Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Ever Since Genie Upgrade - Lockups and Freeze Ups


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Spazzman

Spazzman

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 15 January 2013 - 06:56 AM

Guys,

My experience with Genie is less than enjoyable. I decided to re-up my contract and upgrade my dual tuner DVR to the new 5x DVR. Ever since the upgrade - when shows are played back on all of my DVRs - the shows freeze. DTV stated to me that a software update will happen soon to resolve the issue. That statement was made to me by them on Dec 31st. I noticed the Genie was updated with new Software on 1/9. Previous issues with youtube not working have been resolved however, the freezup on DVR playback remains.

I have two DVRs. My original plus the new Genie. Also, I have a 3rd receiver in the bedroom. The freeze ups happen on all of the devices. Is there a workaround?

Steve

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Krazeyman

Krazeyman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Posted 15 January 2013 - 09:04 AM

Guys,

My experience with Genie is less than enjoyable. I decided to re-up my contract and upgrade my dual tuner DVR to the new 5x DVR. Ever since the upgrade - when shows are played back on all of my DVRs - the shows freeze. DTV stated to me that a software update will happen soon to resolve the issue. That statement was made to me by them on Dec 31st. I noticed the Genie was updated with new Software on 1/9. Previous issues with youtube not working have been resolved however, the freezup on DVR playback remains.

I have two DVRs. My original plus the new Genie. Also, I have a 3rd receiver in the bedroom. The freeze ups happen on all of the devices. Is there a workaround?

Steve


If you are watching a recorded show on your original Dvr that has the program stored on it. (Not recorded on the genie) Do you have any problems with that?

#3 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,902 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 January 2013 - 09:18 AM

Press and hold the INFO button and then Run the System Test. If there is something wrong with either your HDD or the Satellite feed, there should be an error code returned.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#4 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,226 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:06 AM

Guys,

My experience with Genie is less than enjoyable. I decided to re-up my contract and upgrade my dual tuner DVR to the new 5x DVR. Ever since the upgrade - when shows are played back on all of my DVRs - the shows freeze. DTV stated to me that a software update will happen soon to resolve the issue. That statement was made to me by them on Dec 31st. I noticed the Genie was updated with new Software on 1/9. Previous issues with youtube not working have been resolved however, the freezup on DVR playback remains.

I have two DVRs. My original plus the new Genie. Also, I have a 3rd receiver in the bedroom. The freeze ups happen on all of the devices. Is there a workaround?

Steve


Sounds like a signal problem if it is affecting all your boxes.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#5 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 427 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:17 AM

Sounds like a signal problem if it is affecting all your boxes.


I sort of suspect that they changed the LNB to a SWM LNB and that may be the source of the issue if it happens on all of the receivers...

Can this be seen with live TV as well...

How are the signal strenghts on all receivers?
HR34, HR20x3, HR21, HR22, H24, H21

-BAHitman

#6 OFFLINE   Spazzman

Spazzman

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 16 January 2013 - 07:25 AM

Guys - its not a signal problem because live tv is perfect. It only affects playback of dvr'd shows. DTV told me it had to do with a software update.

#7 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,897 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 16 January 2013 - 08:32 AM

But if it happens on shows recorded on your old DVR, and being played back locally, then it has nothing to do with the Genie software. Your old DVR is on completely different software.

#8 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,902 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:42 AM

Guys - its not a signal problem because live tv is perfect. It only affects playback of dvr'd shows. DTV told me it had to do with a software update.


Did you run the system test? Did it come back clean?
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




spam firewall