Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

C-31 From Wifi Deca


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   s57061b

s57061b

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2007

Posted 12 January 2013 - 09:05 PM

Hello all.
If a person wanted to run his C-31 off of a wifi Deca how is that done.
Thanks Joey

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,362 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 January 2013 - 09:25 PM

While this is technically possible, I don't think this solution is reliable. YMMV

#3 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,372 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 13 January 2013 - 01:19 AM

It's not a supported configuration, but some folks have been able to make it work. Much will depend on the quality of your wireless connection.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#4 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 13 January 2013 - 02:21 AM

Hello all.
If a person wanted to run his C-31 off of a wifi Deca how is that done.
Thanks Joey


Basically you need to have your receivers connected to your home network. This can be done with another wifi decades or Ethernet cable to an hd/dvr(not a 24) and then with the c31 you would use the coax out to hook to the c31. If your wifi deca is already configured for your wireless you should be good or use the wps. I think you could also preconfigure it with an hd/dvr also.
My setup: 3x HR 23-700, 1x HR 24, 1x HR34, 4x C31's, WiFi CCK. Nomad...

#5 OFFLINE   kb122

kb122

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2010

Posted 13 January 2013 - 03:27 PM

I bought a CCK-W (WiFi DECA), wired it to my network to configure it for my 5GHz 802.11n network for less interference from neighboring networks (I'm in a condo and can see at least 10 other 2.4GHz networks from my unit). The CCK-W has a web interface for configuring the wireless network settings. Then, as previously stated, connected coax from the CCK-W to the C31 and it works great. My HR34 is wired in to the network via the ethernet port, not a DECA.

Just for fun, before I had the CCK-W, I tried a wired DECA connected to an 802.11g bridge and the C31. That also worked although it occasionally dropped out due to the speed of the network and possibly interference from neighboring networks.




spam firewall