Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole home with CCK?


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 349 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 14 January 2013 - 11:13 AM

Well I did not only because I could swear when I looked it up on the router web page it said .19 was the highest range! I will check again when I get home

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 349 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 14 January 2013 - 03:56 PM

It says my range is .10 thru .19 so am I correct in saying 24 and 34 should do the trick?

#23 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,237 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 January 2013 - 05:36 PM

It says my range is .10 thru .19 so am I correct in saying 24 and 34 should do the trick?


You should be good then.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#24 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 349 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 14 January 2013 - 05:41 PM

Great thank you for your patience with me:) and for all the help. One last question should the cck perform just as well connected to my HR20-100 as it does with my HR24. Or should I leave it with the HR24

#25 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,237 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 January 2013 - 07:36 PM

Great thank you for your patience with me:) and for all the help. One last question should the cck perform just as well connected to my HR20-100 as it does with my HR24. Or should I leave it with the HR24


The CCK is not really working with any of your receivers. It is just bridging your home network to then DECA cloud. I'm guessing that at your HR24 there was an Ethernet cable available to use for the CCK so that was just an easy place to install it. It can really go anywhere.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#26 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 349 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 15 January 2013 - 07:39 AM

Actually there is no ethernet cable hooked to it! Should there be? Im just using coax

#27 OFFLINE   millertime

millertime

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 349 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 15 January 2013 - 07:43 AM

But yes I did use an ethernet hard wired to the 24 before whole home was activated. I was just thinking with the 20 since it has the external deca and a splitter with a bsf that there would be less problems going at the 24 location. I would like ideally to have it where my 20 is as it would be more hidden. but since it is just a bridge I will move it to the 20 location

#28 OFFLINE   litex2x

litex2x

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2012

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:17 AM

Actually there is no ethernet cable hooked to it! Should there be? Im just using coax


Is it the wireless version?

#29 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,891 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:42 AM

Actually there is no ethernet cable hooked to it! Should there be? Im just using coax


If its a WiFi enabled CCK (W-CCK) using a wireless connection to the router and hooked up by means of the coax thru-line option, then no ethernet cable is necessary.

But yes I did use an ethernet hard wired to the 24 before whole home was activated. I was just thinking with the 20 since it has the external deca and a splitter with a bsf that there would be less problems going at the 24 location. I would like ideally to have it where my 20 is as it would be more hidden. but since it is just a bridge I will move it to the 20 location


If its a W-CCK type CCK using the coax thru-line hook up option, it may be placed at any convenient place on the satellite coax network, whether near or far (or somewhere in between) from any of the receivers.

#30 OFFLINE   scubaru782

scubaru782

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2013

Posted 18 January 2013 - 01:47 PM

to quote reply #3:

To add to what The Merg says is it time to look at upgrading your router (wireless?)? What do you have?

Your post might imply that you were thinking about getting a HR34 - if so be aware that the HR34 can be plugged into your ethernet network and provide the network connection for all of the DVRs on a SWiM. No CCK required.
__________________


it was my understanding that even with the H34 you needed a CCK
is that not correct ? so no deca or cck is required with the HR34 ?

I am having installed first part of next week and was told they would use the cck

thanks

#31 OFFLINE   scubaru782

scubaru782

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2013

Posted 18 January 2013 - 01:54 PM

I should note that the hr34 will be installed with 3 additional clients
with whdvr service

#32 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,237 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:18 PM

to quote reply #3:

To add to what The Merg says is it time to look at upgrading your router (wireless?)? What do you have?

Your post might imply that you were thinking about getting a HR34 - if so be aware that the HR34 can be plugged into your ethernet network and provide the network connection for all of the DVRs on a SWiM. No CCK required.
__________________

it was my understanding that even with the H34 you needed a CCK
is that not correct ? so no deca or cck is required with the HR34 ?

I am having installed first part of next week and was told they would use the cck

thanks


The standard install is to use a CCK even with a HR34 install, however it is not needed. Most installers do not know that you can use the HR34 in place of a CCK. Of course, this only works if you have an Ethernet cable to your router that is at the HR34 install location. If not, you will either have a coax installed where there is an Ethernet cable available or they would use the wireless CCK if it is still available.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#33 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,237 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:20 PM

I should note that the hr34 will be installed with 3 additional clients
with whdvr service


You should be happy with that setup.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#34 OFFLINE   scubaru782

scubaru782

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2013

Posted 19 January 2013 - 12:47 AM

Thank you




spam firewall