Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 pricing as of 01/15/2013


  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 18 January 2013 - 07:15 PM

Your right, right now I have "Whole Home" now, but a unified recording list with a pool of tuners is a big difference in the way we record shows. Now we balance between 2 dvrs, have conflicts upstairs, run downstairs and schedule (we can schedule from our phones, but have no control over priority, etc).


I've never had this problem, but now that you describe the issue I can understand not loving that lol. I would think that "it depends" is way to look at it. I would think having redundancy via multiple dvrs, that way you don't have a single point of failure. Even if you don't record with your current dvrs, you don't have to start over with your playlists and it wouldn't tie up a genie tuner when your on live TV. In general my view is at worst if you left your dvrs in you could do every thing you can with clients and more if you want. But c31s are small. Great kitchen or behind TV receiver. Good luck choosing!

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#52 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 635 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 19 January 2013 - 10:19 AM

I guess the Hopper is for some people. I like having 5 tuners at my discretion and not someone elses. Not to mention isnt there a cap on how long the local channels recordings are available as well? Seems like a waste of a 2TB drive if they are gonna limit those local recordings...


That is incorrect information. Prime Time Anytime is optional, as are channels and days it uses. If it is used the recordings are kept in part of the 1.25TB user space for 8 days (optionally less), but any recording or series can be "saved" or pre-set to be saved until deleted. If PTAT is enabled then all of the PTAT channels are available 24/7 for viewing with just one of the three tuners. Any of us that need more tuners can have second (leased) Hopper or a third (purchased). All recordings are viewable on any Hopper or Joey.

#53 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,282 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 22 January 2013 - 07:38 AM

I wouldn't say the channels it uses is optional, it's either on or off. I agree that it's a good option for some, but for me, I like having discrete tuners without having to have a separate box, and without being required to use a C31 instead of my H25, which is essentially what Dish does.

#54 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,664 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 22 January 2013 - 07:46 AM

Uh, 'on' or 'off' is the two options, hence it is 'optional'! :)

For me the PTAT is a really good thing. When I switched over to Dish this past week, I only needed to turn PTAT on and instantly I had 1/2 my series timers taken care of. And with the other channels I'm finding no more and maybe even slightly less channel/timer contentions.

Depending on what you watch PTAT is either really great or just ho-hum!

Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#55 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,282 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:13 PM

He said PTAT is optional, as is the channels it uses. I have never heard of you being able to activate just Fox and CBS PTAT. It picks up everything on the transponder doesn't it?

#56 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,664 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:32 PM

Yes,you can select which of the ones available that you want to record, which days of the week, and how long to keep them within some limits.

The only thing you can't change is the hours that it does recordings. But other than just not wanting something recorded, there is no downside to recording them all as it only uses one tuner.

Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#57 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,282 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:39 PM

Ok, I thought it was just on or off.

#58 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,664 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:43 PM

I think it was when the Hopper first came out.

IMO the consideration between Hopper and Genie comes down to how handy PTAT is for an individual. Well, that and which service has the most of what you want of course.

Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#59 OFFLINE   Guindalf

Guindalf

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:24 AM

I was looking at the Hopper, but I dislike the fact that they say you can record six shows at once, but they don't tell you that only two of them can be on cable channels! I find that misleading.

I got a Genie last Saturday and I have five independent tuners that can record whatever I choose - AND I'm not waiting for the results of lawsuits!!
There is no dark side of the moon really - as a matter of fact, it's all dark

#60 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,664 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:30 AM

I'm not waiting for the results of lawsuits either and I have Dish! One side or the other will 'win', or they'll come to some agreement. And the current lawsuit only affects the Autohop function, not PTAT itself.

Dish does in fact tell you how the Hopper and PTAT works, but just like D* all things are not explained in ads on TV and in the paper. That's not the function of ads.

One thing that is very nice about PTAT is if it is enabled, then at any time during the day if you are tuned to one of the PTAT channels, then the other boxes can view any of those 4 channels without using another tuner. Effectively giving you access to 4 broadcast channels and 2 other channels with just 3 tuners used.

But again if the big 4 broadcast channels are not what you watch quite a bit, then the Hopper isn't as good as the Genie. In my case, my series link count dropped by half when I switched because of PTAT.

Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#61 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,617 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:55 AM

I was looking at the Hopper, but I dislike the fact that they say you can record six shows at once, but they don't tell you that only two of them can be on cable channels! I find that misleading.

I got a Genie last Saturday and I have five independent tuners that can record whatever I choose - AND I'm not waiting for the results of lawsuits!!


I wouldn't go near the Hopper or Dish. You never know what technology they will steal next or lose in a lawsuit they have brought upon themselves. It's an ethically and morally bankrupt company.
DTV = Digital Television

#62 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,854 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:36 PM

I think it was when the Hopper first came out.

IMO the consideration between Hopper and Genie comes down to how handy PTAT is for an individual. Well, that and which service has the most of what you want of course.

I would actually like PTAT, but the difference between Hopper and Genie for me is NFLST and NHLCI HD channels.
HR34-700, HR22-100

#63 OFFLINE   jjn

jjn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 07 February 2013 - 04:10 PM

Current system is;

2 HR24-500's
1 H24-100
SWM 5 lnb Dish W/Built in Mulitswitch
Whole Home over Ethernet

Called today (cancel, cancel) to see about upgrading the H24 to a DVR because it doesn’t do Pandora. CSR informed me that is was available on the H24, had her check to be sure, she came back and confirmed that is was not. At this point I knew I was in trouble.

Then asked about the cost to upgrade to a DVR, first quote was $99 + $49 install, I said that was more than I wanted to spend. Plus no guarantee what DVR I would get!

Then asked about the new Genie and she said it didn’t do Pandora, not looking good at this point. Had her check again and she said yes it does, there must have been an upgrade, so $250 + $49 install for that. Still said that was to much.

Final offer was no cost for a DVR (self install) but no guarantee what DVR I would get.
Or $99, including install, for a Genie, I said that was to much and asked if there was something better she could do since we have been a customer since 1997. That was it, she could not do any better.

Didn’t even get into the need to replace the existing lnb with a 4 wire lnb and adding a SWM 16 mulitswitch (9 turners total).

Thanked her for her time and said I would have to think about it.
Looks like I’ll be calling again in a couple of days.

#64 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,287 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 07 February 2013 - 04:20 PM

$99 for a Genie installed is a great deal. That would most likely include a SWiM-16 and necessary accessories.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#65 OFFLINE   jjn

jjn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 07 February 2013 - 04:53 PM

It does but the CSR was, how should I put it, didn't know what she was talking about.
I'll call back and hope I get a CSR that knows what the boxes can and can't do.

#66 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 07 February 2013 - 08:51 PM

It does but the CSR was, how should I put it, didn't know what she was talking about.
I'll call back and hope I get a CSR that knows what the boxes can and can't do.


As dennisj said they include that on the install of the Genie, but you got to sometimes remind them of your current setup before they put a note for the installer

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#67 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,055 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 07 February 2013 - 09:27 PM

As dennisj said they include that on the install of the Genie, but you got to sometimes remind them of your current setup before they put a note for the installer


The note means nothing to a technician. Most notes mention dogs and cats but nothing of the parts needed. :lol: The work order would generate all the equipment needed for the install and nothing else would get installed despite some silly note.

#68 OFFLINE   jjn

jjn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 05:01 PM

So I just got off the phone with DTV and they are going to drop ship a Genie for $53.04.
Tried to explain that I was keeping the 2 HR24-500’s and replacing the H24-100 with the Genie (total of 9 turners). CSR said it would work with our existing system and my monthly bill stays the same, plus got Showtime for 6 months free. Let you know what happens.

#69 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,665 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 10 February 2013 - 05:15 PM

Current system is;
2 HR24-500's
1 H24-100
SWM 5 lnb Dish W/Built in Mulitswitch
Whole Home over Ethernet


CSR said it would work with our existing system


Sorry, but the CSR was incorrect. If you have the Genie (5 tuners) plus two HR24's (2 tuners each) you have 9 tuners. Your current dish can only support a maximum of 8 tuners.

Either you need a new LNB plus an SWM16, OR you need to limit one of your HR24's to only using one tuner (which you can do in satellite setup).

#70 OFFLINE   jjn

jjn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 10 February 2013 - 06:03 PM

Yes thats right, I tried to explain that to the CSR but they said it would work.
Need a new LNB, SWM16 and another line from the SWM16 to the power inserter.

#71 OFFLINE   Lisn2me

Lisn2me

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2013

Posted 11 February 2013 - 04:18 PM

Just called to see if I could upgrade to a Genie receiver and best prices was $249, my contract is not up until November so maybe as it gets closer I can get that down.

Side note the rep did say the HR44 droped two days and installers should have them now.

#72 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,287 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2013 - 04:25 PM

Yes thats right, I tried to explain that to the CSR but they said it would work.
Need a new LNB, SWM16 and another line from the SWM16 to the power inserter.


You don't necessarily need another line for the PI. You can power it with the #1 output - just be sure it's connected via the power passing port of each splitter back to the 16.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#73 OFFLINE   jjn

jjn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 11 February 2013 - 06:07 PM

Thanks dennisj00, I was using this diagram http://manuals.solid...-Install-LR.pdf for what would be needed.
With our existing setup 9 turners will not work, need a SWM-16 installed, don't know why they said the existing setup would work, but they are drop shipping the HR34 without a proper install.
I don't want to turn off one of the turners on the HR24 which would give us 8 total.
Let ya know what happens once the HR34 is installed.
I'm sure there will be a 776 error code "Too many receivers or tuners are connected to the SWiM. Test with SWiM meter and upgrade to SWiM 16 if necessary"

#74 OFFLINE   ctxx24

ctxx24

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2008

Posted 01 March 2013 - 09:45 AM

I just got the genie shipped with 2 clients for 50...i have to hook it up tho... Being I already have whole home and sending my hr22 back do I just hook this up the same way the others are?

#75 OFFLINE   Guindalf

Guindalf

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 01 March 2013 - 10:03 AM

Yes.
There is no dark side of the moon really - as a matter of fact, it's all dark




Protected By... spam firewall...And...