Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New HD Channels (IFC, We, Fuse)


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   clotter

clotter

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2008

Posted 20 January 2013 - 10:08 AM

Great news! I often see movies on IFC that I would like to watch, but never did because it wasn't in HD.


I semi-retract my comment. I checked out a movie playing last night on IFC. HD? Check. OAR? Check. Commercials? WTF? :mad: The last time I watched anything on IFC, it was commercial free. I wonder if the movies are also edited for content? Once that commercial hit, my desire to watch the movie was gone. Oh well, I still have more than enough non-commercial choices.

All in all though, any channel switching to HD can only be good news.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   epokopac

epokopac

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 339 posts
  • LocationLawrenceville, Georgia
Joined: Aug 08, 2007

Posted 20 January 2013 - 10:40 AM

I semi-retract my comment. I checked out a movie playing last night on IFC. HD? Check. OAR? Check. Commercials? WTF? :mad: The last time I watched anything on IFC, it was commercial free. I wonder if the movies are also edited for content? Once that commercial hit, my desire to watch the movie was gone. Oh well, I still have more than enough non-commercial choices.

All in all though, any channel switching to HD can only be good news.


I believe it was around DEC 2010 when IFC became the "Interrupted Film Channel". The version of a film they get is most likely whatever a distributor sends them; it may or may not be edited. Haven't watched IFC in a long time; the only thing I watch on commercial-laden AMC (same parent company I believe) is The Walking Dead.

#28 OFFLINE   Tecmo SB Guy

Tecmo SB Guy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 169 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 20 January 2013 - 12:11 PM

I semi-retract my comment. I checked out a movie playing last night on IFC. HD? Check. OAR? Check. Commercials? WTF? :mad: The last time I watched anything on IFC, it was commercial free. I wonder if the movies are also edited for content? Once that commercial hit, my desire to watch the movie was gone. Oh well, I still have more than enough non-commercial choices.

All in all though, any channel switching to HD can only be good news.


Yeah thanks to Dish for putting IFC in HD.

But are most of the movies they show on this channel not in HD? The commercials are spectacular but when they go back to the movie you can see the significant downgrade.

My excitement disappeared for this channel when I saw the PQ. It's horrible HD compared to other unedited movie channels like HBO, Showtime, Starz, Cinemax, HDNet Movies, Epix, etc.

Although I will give credit where it's due, I saw a bit of "The Descent" on Friday night and it looked like good quality HD. Maybe it was because they showed it in the 2.35:1 format, not the regular 16:9 I saw with the other movies.

The commercials thing, I'm actually okay with. As long as they don't cut out any of the movie to show the commercials, I'm fine because I have a DVR.

And they don't edit for content for most of their movies. IFC puts that disclaimer up before they start every movie.

#29 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,187 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 20 January 2013 - 03:50 PM

And if you don't like someone's comments, you don't need to provide an editorial.
Not everyone drinks the Dish Kool-Aid.


What are you even talking about?

This is a thread announcing new channels in HD... If you don't like them, why even bother posting? I'm sure there are channels you like that others don't want... and the same would be true if they posted in a thread for channels you like.

What Kool-Aid? Dish added some new HD feeds of channels... Please stay on the topic of the thread. Thanks!

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#30 OFFLINE   Inkosaurus

Inkosaurus

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2011

Posted 20 January 2013 - 04:49 PM

I semi-retract my comment. I checked out a movie playing last night on IFC. HD? Check. OAR? Check. Commercials? WTF? :mad: The last time I watched anything on IFC, it was commercial free. I wonder if the movies are also edited for content? Once that commercial hit, my desire to watch the movie was gone. Oh well, I still have more than enough non-commercial choices.

All in all though, any channel switching to HD can only be good news.


Ive seen nudity and heard some swear words that im almost positive should be censored on other channels. So aside from the commercials I dont think they cut anything.

#31 OFFLINE   Wildblue

Wildblue

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
  • LocationAlaska
Joined: Mar 20, 2008

Posted 21 January 2013 - 02:27 AM

They aren't really new channel numbers... they are the same as their previously carried already SD counterparts.

IFC SD/HD are on 298
We SD/HD are on 128
Fuse SD/HD are on 164

Thanks, Stewart--I've checked my guide using "All Channels", and don't see any of the new HD equivalents at those numbers. I've reset my receiver (Hopper) using the reset button, and then again by unplugging it for 10 seconds. I've called customer service, and did a search here and in the manual, but can't see any options. Is there a way to force my receiver to update the program guide?

I checked, and it does have the latest software update. (S234 for Hopper)

Thanks-

#32 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 21 January 2013 - 08:44 AM

Thanks, Stewart--I've checked my guide using "All Channels", and don't see any of the new HD equivalents at those numbers. I've reset my receiver (Hopper) using the reset button, and then again by unplugging it for 10 seconds. I've called customer service, and did a search here and in the manual, but can't see any options. Is there a way to force my receiver to update the program guide?

I checked, and it does have the latest software update. (S234 for Hopper)

Thanks-


Is your mapping feature turned on? I thought it was always on but I could be mistaken. They may be at the highest numbers, check around 9578. 9587 and 9589.

#33 OFFLINE   BonefishPaul

BonefishPaul

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:44 AM

Any chance we'll see ESPN News & Disney Channel brought back in HD during our lifetime?? :confused:

#34 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,187 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 21 January 2013 - 01:50 PM

Thanks, Stewart--I've checked my guide using "All Channels", and don't see any of the new HD equivalents at those numbers. I've reset my receiver (Hopper) using the reset button, and then again by unplugging it for 10 seconds. I've called customer service, and did a search here and in the manual, but can't see any options. Is there a way to force my receiver to update the program guide?

I checked, and it does have the latest software update. (S234 for Hopper)

Thanks-


I just noticed you are in Alaska... I would have to go back and look at the uplink... they may not have uplinked these new feeds for Alaska yet.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#35 OFFLINE   dennispap

dennispap

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 665 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:39 PM

Any chance we'll see ESPN News & Disney Channel brought back in HD during our lifetime?? :confused:


Depends how old you are.:lol:

#36 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,784 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 21 January 2013 - 05:53 PM

I just noticed you are in Alaska... I would have to go back and look at the uplink... they may not have uplinked these new feeds for Alaska yet.

Good catch ... All three HD feeds are on 129 ConUS transponders that do not cover Alaska. 129 has some spots that cover Alaska and Hawaii but the new channels are not on those spots.

#37 OFFLINE   BonefishPaul

BonefishPaul

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 10:19 PM

Depends how old you are.:lol:


That's what I am afraid of :eek2:

#38 OFFLINE   Wildblue

Wildblue

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
  • LocationAlaska
Joined: Mar 20, 2008

Posted 22 January 2013 - 04:10 AM

Good catch ... All three HD feeds are on 129 ConUS transponders that do not cover Alaska. 129 has some spots that cover Alaska and Hawaii but the new channels are not on those spots.


Hey, thanks for helping on this, fellas. This is strange. There's some channels that don't come through up here in Alaska because of what satellite they're on. But up until now, they've still been displayed on my program guide, and if I select the channel, I've gotten a sort of on-screen message that it was trying to tune the channel. Examples were like 302HD, 305HD, and lots of others in the 300's.

But now, literally as of like today, I'm now not only seeing these new channels like 128HD, but all those other channels have disappeared from my program guide too. (the other channels were there yesterday) Very strange/interesting. Maybe Dish just updated how the receivers handle this situation. I'm also not seeing the new channels for NHL Center Ice, which should be 885-899. (I don't have any option to watch NHL games other than the one NHL Network channel)

Garys, I'm not sure what the "mapping feature" is, but no, I don't see 9578, 9587 or 9589, or copies of the new channels around that area. But yes, you're right in that up here in Alaska we do get duplicates of many of those non-available channels up the high 8000 and 9000's and some do come through. But I'm not seeing IFC, WE, or Fuse HD. (or at least, not yet)

Edited by Wildblue, 22 January 2013 - 04:18 AM.


#39 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 22 January 2013 - 09:22 AM

Alaska does not have the channels located in the guide at the same location as they do in the continental US. I don't believe the new HD is available in your area, at least not yet.

#40 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,784 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 22 January 2013 - 05:33 PM

Mapping depends on receiver ... on the Hopper the channels that are mapped down do not appear on their high numbered channels. 9578, 9587 and 9589 don't show up.

The Hopper also has collapsible channels ... so all of the NHL channels appear as 475 and a subchannel, all the NBA channels appear as 470 and a subchannel. If you don't have a Hopper the channels would appear in the 9500s (HD). And in Alaska many of them would come up "error" as they are on the 48 state beam of 129.

#41 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,562 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 22 January 2013 - 09:50 PM

And they don't edit for content for most of their movies. IFC puts that disclaimer up before they start every movie.


Ive seen nudity and heard some swear words that im almost positive should be censored on other channels. So aside from the commercials I dont think they cut anything.


Correct. To be exact it states: "ALL IFC MOVIES HAVE NOT BEEN EDITED FOR CONTENT OR TIME."

However, right after the disclaimer its very possible you might also see: "This Film has been modified from its original version." This is due to them usually cropping a 2.35:1 film to 16:9 AR and/or speeding up the credits at the end of the films.

Posted Image
List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET) DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500

#42 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 23 January 2013 - 12:40 PM

So which packages do these show up on?
DishAmerica?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#43 OFFLINE   Orion9

Orion9

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2011

Posted 23 January 2013 - 05:59 PM

There are some channel/package guides here:
http://www.mydish.co...grammingguides/

It looks like all of them are AT 120 and up.

#44 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 23 January 2013 - 07:12 PM

There are some channel/package guides here:
http://www.mydish.co...grammingguides/

It looks like all of them are AT 120 and up.


Plus HD package (whether it's free or they pay for it).

#45 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,870 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:34 PM

Depends how old you are.:lol:


Lmao. The famous Dish "Soon."

#46 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,870 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:38 PM

And if you don't like someone's comments, you don't need to provide an editorial.
Not everyone drinks the Dish Kool-Aid.


?? Being happy Dish added three HD channels is drinking the Kool-Aid? And many newer posters might not realize the shopping channels help to keep our cost lower. AND - just like any other channel, some people enjoy watching them. To me it was a very relevant comment....

#47 OFFLINE   jdmart

jdmart

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2004

Posted 25 January 2013 - 09:53 AM

Hope Dish adds TV Land HD; DIRECTV just added it.
JD
Greetings from Albuquerque!
Home of the International Balloon Fiesta!

#48 OFFLINE   Dario33

Dario33

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 487 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2008

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:42 AM

IFC finally. :up:

#49 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:57 AM

If only Fuse led to MSG. Sigh.

"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#50 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,870 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 25 January 2013 - 07:55 PM

Hope Dish adds TV Land HD; DIRECTV just added it.


I'm betting it will be not too far off.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...