Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

what exactly do i need to move to a SWM setup..


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lazarus2297

lazarus2297

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2008

Posted 18 January 2013 - 04:12 AM

Ok i tried searching through the threads but didn't really find the specific answer to my question..

I currently have two boxes HR-23 (living room) HR-22 (bedroom). I have a zinwell 6x8 multi-switch but would like to move to SWM to have less coax cables going to each box and to rid the HR-22 of the B-band converters..
By my understanding all i should need is a SWM 8 Multi Switch and the Power Inserter.. since I am only running two boxes i shouldn't need the splitters, right?

Thanks,

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,913 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:04 AM

You should be okay without a splitter. Power connects to one of the two SWM outputs, but there should be a receiver connection on the power inserter. Alternately, you could use a 2 output splitter on the second output to feed both DVRs and just the power inserter to the first output.

#3 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,323 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:37 AM

As another option, you can lose the splitter, run one output from the SWM8 to each box, and run the line from the PI to the Legacy 3 port on the SWM8.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#4 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:42 AM

Or you snag a swm lnb and 2 way splitter and power inserted and have a single line from the dish to the 2 way splitter. Probably cheaper I would think since swm 8 multi switches are more rare these days. Craigslist.

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#5 ONLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,525 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:51 AM

get a swm8 off ebay (you already have the four lines comming down to wb68-

You will need Two deca's and a CCK kit. (ebay)

Go her to see how to hook it up

http://www.weaknees....v-resources.php

1.Power off all receivers
2.remove the bbc's
3. Swap the wb68 with the smw8 (four down lines)
4. id the rg6 to each reciver (connect to swm splitter)
5. attach one bbc to each receiver
6. attach the CCK to the swm splitter
7.Then Power up one receiver at a time (unitl you get a picture)
8. then do the next one.

NO roof time and your done :)
"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#6 OFFLINE   Rent_Share

Rent_Share

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2011

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:53 AM

Two DECAs and a Cat 5/6 connection from one of the receivers to the internet connection should make you eligible for Multi Room Viewing

Unsupported since you are soing the install

Dish Slimline-5 WB68 MRV Enabled (Non Supported) Cat 5
HR20-100 - HR21/100 - HR23-700 - Not Networked DSR708 SD


#7 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 18 January 2013 - 09:21 AM

Two DECAs and a Cat 5/6 connection from one of the receivers to the internet connection should make you eligible for Multi Room Viewing

Unsupported since you are soing the install


If you are using DECA, you cannot run a CAT5 connection to a receiver unless it is a Genie. The OP would also need a CCK (basically another DECA with a PI) to bridge to their home network/Internet.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#8 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 18 January 2013 - 10:47 AM

get a swm8 off ebay (you already have the four lines comming down to wb68-

You will need Two deca's and a CCK kit. (ebay)

Go her to see how to hook it up

http://www.weaknees....v-resources.php

1.Power off all receivers
2.remove the bbc's
3. Swap the wb68 with the smw8 (four down lines)
4. id the rg6 to each reciver (connect to swm splitter)
5. attach one bbc to each receiver
6. attach the CCK to the swm splitter
7.Then Power up one receiver at a time (unitl you get a picture)
8. then do the next one.

NO roof time and your done :)


I understood OP to want to reduce clutter and remove bbc I saw no mention of whole home in his post. That's why I suggested the cleanest install. Decas are about as bad as bbc's.

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#9 OFFLINE   lazarus2297

lazarus2297

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2008

Posted 18 January 2013 - 10:24 PM

hey thanks for all the replies.. so I already have MRV setup on my home network.. both my DVR's are networked so I don't need the DECA stuff.. here is my proposed future set up.. let me know if it will work or I need to tweak it some..

I currently have 4 lines coming from my Dish to my zinwell 6x8 multiswitch.. I have two lines running to my HR23 in living room (no need for BBC's here) I also have an OTA line coming from the roof (grounded at the box where my zinwell is) then running to a AM21 i have for my HR23.. I have 2 lines running to my HR22 (BBC's added here)

What i am thinking of doing is replacing the zinwell with the SWM8.. running a new line from the attic area for the Power Inverter to power the SWM8 (since i don't have power at the junction box now) then the reuse one line going to each receiver and connect to the SWM outputs...

will this work properly?

#10 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,243 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 19 January 2013 - 08:16 AM

Sounds like a lot of work when you could just use the power supply in-line with one of the receivers.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#11 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,913 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 19 January 2013 - 08:37 AM

If your dish is easy to get to, I would just replace the LNB assembly with an SWM LNB. Use one of the 4 lines already running, and as samrs suggest, put the power inserter at one of the receivers. Put a 2-way splitter at the multiswitch location.

#12 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 19 January 2013 - 12:38 PM

If your dish is easy to get to, I would just replace the LNB assembly with an SWM LNB. Use one of the 4 lines already running, and as samrs suggest, put the power inserter at one of the receivers. Put a 2-way splitter at the multiswitch location.


This was my suggestion too. Seems to be simplest/easiest/fastest/cleanest and probably cheapest.

Take luck.

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#13 OFFLINE   lazarus2297

lazarus2297

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2008

Posted 19 January 2013 - 03:04 PM

I would rather not mess with my Dish (although it is easy pretty easily accessible) and running a new line from my attic down to my junction box really isn't that hard..

I appreciate all the other ideas but will the scenario that I described work?

i was looking at this auction on eBay..

http://www.ebay.com/...984.m1423.l2649

#14 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 19 January 2013 - 03:09 PM

I would rather not mess with my Dish (although it is easy pretty easily accessible) and running a new line from my attic down to my junction box really isn't that hard..

I appreciate all the other ideas but will the scenario that I described work?

i was looking at this auction on eBay..

http://www.ebay.com/...984.m1423.l2649


It will work, but why run a a new line down from the new SWM8 for the PI? Put the PI in-line on the same coax that is going to the power-passing port on the splitter to the SWM11 port on the SWM8.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...