Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

can swm16 receive power thru legacy like swm 8


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 04:34 PM

I currently have MRV through a SWM8 with the power inserter using one of the legacy ports.
I have added an additional HR23 to the 4 way splitter coming off the SWM, and the SWM8 is powered through one of the legacy ports.
I am going to add a Genie to the system, and lose one of the HR's I have. That will leave me with 1 Genie, 2 HR's, 1-H receiver, and 1 R-15(using only one tuner) off legacy port. I am using one of the legacy ports to supply power to the SWM8.

My question, after all that, is since I will have to upgrade to a SWM16, can I still use one of the legacy ports to supply power to the SWM module?

Thanks,
Errol
HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,274 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 04:42 PM

Why not just use the Power Port on the SWM16?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 January 2013 - 04:51 PM

Why not just use the Power Port on the SWM16?

- Merg

Maybe the OP didn't know the -16 has its own DC port/connector. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 04:54 PM

Merg,
On the 8, you went through a line from one of the receivers through the splitter to the SWM.
I used one of the legacy ports on the recommendation of VOS, and it works great. No need for the minimum cable length, and allows me to put the power supply in the general vicinity of the SWM, RG45 switch etc, to use the same battery backup.

Errol
HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

#5 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 04:55 PM

You are right VOS I didn't know that. Solves the problem.
I answered Merg's question before I got your response.

Thanks,
Errol
HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 January 2013 - 04:55 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...01&d=1261069733
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...