Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Directv DECAs and Internet


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,343 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 17 January 2013 - 09:38 AM

is there any real logic in that a better cable will get me better throughput/speed for my Ethernet transfers?

There are plenty of high quality Ethernet cables out there...and as stated earlier...they can be bought exonomically as well. Price doesn't always reflect better quality...in fact, I've found high-end HDMI cables at monoprice.com for less than $10 that were selling at Best Buy for $79 with the identical specs.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   scuba629

scuba629

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2013

Posted 17 January 2013 - 10:03 AM

I have cat6 cables already. I guess I was mostly concerned with the RG6 cables.

#53 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,343 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 17 January 2013 - 10:09 AM

I have cat6 cables already. I guess I was mostly concerned with the RG6 cables.

You can pick up reliable RG6 alot of places.

The connectors that come with it are as important as the cable itself. Compression connectors are ideal (in contrast to the cheaper "screw on" type).
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#54 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,089 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 17 January 2013 - 10:20 AM

I guess I was mostly concerned with the RG6 cables.

How long will these cables be?
If they'll be 3', "almost any cable" will work fine.
A.K.A VOS

#55 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,030 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 17 January 2013 - 01:16 PM

is there any real logic in that a better cable will get me better throughput/speed for my Ethernet transfers?


With the caveat that YMMV, and that you shouldn't try this at home....

We are running 15 tuners (13 recordable) across 7 receivers with Whole Home/DECA using the same RG-6 cable (with a few minor exceptions) that was installed in 2001 to support our conversion to dual tuner DirecTiVo DVRs. Some of the cable goes back to 1997 and our initial Dish Network installation. Most of the cable is Radio Shack quad-shield RG6, but some is just plain old foil shield. Except for the outdoor cable connections (which were replaced when we had the Slimline dish installed) all the connections are crimp style. With all that, we get excellent DECA performance and 90+ on all transponders at all receivers.

Personally, I think too much faith is placed in cable "quality" and not enough care taken in how it is handled. Kinking a coax cable will hurt performance more than using a "lower grade" of cable.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#56 OFFLINE   scuba629

scuba629

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2013

Posted 21 January 2013 - 04:13 PM

ive got it all setup and working. I did notice once that a show kinda skipped for a second when using my MRV. Not sure why as I wasn't really using my network.

This was coming from the bedroom HR23 going to the now split cable of the HR24.

It bothers me a little but im sure there is nothing I can do to fix it.

#57 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 301 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 24 January 2013 - 07:48 AM

You do realize though that with DECA you don't need to run CAT5 wire to all your locations. You could just have the CAT5 cable going to the HR34 and with that all the other receivers would all have access to the Internet, your home network, and Whole Home. This would also keep all of the Whole Home traffic off of your home network.

- Merg


With all the new TV's coming out with Internet features it would be silly not running Cat5 wire to all locations. With Netflicks etc etc and Home viewing of personal Video's and music and photos

King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 


#58 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,022 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:34 AM

With all the new TV's coming out with Internet features it would be silly not running Cat5 wire to all locations. With Netflicks etc etc and Home viewing of personal Video's and music and photos

Your argument is air tight but it doesn't support the party line so you will likely be called out for your heresy against the Church of DECA.

Wireless is supported (directly or indirectly) by many of these streaming devices and smart TVs, but there are a significant number for whom wireless cannot work due to the proliferation of wireless installations in a relatively small area.

If for no other reason than that Ethernet can easily and cheaply be routed, it makes more sense as the device density increases.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#59 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:08 AM

Your argument is air tight but it doesn't support the party line so you will likely be called out for your heresy against the Church of DECA.

Wireless is supported (directly or indirectly) by many of these streaming devices and smart TVs, but there are a significant number for whom wireless cannot work due to the proliferation of wireless installations in a relatively small area.

If for no other reason than that Ethernet can easily and cheaply be routed, it makes more sense as the device density increases.


My point was not that he shouldn't run Ethernet because of the "Church of DECA". Rick made the comment that he was going to run CAT5 to all his locations to get Internet access for his receivers. I was pointing out that it was not necessary as DECA will handle what he wants. DECA has its place and using it for MRV is exactly what it is there for. If you can keep traffic off your network so that other devices have use of your network with the possibility of interference, why wouldn't you want to take advantage of that?

As for routing CAT5 being easy and cheap, while CAT5 cable is cheap to purchase, routing it in someone's house is not always easy or feasible. While I would recommend any new house being built to look at having CAT5 run to every room, retrofitting a house is not always a solution.

In my house in particular, the bedroom is part of an addition that was added onto the house. Trying to fish CAT5 cable from the basement up to the attic then over to the bedroom is not going to happen easily.

In cases like that, I would actually recommend the idea of using a modified DECA setup where you have a switch installed at one end and can connect devices to the Internet via the DECA cloud.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#60 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:40 AM

With all the new TV's coming out with Internet features it would be silly not running Cat5 wire to all locations. With Netflicks etc etc and Home viewing of personal Video's and music and photos


If you can run CAT5 to all your locations, then by all means do it. I was just pointing out that for DirecTV, the use of DECA is recommended. That would keep the MRV traffic isolated from your regular network traffic.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#61 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,022 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:00 PM

If you can keep traffic off your network so that other devices have use of your network with the possibility of interference, why wouldn't you want to take advantage of that?

Too much is placed on the importance of "keeping MRV off the network". I submit that the whole concept is a red herring in a world of switched Ethernet.

As for routing CAT5 being easy and cheap, while CAT5 cable is cheap to purchase, routing it in someone's house is not always easy or feasible. While I would recommend any new house being built to look at having CAT5 run to every room, retrofitting a house is not always a solution.

If you're inclined to get all of your entertainment from DIRECTV, this may be a reasoned approach. Given that each TV has an average of one non-MRV device in the room with it, it makes the argument questionable as now you're looking to annex the cloud to carry content it wasn't designed to handle..

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#62 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:19 PM

Too much is placed on the importance of "keeping MRV off the network". I submit that the whole concept is a red herring in a world of switched Ethernet.


Well, if you have actually tried using MRV over your home network compared to using over DECA, you might have experienced this issue. I ran MRV over my home network for more than a year before moving to DECA. During that time, if network usage was heavy due to other devices being used, I definitely saw some lag/stuttering during MRV playback. Once I moved to DECA, this issue disappeared.

If you're inclined to get all of your entertainment from DIRECTV, this may be a reasoned approach. Given that each TV has an average of one non-MRV device in the room with it, it makes the argument questionable as now you're looking to annex the cloud to carry content it wasn't designed to handle..


And yes, while rooms might have more than one non-MRV device in it, I would still submit that retrofitting a house/room for Ethernet is not always practical. The time and effort for me to run a CAT5 cable from my router to my bedroom means that it will most likely never happen. I currently use a Linksys WRT160N router up there as a wireless extender to which I can attach wired devices. It is not the best solution though. And while, it would not be a supported solution, I might consider using a DECA to provide a hardwired LAN connection up in the bedroom. In that case, if I am using the networked device in the bedroom, I will most likely not be using MRV so I should not experience any negative impact.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#63 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,143 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:46 PM

"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought."

This is the wettest idea yet from a person who has no direct knowledge of MRV, and precious little idea of how most of us employ non-MRV appliances in our homes.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...