Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM8 NO SIGNAL


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   nachocowboy

nachocowboy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2013

Posted 19 January 2013 - 03:41 PM

New install, not my first.

2 HR24-100 receivers
Swm8 box in attic
Power injector 29v @ receiver#1 location

4 wires from dish into 4 inputs on swm8, I am pretty sure it doesn't matter which wire goes into which input from what i have been reading

swm1 port has the wire from the power injector 30 feet away
swm 2 port i have left the cap on for now, but will send to receiver#2
other side of power injector to receiver#1, tuner#1

setup shows SWM detected and slimline5 dish but no satellite signal is detected

I get zero signal on SWM transponders.

sat 101 shows zero until transponders 28,30,32
sat 110 shows 99,99,100 on transponders 8,10,12
sat 119 all zero
sat 99c, zero
sat 103ca, zero
sat 103cb, zero

spent the better part of today checking all connections, rebooting, etc... my Accutrac22 meter shows high 80's on all 4 wires from the dish @ the swm8 in the attic.

Driving me crazy.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance !

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,943 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 January 2013 - 03:46 PM

sat 101 shows zero until transponders 28,30,32
sat 110 shows 99,99,100 on transponders 8,10,12


Realign the dish to the east by about 9 degrees.

This is a classic case of the dish pointing/centered on, the 110 instead of the 101.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   nachocowboy

nachocowboy

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2013

Posted 19 January 2013 - 03:47 PM

headed to the roof, back in a few, thanks !

#4 OFFLINE   nachocowboy

nachocowboy

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2013

Posted 19 January 2013 - 04:09 PM

Amazing. Simply amazing ! Thanks so much for the help... you saved me from jumping off the roof in disgust !

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,943 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 January 2013 - 04:52 PM

Amazing. Simply amazing ! Thanks so much for the help... you saved me from jumping off the roof in disgust !

You posted enough to point to exactly what the problem was, which has been done by others before so it rates "classic" status. :lol:
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...