Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

For the love of God!!! HR24 audio dropouts


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   double

double

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 16 January 2013 - 05:36 PM

I've tried to be helpful and informative, as I've been dealing with DirecTV and Dolby problems dating back maybe 5 years.

If you think there is a problem with your 24, if it's anything like the old problem, you can find this out by:

Use MRV and play recordings from other DVRs, and play recordings from this 24 on other DVRs.

If the problem exists on all DVRs, most likely it was the feed with the corrupted Dolby.
If on the other hand, a recording that plays well on another DVR, has problem on your 24, and a recording on your 24 plays fine on another DVR, "then" this 24 looks to be defective.


only on this dvr. with all DD content from any recording both on the suspect 24 and also MRV from any other DVR. its definitely got problems!!
AU9 Dish/ SWM-16 Multiswitch
HR-24/500 HDMI to Yamaha RX-A820 to Samsung UN55ES7500
HR-22/100 HDMI to LN52A650 LCD & Component Video to Toshiba 20HLV86 LCD w/DVD
HR-21/700 HDMI to Samsung LNS4095DX
HR-22/100 HDMI to Viewsonic 40" LCD
HR-20/700 HDMI to Veiwsonic 40" LCD

Every location has 1 RG6Q and DECA. System has broadband DECA.

Broadband provided by Verizon DSL

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,197 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 January 2013 - 05:47 PM

VOS, thanks, i was under the impression problems and issues could be discussed.


only on this dvr. with all DD content from any recording both on the suspect 24 and also MRV from any other DVR. its definitely got problems!!

Hopefully the forum will continue to be a place for this.

"Yep" it sounds like this box is bad. What should be of some comfort is not all of them are, so a replacement should resolve the problem.
A.K.A VOS

#53 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,881 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 16 January 2013 - 06:43 PM

you are correct, TVs can decode DD on the ATSC tuner, this is a function of the tuner! BUT, NO TV decodes DD on an HDMI input. TVs are stereo devices. The EDID on every TV tells the source to send stereo at whatever bitrate it supports.

Also to go even further, most TVs do not pass DD through an HDMI input to the optical digital output of the TV. When you are on an HDMI input of any Samsung TV, go to sound menu and try to change the SPDIF output format to DD or DTS, you cant, they are grayed out. The DD and DTS options are only available for built in tuner and streaming apps. This is what sucks about adding a Surround bar like the B&W Panorama to a TV that has HDMI sources. what could be as easy as running a single optical cable from TV to bar wont get you 5.1 sound to the bar. You have to run optical or coaxial digital from each source to the bar.

Thank you very much for the clarification. TV's decode DD, but rarely other than in the RF chain feeding the ATSC/QAM tuner (actually, just after demod and demux). Agreed.

While HDMI has the capability of passing DD, I think you are correct that in most cases audio that arrives at a TV via HDMI is not decoded as DD there, and that it rarely if ever is passed back out through the optical output of a TV. Again, we're agreed. Not that any of that even matters.

And don't fret over the haters; they will eventually screw themselves into the ground. Ignore them; the rest of us are still here with you and generally speaking we are not here to take cowardly pot shots at you for sport from behind the safety of a keyboard. You're pissed, and frustrated, and rightfully so.

I think we can all agree that there are audio dropouts due to transmission and reception, but I also think those are pretty rare compared to audio dropouts from the STB to the AVR via DD, which seem to be much more common.

A few posters here seem not to realize the importance of what I posted earlier, which is that DD is the ONLY audio transmitted with an HD channel over ATSC, cable, or DBS. Any non-DD audio feeds connected from the STB are generated from that DD source, typically a stereo 2.0 mixdown. And that is a process that will not generate drop-outs of its own.

What that means is that since the problems lie typically in the DD link from STB to AVR and rarely manifest in the stereo 2.0 audio outputs, DD as the source and DTV as the provider can't really be at fault for not providing coherently-solid audio to the STB. This points to the problem being after that point in the chain, either a faulty DD pickoff and retransmit from the STB, or an interopability issue with the consumer-grade DD decoder as it listens for DD from the STB.

If its the first problem, which is uncommon, you should consider getting them to replace the HR24. If it is the second problem, which has a long history of being a common problem, you should first up rev firmware in the AVR. Then either consider a different AVR or just don't use DD.

But that it might be a problem prior to the uplink or in transmission is not borne out by the low number of complaints, and that it might be a problem in poor reception is something easily determined, and not very likely.

Edited by TomCat, 16 January 2013 - 06:48 PM.

It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.

#54 OFFLINE   double

double

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 16 January 2013 - 07:27 PM

tomcat, thanks. all good info.
AU9 Dish/ SWM-16 Multiswitch
HR-24/500 HDMI to Yamaha RX-A820 to Samsung UN55ES7500
HR-22/100 HDMI to LN52A650 LCD & Component Video to Toshiba 20HLV86 LCD w/DVD
HR-21/700 HDMI to Samsung LNS4095DX
HR-22/100 HDMI to Viewsonic 40" LCD
HR-20/700 HDMI to Veiwsonic 40" LCD

Every location has 1 RG6Q and DECA. System has broadband DECA.

Broadband provided by Verizon DSL

#55 OFFLINE   Philz

Philz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationVA Beach
Joined: Nov 24, 2013

Posted 24 November 2013 - 10:29 PM

I recently updated my boxes to HR44 with 2 mini genies and a HR24-100
Unfortunately  I'm getting 1-2 sec Audio dropout  2  - 3 an hour on HR24 with DD enabled.

Such dropouts are not present on my older HR20 and newer HR44 or minis using same AV & cables.

 

 

 

Phil-


Edited by Philz, 24 November 2013 - 10:31 PM.


#56 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 25 November 2013 - 10:51 AM

It does seem worse with Dolby on, and some AV receivers handle it better than others. It would make my Onkyo click. Still happens on occasion with my Denon, but without clicking. I haven't watched it in a few seasons but I swore it was worst with a particular program on History.

 

Happens very rarely to me.  My Sony AVRs that everyone disparages have very few problems.  I have 11 active 24s and don't have enough audio dropouts to even mention them.  

 

Rich 



#57 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 25 November 2013 - 11:21 AM

I recently updated my boxes to HR44 with 2 mini genies and a HR24-100
Unfortunately  I'm getting 1-2 sec Audio dropout  2  - 3 an hour on HR24 with DD enabled.

Such dropouts are not present on my older HR20 and newer HR44 or minis using same AV & cables.

Welcome to DBSTalk! 

Is your '24 going through an AVR via HDMI? Can you  bypass that, and do audio via fibre cable?

 

Have you rebooted it? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#58 OFFLINE   Philz

Philz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationVA Beach
Joined: Nov 24, 2013

Posted 25 November 2013 - 11:33 AM

During weekend I touched base with a friend of a friend that works for DTV doing installs.

We discussed my setup & sound issue being had ,he came to the conclusion it was more then likely due to my HR24 coaxial cable length .

SWM Dish to 4 way splitter > 40 ft.

The 4 way Splitter wire feed

1) HR44 with power source > 9 ft

2) Mini > 30ft

3) Mini > 90 ft

4) HR24 > 140 ft



#59 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,503 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 25 November 2013 - 11:39 AM

Happens very rarely to me.  My Sony AVRs that everyone disparages have very few problems.  I have 11 active 24s and don't have enough audio dropouts to even mention them.  

 

Rich 

 

It's gotten a lot better, this is a revived thread :)



#60 OFFLINE   Philz

Philz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationVA Beach
Joined: Nov 24, 2013

Posted 25 November 2013 - 11:41 AM

Welcome to DBSTalk! 

Is your '24 going through an AVR via HDMI? Can you  bypass that, and do audio via fibre cable?

 

Have you rebooted it? 

Thanks

Ive tested in a number of ways

HR24 > HDMI > AV Pioneer 1020-k > Panasonic ST60 Plasma

HR24 > Optical > AV Pioneer 1020-k

HR24 > Dig Coax > AV Pioneer 1020-k
 

Now An interesting one.
HR24 > HDMI > Panasonic ST60 Plasma Optical out > AV Pioneer 1020-K.

 

DD didn't pass through TV optical out of course but i did notice 2 channel sound feed drops occurred when HR24 DD enabled.

From there I listened more closely finding drops occurred on 2 channel sound feed with any AV wire combination when DD was enabled

 

Yes many reboots unfortunately not resolving DD drops.

 

 

 

EDIT ADDING ADD MORE DETAIL:

Spoke with DTV advanced tech on Friday , Advanced offered HR21 , HR22 or HR23 replacement to resolve issue.

I told him to hold off on such move I needed to do research give me a call back on Tuesday.

Im going to request dish move which will shorten up SWM Dish to 4 Way Splitter & HR24 wire run by half.

 

What I will be looking at:

 

SWM Dish to 4 way splitter > 8 ft.

The 4 way Splitter wire feed
1)Mini with power source > 5 ft

2)HR44 > 20 ft

3)Mini >  30 ft
4)HR24 > 70 ft

 

The above is much more balanced run f,sure compared to my current setup only good can come from it solving issue being had


Edited by Philz, 25 November 2013 - 01:27 PM.


#61 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 November 2013 - 06:51 PM

During weekend I touched base with a friend of a friend that works for DTV doing installs.

We discussed my setup & sound issue being had ,he came to the conclusion it was more then likely due to my HR24 coaxial cable length .

SWM Dish to 4 way splitter > 40 ft.

The 4 way Splitter wire feed

1) HR44 with power source > 9 ft

2) Mini > 30ft

3) Mini > 90 ft

4) HR24 > 140 ft

 

I have shorter runs and still needed an amp to stop various problems on one of my SWM16s.  I bought it from Solid Signal and it solved my problems.  Cost about $130 as I recall.  You should go to their website and get their phone number for their excellent tech service and tell them what problems you're having.  I'd send you a link but I think they stopped selling the amp I bought a couple years ago.  Well worth the money and it's simple to install.

 

Aw hell, I hate it when somebody posts like that.  Only takes a minute.  I think this one will work. Looking at it, I know it will work. Here's the link.  Naturally, it's cheaper now than when I bought it.  My luck.

 

Rich 


  • Philz likes this

#62 OFFLINE   Philz

Philz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationVA Beach
Joined: Nov 24, 2013

Posted 27 November 2013 - 02:21 PM

I have shorter runs and still needed an amp to stop various problems on one of my SWM16s.  I bought it from Solid Signal and it solved my problems.  Cost about $130 as I recall.  You should go to their website and get their phone number for their excellent tech service and tell them what problems you're having.  I'd send you a link but I think they stopped selling the amp I bought a couple years ago.  Well worth the money and it's simple to install.

 

Aw hell, I hate it when somebody posts like that.  Only takes a minute.  I think this one will work. Looking at it, I know it will work. Here's the link.  Naturally, it's cheaper now than when I bought it.  My luck.

 

Rich 

Thanks for the input Rich much appreciated  .

Tech came out a few hours ago gave run the look over also checking db strength on HR24 wire finding all was well.

He replaced HR24/100 with a new one , 3 hours of use so far no DB dropouts hopefully issue is resolved.



#63 OFFLINE   Philz

Philz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationVA Beach
Joined: Nov 24, 2013

Posted 28 November 2013 - 11:49 AM

Well during the evening a couple DD drops occurred nothing major but what really got my attention was picture quality not as good as previous HR24-100.

From there I went into ST60 pictures settings finding that HDMI/DVI RGB range defaults at (16-235)

I changed setting to (Auto) and with that came better picture but this is the kicker , No more DD loss.

 

Handshake issue maybe? I'm beginning to think so.

 

Could Those with -500 feel the same pain with older displays....Kuro for example doesn't support (16-235) which that build receiver pushes


Edited by Philz, 28 November 2013 - 11:58 AM.


#64 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 November 2013 - 01:42 PM

Well during the evening a couple DD drops occurred nothing major but what really got my attention was picture quality not as good as previous HR24-100.

From there I went into ST60 pictures settings finding that HDMI/DVI RGB range defaults at (16-235)

I changed setting to (Auto) and with that came better picture but this is the kicker , No more DD loss.

 

Handshake issue maybe? I'm beginning to think so.

 

Could Those with -500 feel the same pain with older displays....Kuro for example doesn't support (16-235) which that build receiver pushes

 

Could be, there are different chip sets in the 500s than the 100s.  

 

Rich 



#65 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 November 2013 - 01:43 PM

Thanks for the input Rich much appreciated  .

Tech came out a few hours ago gave run the look over also checking db strength on HR24 wire finding all was well.

He replaced HR24/100 with a new one , 3 hours of use so far no DB dropouts hopefully issue is resolved.

 

Good, I don't think that amp would have been suitable for you anyway.  Meant to get back to you and tell you that.  Sorry.  

 

Rich



#66 OFFLINE   Philz

Philz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationVA Beach
Joined: Nov 24, 2013

Posted 03 December 2013 - 02:16 PM

Good, I don't think that amp would have been suitable for you anyway.  Meant to get back to you and tell you that.  Sorry.  

 

Rich

Interesting find the last couple day.

After new box install sound issue was kicked but picture went to crap.

Advance tech support gave me a call an hour ago to close out case  ,before doing so he ran system test on HR24 finding error code with signal.

He then ran test on HR44 finding no signal issue which points to HR24 long cable run being the culprit so Rep put in ticket for dish move.

30 min later DTV Tech just showed up at my residents for dish move so hopefully we finally have true fix.

 

 

UPDATE:

Well dish move complete roughly 80ft eliminated  from run with Power source 10ft from dish.

The result is amazing , HR24-100 Picture quality on my Panasonic 60ST60 Plasma has never looked better & no Dolby loss.

This is the best birthday present ever.


Edited by Philz, 03 December 2013 - 05:06 PM.


#67 OFFLINE   jmhga44

jmhga44

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 03 December 2013 - 07:14 PM

I just upgraded 2 HR-24/500 HD DVRs and a H24 HD receiver to a HR44/500 and 2 C41/500 Genies. The HR24/500's and H24 had pretty frequent audio dropouts (ESPN seemed to be the most notorious if I recall correctly) and I had many techs out here that were baffled. After the upgrade I've still notice some audio dropouts but they don't seem to be as frequent as they were with the previous equipment.


Jimmy H.

#68 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,046 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 December 2013 - 12:20 PM

Interesting find the last couple day.

After new box install sound issue was kicked but picture went to crap.

Advance tech support gave me a call an hour ago to close out case  ,before doing so he ran system test on HR24 finding error code with signal.

He then ran test on HR44 finding no signal issue which points to HR24 long cable run being the culprit so Rep put in ticket for dish move.

30 min later DTV Tech just showed up at my residents for dish move so hopefully we finally have true fix.

 

 

UPDATE:

Well dish move complete roughly 80ft eliminated  from run with Power source 10ft from dish.

The result is amazing , HR24-100 Picture quality on my Panasonic 60ST60 Plasma has never looked better & no Dolby loss.

This is the best birthday present ever.

 

And cheaper than buying an amp.  Good for you!

 

Rich



#69 OFFLINE   Philz

Philz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationVA Beach
Joined: Nov 24, 2013

Posted 15 April 2014 - 12:56 PM

It appears HR24-100 Dolby drop issue is resolved with Software update ver - 0x803 I received on 4/8.

Every so often I would enable setting finding those very annoying drops present so disbale was needed.

A couple days ago I enabled setting finding no drops present equaling 16 hours of viewing which is fantastic.


Edited by Philz, 15 April 2014 - 12:57 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...