Also tried the same with the last step being select, but no go.

 

Anyone?

 

Dave


D* HR-34/700 - 2x8 HDMI Splitter/Amplifier - LG-55" LCD, 2-LG 47", 2-LG 43" tvs


#193 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,006 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2013 - 12:56 PM

I'm not in front of my HR44 but from memory the menu options should be:

 

Menu > Settings > Remote Control > IR/RF > Follow on screen instructions. 

 

 

 

The RC71 no longer uses the method of going with 961 and then the last 6 of the RID.  And the old RC remotes will not control the HR44 via RF, it's a new RF.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#194 OFFLINE   DaveO

DaveO

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2004

Posted 20 July 2013 - 01:56 PM

I'm not in front of my HR44 but from memory the menu options should be:

 

Menu > Settings > Remote Control > IR/RF > Follow on screen instructions. 

 

 

 

The RC71 no longer uses the method of going with 961 and then the last 6 of the RID.  And the old RC remotes will not control the HR44 via RF, it's a new RF.

All of my old remotes work in RF just fine with the hR44.   RC65rx and RC32RF are two that I know of. I have 5 of them, all set to RF.  (Except for the RC71 and following on screen instructions do not work)  Tried it many time.


D* HR-34/700 - 2x8 HDMI Splitter/Amplifier - LG-55" LCD, 2-LG 47", 2-LG 43" tvs


#195 OFFLINE   JimAtTheRez

JimAtTheRez

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: May 08, 2008

Posted 20 July 2013 - 03:24 PM

Have both a 65 and a 71 set up for my new 44.
Will give the 71 a trial before I vote.

I share the complaints about not being able to see the progress bar without stopping.
Also--when the recording is paused, is there a way to place a bookmark on the progress bar, as the green button does?

I like the 65, but my wife likes the 71.  Can both be used on the 44 (yes) and control the volume on my Onkyo receiver?  I have not been able to set up BOTH remotes to control volume yet.


“The problem with quotes from the internet is that you cannot always verify the authenticity.”

---------Abraham Lincoln


#196 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,006 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2013 - 03:28 PM

All of my old remotes work in RF just fine with the hR44. 

 

If you're using an old remote you are either not using RF or do not have an HR44.  The RF in the HR44 is NOT compatible with the old remotes at all.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#197 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,006 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2013 - 03:29 PM

I like the 65, but my wife likes the 71.  Can both be used on the 44 (yes) and control the volume on my Onkyo receiver?  I have not been able to set up BOTH remotes to control volume yet.

 

You can use both but the 65 will be IR only.  You can set the 71 to use RF and the 65 will still work via IR.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#198 OFFLINE   DaveO

DaveO

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2004

Posted 20 July 2013 - 03:51 PM

If you're using an old remote you are either not using RF or do not have an HR44.  The RF in the HR44 is NOT compatible with the old remotes at all.

 

I have 5 older RF remotes. As I replied previously, all work RF with my Genie. How do I know?  One tv is in the bedroom, one is in the rec room in the basement, one is on the sun porch, one is in the kitchen, and one is in the living room. They all talk very well with the HR44. I record 5 programs at a time. Can't do that with the HR24 the Genie replaced.

 

 

Been here since 2008 and have been through several receivers. I'm not a total novice but I'm not an installer either.

 

Dave


Edited by DaveO, 20 July 2013 - 03:53 PM.

D* HR-34/700 - 2x8 HDMI Splitter/Amplifier - LG-55" LCD, 2-LG 47", 2-LG 43" tvs


#199 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,006 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2013 - 03:57 PM

I have 5 older RF remotes. As I replied previously, all work RF with my Genie. How do I know?  One tv is in the bedroom, one is in the rec room in the basement, one is on the sun porch, one is in the kitchen, and one is in the living room. They all talk very well with the HR44. I record 5 programs at a time. Can't do that with the HR24 the Genie replaced.

 

 

Been here since 2008 and have been through several receivers. I'm not a total novice but I'm not an installer either.

 

Dave

 

Once again...  If you are using an older remote, not an RC71, in RF mode with a Genie it is NOT an HR44.  The ONLY Genie that works with the older remotes in RF is the HR34.   Please take the time to search the forums and you'll see that I'm right.  The RF in the HR44 is completely different.

 

Just from the first couple of pages of the First Look alone:

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...-2#entry3069567

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...-2#entry3069568

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...-2#entry3069599

 

And please refer to page 5 of the first look document itself:

 

http://www.hr20.dbst... First Look.pdf


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#200 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,982 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 July 2013 - 04:00 PM

So, Dave, are they all HDMI'd to the Genie? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...