Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Question


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tigercat74

tigercat74

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 06:31 PM

Is it possible to get a genie for your house if you just want it on one TV? I have 3 hr24s on a whole home system. I think I would like just a genie because I watch most of my TV on my 60 inch plasma. I would like to think I could save some money each month without the mirroring fees. If you guys know if this is possible and if I would save money, I appreciate your knowledge. Thanks in advance.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,022 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 12 January 2013 - 06:49 PM

It works great on one TV.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,079 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 06:51 PM

Just keep in mind, if you replaced all your current equipment with one Genie, you'd lose one tuner and 50 series links.

#4 OFFLINE   tigercat74

tigercat74

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 06:56 PM

Just keep in mind, if you replaced all your current equipment with one Genie, you'd lose one tuner and 50 series links.


I know but we rarely record six things at once. We keep the third around just in case we hit five. I am not worried about the 50 series links. I would set up manual for whole nights on some channels. I do miss my TiVo because of the unlimited passes but I need more than two tuners.

#5 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,079 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 07:00 PM

You can also use booleans if you don't mind multiple series grouped together. A keyword search aany csi bang ncis cchans 12 would record all versions of csi, ncis and Big Bang in one series link. Replace 12 with the channel number.

#6 OFFLINE   tigercat74

tigercat74

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 07:03 PM

You can also use booleans if you don't mind multiple series grouped together. A keyword search aany csi bang ncis cchans 12 would record all versions of csi, ncis and Big Bang in one series link. Replace 12 with the channel number.


I tried those but could not get them to work right. Do you guys have any links that would show how to do those correctly. Thanks.

#7 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,079 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 07:13 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=205181

#8 OFFLINE   tigercat74

tigercat74

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 07:29 PM

Thanks for all your quick answers. The other question was how much money would I save. I'm thinking 2 mirroring fees and the whole home charge. Am I right.

#9 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,079 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 07:31 PM

Yep, you are.

#10 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 08:10 PM

You say that you watch most of your TV on the 60 inch. How many TVs do you have? Even with the Genie, you would need a receiver still for each TV.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#11 OFFLINE   tigercat74

tigercat74

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 08:13 PM

I have three tv's but they really only get used right now to check to make sure they are going to record what they are suppose to record. I am a bit crazy to make sure they are going to record.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...