Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Leaving AT&T for DirecTV


  • Please log in to reply
164 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    CUTTING EDGE

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,395 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 17 January 2013 - 03:40 PM

I see, but it allows me to then record even on that antenna? So say I wanted to record something on ABC on that channel, since its hooked to the HR34 it will, is that the main purpose behind it? Do the OTA channels show up in the menu through the HR34 listed with all the others? OR do I have to flip my TV to a different input etc...?


Yes, the OTA channels are incorporated into the guide and are treated just like satellite channels. Full trickplay and recording ability. You can also set up your local market and one other if you are lucky enough to be close to a secondary market and get those channels incorporated into you guide too. For me, Milwaukee and Chicago in HD. :D

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,936 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 17 January 2013 - 03:41 PM

Man, I am a sports guy and ESPN NEWS is a big one...dang.


If you are a sports guy, you definitely want DirecTV. Dish doesn't even have Extra Innings (in case you want to get out of market baseball).

Though there are some DirecTV RSN's that are part time HD. Your's may very well not be, I haven't checked the maps. Mine is part time.

#53 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,612 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 January 2013 - 03:44 PM

Man, I am a sports guy and ESPN NEWS is a big one...dang.


It's not even close in general, but even more so when you start looking at the sports offerings from both. BTW - your primary RSN is a full-time HD channel with DirecTV, but only part-time with Dish.

#54 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,612 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 January 2013 - 03:48 PM

Though there are some DirecTV RSN's that are part time HD. Your's may very well not be, I haven't checked the maps. Mine is part time.


To add to what ^^^dpeters11^^^ said.

The RSN's for that area are FS Midwest and FS Southwest. Both are available full-time in HD with DirecTV. Both were part-time HD with Dish Network. That may have changed on their side, but I don't know.

#55 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:00 PM

DirecTV has more HD channels than Dish.
DirecTV has better HD picture quality than Dish.
DirecTV actually resolves their retrans disputes and does so quickly.

Dish Network is in a distant second place behind DirecTV for a reason.


I'm starting to realize all this...thanks for continued support of information. Being informed is essential to making good decisions.

#56 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:02 PM

To add to what ^^^dpeters11^^^ said.

The RSN's for that area are FS Midwest and FS Southwest. Both are available full-time in HD with DirecTV. Both were part-time HD with Dish Network. That may have changed on their side, but I don't know.


99% closer to my decision...thanks everyone. You've been great help.

#57 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,093 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:10 PM

Awesome and OKIE!! Yay! lol...need an Okies opinion on the signal and loss of signal during our famous weather days...how does DTV hold up? Its really my only hang up with DTV, weather issues and worries.

Native Michigander of Kentucky hillbilly parents here but I've been in OK for a while now. Yes, you can lose signal if there is a really strong thunderstorm between you and the satellites. Regular rain is not a problem. I usually record network stuff that's important OTA just in case, and satellite stuff is usually available on a later broadcast.

Also, I chose the 27th, to give myself some padding to cancel the install if I had 2nd thoughts or my wife wasn't happy with the move. So far she seems open to it so I'm out here trying to make any buyers remorse go away.

Yep, when you commit to a two-year contract you want to make sure that you're doing the right thing.

Sounds to me like you want me to call back and get a "custom install" done not the standard which is what I think I chose? I might have to print that stuff out so I remember what to have him do.

I asked the sales rep for the 4 room install, the living room being my main install for the DVR and my bedroom with 1 client. While I wanted 2 other rooms installed with clients for future use, but not activated, but looking at my ticket I see only 2 rooms with the Genie and 1 client, so I think I need to call back to fix that?

Some people are comfortable crawling around in their attic and running their own coax (guilty here) and others are better served paying someone else to do it. As someone else posted a custom install may need to be between you and the installer.

I think there is a "SWiM LNB and a single coax" in my attic now that Cox installed, but again, not sure if they will use other peoples equipment/hardware up there? What is a SWiM LNB? I don't think I need more than 5 tuners from the (HR-34), I mean 5 shows at once is probably plenty? Seems like a lot of people have 8 or more in the house, but why does one need more than the 5 tuners in the Genie?

Nothing Cox is compatible, and installers usually like to run their own coax. As for five tuners, well time will tell if that's enough. You might get used to recording everything just in case. Me, I've got 17 satellite/6 OTA tuners plus one on the PC and that's enough.

Where is the Antenna farm, where all the TV/Radio stations are off Broadway? I'm just a few miles west...I'm off 122nd and Rockwell/Council, so not real far. I've picked up the OTA before with a cheap old OTA antenna, back when I had TiVO.

Almost all the stations are there except KSBI 52 which is over off of the Kilpatrick Turnpike where it runs N/S to your SW. So you're probably good with any set top antenna. I'm 13-15 miles away from the antenna farm near SE 29th & Hiwassee and have a small UHF/VHF antenna in the attic but it's overkill.

So explain again to me what I need to have installed or ask the installer to do. I guess I'm going custom install now. I want the dish on the back side of the house that faces east. My house sits east/west (front porch/back porch) and if its on the back side (east) it has a clear sight to the south, no trees nothing in the way, its a newer sub division. Will he mount it there and just drill into my attic and run the cable and drop down into the wall where my TV is? How should I have him set it up?

Usually an installer wants more $$ to fish a wall from the attic, with a standard install they'll drill through the wall. Sounds like no problem mounting a dish.

Send me a PM if you're interested in seeing a Genie/clients/MRV/etc. in action.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#58 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,473 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:12 PM

Also, Directv will be adding these channels in HD soon:

204 - Headline News HD
232 - Cooking Channel HD
253 - Lifetime Movie Network HD
271 - H2 HD
285 - Investigation Discovery HD
304 - TV Land HD
541 - Encore Action HD
559 - Independant Film Channel HD
HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200

#59 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:14 PM

Native Michigander of Kentucky hillbilly parents here but I've been in OK for a while now. Yes, you can lose signal if there is a really strong thunderstorm between you and the satellites. Regular rain is not a problem. I usually record network stuff that's important OTA just in case, and satellite stuff is usually available on a later broadcast.

Yep, when you commit to a two-year contract you want to make sure that you're doing the right thing.

Some people are comfortable crawling around in their attic and running their own coax (guilty here) and others are better served paying someone else to do it. As someone else posted a custom install may need to be between you and the installer.

Nothing Cox is compatible, and installers usually like to run their own coax. As for five tuners, well time will tell if that's enough. You might get used to recording everything just in case. Me, I've got 17 satellite/6 OTA tuners plus one on the PC and that's enough.

Almost all the stations are there except KSBI 52 which is over off of the Kilpatrick Turnpike where it runs N/S to your SW. So you're probably good with any set top antenna. I'm 13-15 miles away from the antenna farm near SE 29th & Hiwassee and have a small UHF/VHF antenna in the attic but it's overkill.

Usually an installer wants more $$ to fish a wall from the attic, with a standard install they'll drill through the wall. Sounds like no problem mounting a dish.

Send me a PM if you're interested in seeing a Genie/clients/MRV/etc. in action.


When I had the install booked, the sales rep asked me if I wanted standard or custom...standard was free, custom would have been more, but I'm not quite sure what that included. I don't know what they consider a "custom" install?

#60 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:15 PM

Also, Directv will be adding these channels in HD soon:

204 - Headline News HD
232 - Cooking Channel HD
253 - Lifetime Movie Network HD
271 - H2 HD
285 - Investigation Discovery HD
304 - TV Land HD
541 - Encore Action HD
559 - Independant Film Channel HD


BOOM!

The sales rep said the DTV Cinema was like Netflix on Steroids? So like does it have similar content to Netflix? My son uses Netflix everyday, he's 3, he watches all kinds of kids shows on it, guess I'll wait and see what it has before I cut out Netflix from our budget.

#61 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,612 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:18 PM

BOOM!

The sales rep said the DTV Cinema was like Netflix on Steroids? So like does it have similar content to Netflix? My son uses Netflix everyday, he's 3, he watches all kinds of kids shows on it, guess I'll wait and see what it has before I cut out Netflix from our budget.


Have you heard of HBO Go? You can watch virtually all HBO content (movies and series...all of the series) from a PC or mobile device. DirecTV has ALL of that HBO Content OnDemand.

#62 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:20 PM

Have you heard of HBO Go? You can watch virtually all HBO content (movies and series...all of the series) from a PC or mobile device. DirecTV has ALL of that HBO Content OnDemand.


Yep I use this now with my AT&T account. Its cool.

#63 OFFLINE   Mojo Jojo

Mojo Jojo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 137 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2012

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:24 PM

HBO Go is amazing on the Roku as well. I know that Dish allows this, but I do not think DirecTV does.

#64 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,612 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:30 PM

HBO Go is amazing on the Roku as well. I know that Dish allows this, but I do not think DirecTV does.


Don't need a Roku with DirecTV since they already offer all of the HBO Go content in HD and DD 5.1.
DTV = Digital Television

#65 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,565 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:36 PM

In addition, DirecTV also has MAXGO, Showtime Anytime, Starz Play & Encore Play.

MAX On Demand has all the content that is available from MAXGO and in better picture/audio quality.

Showtime On Demand has the equal amount of content available from Showtime Anytime and in better picture/audio quality.
List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET) DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500

#66 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 17 January 2013 - 05:14 PM

Yep I use this now with my AT&T account. Its cool.


One thing to mention about directv on demand is that its now a streaming/download service. If you let it fully download you get same PQ as OTA. If your impatient and ur internet is fast enough u can stream it now. Netflix has really bad motion blur if you ask me. But as others have mentioned the movie channels are the best on-demand. PS showtime will be following suit with HBO and offer all episodes of show series sometime this year.

Can't believe no one has mentioned NFL Sunday Ticket yet...

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#67 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 17 January 2013 - 08:17 PM

Can't believe no one has mentioned NFL Sunday Ticket yet...


Probably because its out of season. I'm well aware of it, and not sure I'll get it when it rolls around its not even offered right now to sign up early for.

#68 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 17 January 2013 - 09:04 PM

Probably because its out of season. I'm well aware of it, and not sure I'll get it when it rolls around its not even offered right now to sign up early for.


It actually is but only the max version. But most won't commit to it yet. And I'm shocked its not being offered to new subs currently.

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#69 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 17 January 2013 - 10:29 PM

It actually is but only the max version. But most won't commit to it yet. And I'm shocked its not being offered to new subs currently.


They redesign the contract year over year. It probably will not be offered to anyone until June or July.

#70 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 17 January 2013 - 10:33 PM

So I'd rather pay $75/$99 for that and have the fastest I can get without buying a T1 or T3 line. This would help me in the house with all the iPads and iPhones on wireless and all the other devices on the network. So I've decided to really break up with AT&T and just have their home phone and cell phone. Let DTV do what it does best and give me the best TV experience and Cox give me the fastest internet...3 bills but 3 of the best I can get.


Your router may be more of a limitation than your download speed in this case. Having a higher download speed never hurts but if your router is being bottle-necked from multiple devices, you may not see much of a speed increase.

#71 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 17 January 2013 - 10:38 PM

They redesign the contract year over year. It probably will not be offered to anyone until June or July.


No no I can tell you the 13-14 season can be added to any dtv account already. Dtv already has the rights to it. They Bought it 4 or so years ago and there isn't a lockout so it is out unseasonably early this year.

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#72 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 17 January 2013 - 11:27 PM

No no I can tell you the 13-14 season can be added to any dtv account already. Dtv already has the rights to it. They Bought it 4 or so years ago and there isn't a lockout so it is out unseasonably early this year.


Good to know. Still, chances are no offers until June or July either way.

#73 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 17 January 2013 - 11:45 PM

Your router may be more of a limitation than your download speed in this case. Having a higher download speed never hurts but if your router is being bottle-necked from multiple devices, you may not see much of a speed increase.


Here is what I'm looking at getting...
http://ww2.cox.com/r...ternet_ult_0329

With the latest DOCSIS 3.0 modem technology, you access a new network environment that separates your traffic to keep your fast connection flying. And if you go wireless, get more out of your Wireless-N router. Ultimate Internet gives you the cutting edge in access making everything you do online unsurpassable.


Look at the chart at the bottom of the page in the Ultimate column.
My friend pays for this, gets 60+ where he lives...

I will have it setup so that my modem will send the signal out to my gigabit switch over my cat6 cables in the wall, which goes out to my entertainment center where I have the TV, BluRay, Xbox, AppleTV, and STB (DirecTV soon).

#74 OFFLINE   chrisjmccord

chrisjmccord

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2013

Posted 17 January 2013 - 11:46 PM

Good to know. Still, chances are no offers until June or July either way.


I asked to add the NFL Ticket, he couldn't do it, said it wasn't being offered...yet.

#75 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 18 January 2013 - 10:41 AM

I asked to add the NFL Ticket, he couldn't do it, said it wasn't being offered...yet.


The agent gave u the wrong info. Been out since jan 15th.

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...





Protected By... spam firewall...And...