Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Bad DECA?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   KSbugeater

KSbugeater

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 309 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2005

Posted 17 January 2013 - 06:02 PM

I have a HR21 that keeps rebooting. I noticed the lights on the DECA (white box) would go on and off. I ran diagnostics on it. It failed the BER test with a 6802 error.

How do I know if the error lies with the DECA or the hr21 not powering the DECA?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 17 January 2013 - 06:48 PM

Try disconnecting the DECA totally. You don't need it for the DVR to work stand-alone.

#3 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 18 January 2013 - 07:37 AM

Try disconnecting the DECA totally. You don't need it for the DVR to work stand-alone.


True, but without the DECA, you need a BSF to prevent the DECA signal from getting to the receiver. Plus, it sounds like the OP would want the DECA as I assume they are in a Whole Home environment.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#4 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 18 January 2013 - 07:40 AM

I was only suggesting it as a diagnostic step, not a solution.

What problems (if any) does not having the BSF in place cause?

#5 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,244 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:11 AM

Some receivers when they cant communicate with the SWM will do random reboots. DECA's that randomly communicate with the cloud would have flashing lights. You should look at cables and connectors.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:46 AM

I was only suggesting it as a diagnostic step, not a solution.

What problems (if any) does not having the BSF in place cause?


By not having the DECA or the BSF, the DECA frequency gets to the tuners in the receiver, which could cause signal issues and can possibly damage the receiver.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,460 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 18 January 2013 - 10:44 AM

How do I know if the error lies with the DECA or the hr21 not powering the DECA?


Do you have a DECA on another receiver in the house? If so, try swapping the DECA's on the two receivers. Then wait to see where the problem occurs. If it moves to the new receiver, then the DECA is the problem. If it stays with the original receiver, then the receiver is the problem.

#8 OFFLINE   KSbugeater

KSbugeater

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 309 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2005

Posted 18 January 2013 - 10:59 AM

After I left the diagnostic, it booted up and has been working normally. If it acts up again, I will swap DECAs with another receiver. I switched all of the boxes to static IPs outside the DHCP range (as I had before I switched routers) so we'll see if that helps things. The power went off the other day and I wonder if boxes were fighting over assigned IPs or something.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...