Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

H25 Receiver Questions


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hydrant100

hydrant100

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2012

Posted 11 January 2013 - 02:25 PM

New customer (5 months) with recent installation. In Living Room, HR 24-500 and AM21 off air tuner. In bedroom, H25-700. My questions:
1. on bedroom H25, I cannot pause, rewind live programming, is that to be expected? I can however use those functions when playing back recorded content.
2. is H25 the latest model for what I'm using it for?
3. is HR24-500 latest model short of installing genie?
4. I've seen this answered in earlier threads but just want to make sure...the guide recently eliminated an off-air channel which i know continues to exist (cable carries it). Therefore I cannot access channel via guide. Prior to that happening the guide always was unable to identify content so I had to manually record show. Is that the reason no longer shows because directv does not have programming content?
5. My former DISH dvr allowed me to rename title of recorded program, does HR24 have this capability? I cannot find any reference to it.
Thank you for any guidance.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,420 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 02:30 PM

1. That is correct. On a Genie system, the C31 has this function, but actually uses one of the tuners from the Genie. The H25 has it's own tuner, but cannot "trickplay" live.

2 and 3. HR24 and H25 are the most current of its class.

4. I believe this would be correct. The HR24 cannot scan for channels.

5. This is not possible.

#3 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 427 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 02:31 PM

1. Yes, the H25 has no way to buffer LIVE TV
2. Yes, it is the latest HD Receiver.
3. Yes
4. DirecTV uses Tribune Media for it's guide data. Check with them to see if it's available
5. You cannot rename recordings
HR34, HR20x3, HR21, HR22, H24, H21

-BAHitman

#4 OFFLINE   hydrant100

hydrant100

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2012

Posted 11 January 2013 - 02:37 PM

Thank you to both of you.

#5 OFFLINE   PK6301

PK6301

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 315 posts
  • LocationErie, PA
Joined: May 16, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:23 PM

I have a question about the H25..Does it run hot to the touch, I have one in my sons room and it always seems warm. Is this Normal? Thank you in Advance..

#6 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,420 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:40 PM

The H25 itself or the bower brick?

Edited by dpeters11, 23 January 2013 - 09:33 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 23 January 2013 - 08:48 PM

I have a question about the H25..Does it run hot to the touch, I have one in my sons room and it always seems warm. Is this Normal? Thank you in Advance..


My H25 wasn't never very hot, but the power brick definitely got pretty warm.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#8 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,420 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 23 January 2013 - 09:33 PM

Same here. If the unit itself is very warm, that's not normal. Power brick, normal unless its hot.




spam firewall