Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie Series Link Limit - Is 100 enough?


  • Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

Poll: How many Genie SLs are in your Series Manager? (167 member(s) have cast votes)

How many Genie SLs are in your Series Manager? Check all that apply.

  1. 0-50 (49 votes [26.63%])

    Percentage of vote: 26.63%

  2. 50-75 (26 votes [14.13%])

    Percentage of vote: 14.13%

  3. 75-100 (27 votes [14.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 14.67%

  4. I wish I could add more than 100 (82 votes [44.57%])

    Percentage of vote: 44.57%

  5. I would never need more than 100 (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#41 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,115 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 18 February 2013 - 09:38 PM

Especially with FIA, that might become more true for more people.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,036 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 18 February 2013 - 09:48 PM

. . . . . and suggested I also use the contact us link on directv.com which I did.

May I suggest if you have not done so previously you follow suit and let DirecTV know that the 100 limit is not enough.

Couldn't find it.
DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#43 OFFLINE   c073186

c073186

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2013

Posted 19 February 2013 - 08:20 AM

If Directv maybe gets the duplicate recording issue totally fixed you wouldn't need more then 100.


Just out of curiosity... what is the duplicate recording issue? Is that where it will record repeat episodes even if you specify "first run" only?

#44 OFFLINE   mshaw2715

mshaw2715

    Breaking the mold

  • Registered
  • 834 posts
  • LocationSomewhere in Washington
Joined: Apr 21, 2006

Posted 03 December 2013 - 11:18 PM

If your referring to the all option then it is just what it sounds like it is all, which means both new and reruns (but if the episode is already on your box and from the same network it originally aired it will not recorded it generally) on that particular network for that series. If I remember right the Tivo's used to have a duplicate option and I believe that refered to the fact the same episode may air more than once on a particular channel or with some of the possible recording options it has more than once channel. Choosing duplicates in those cases means it would tape an episode even if it is already on the dvr.


Edited by mshaw2715, 03 December 2013 - 11:20 PM.

Don't be afraid to be yourself.


#45 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,987 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 04 December 2013 - 12:31 AM

2 Dvrs = 118 SL's



#46 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,036 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 04 December 2013 - 01:20 AM

Wondering if folks with Genies are OK with the SL limit at 100. TIA for your votes and comments!

 

No.

 

Not with channels now running shorter seasons with more series.


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#47 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,763 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 04 December 2013 - 06:54 AM

No.
 
Not with channels now running shorter seasons with more series.

I agree. If the Genie is suppose to serve the whole house it should have more than 100, 150 to 200.

#48 OFFLINE   maerativo

maerativo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
  • LocationN. California
Joined: Jul 23, 2008

Posted 06 December 2013 - 01:27 PM

I agree with Drucifer. 100 is not enough.  


DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1996
 

HR44-500
HR24-500
Roku 3


#49 OFFLINE   Gordon Shumway

Gordon Shumway

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
  • LocationOcala, FL
Joined: Jul 25, 2013

Posted 06 December 2013 - 05:37 PM

I have 25-30 SL's, of which probably 1/3 are active at any time. I can barely keep up with that 1/3, so I don't need that many links. I can't even begin to comprehend what one would do with over a 100 series.

#50 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,365 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 06 December 2013 - 10:14 PM

I have 25-30 SL's, of which probably 1/3 are active at any time. I can barely keep up with that 1/3, so I don't need that many links. I can't even begin to comprehend what one would do with over a 100 series.

 

Do you record everything that is watched in your household?



#51 OFFLINE   Gordon Shumway

Gordon Shumway

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
  • LocationOcala, FL
Joined: Jul 25, 2013

Posted 08 December 2013 - 07:22 PM

Do you record everything that is watched in your household?


Yes, and in fairness there are no kids left in the house. Don't think that would have made much of a difference as none of them ever spent much time parked in front of a TV, but that might be different if they were around today.

#52 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,115 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 08 December 2013 - 07:58 PM

Yes, and in fairness there are no kids left in the house. Don't think that would have made much of a difference as none of them ever spent much time parked in front of a TV, but that might be different if they were around today.

 

You might be a good candidate for being a cord cutter. You're probably spending more for DirecTV than is actually worth it. Unless it's mainly sports.



#53 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 09 December 2013 - 12:22 PM

Do you record everything that is watched in your household?

Quite honestly, if you have a house with a couple of kids and you're a tv family, a Genie and a few clients probably doesnt cut it anyway.  The kids are gonna fill up that 1TB pretty fast with all their shows that are on 10 times a day....they still need their own dvr instead of a Genie client


  • damondlt likes this

#54 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,365 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 December 2013 - 12:24 PM

Depends on their age. If they are young they will record a lot but probably only keep 5 or so episodes of any one thing, based on what I have seen from friends and neighbors who are not at all the tv junkie that I am. ;) Still that's not an excuse for 100 IMHO since I can add a esata, an it's more about the number of shows over the course of a year.

#55 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,115 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 09 December 2013 - 12:57 PM

If I remember right, before the release of the Genie, there were some reports that it was still going to be limited to 50, but they increased it. I think there were performance concerns.

 

I was half expecting a box like the 44 to bump to 150 or 200.



#56 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,497 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 December 2013 - 09:59 PM

Depends on their age. If they are young they will record a lot but probably only keep 5 or so episodes of any one thing, 

you have not seen my son's HR24 then...


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#57 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,352 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 07:31 AM

you have not seen my son's HR24 then...

Or my Kids HR23, and Half my Genie space.

My HR 23 is full, HR34 only has 40% left.
But no, I will not add an external!

 

 

 


#58 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,365 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 03:40 PM

I'm talking real young, like under 7...

#59 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,622 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 03:43 PM

I'm talking real young, like under 7...

 

I record shows for my 3 grandkids, ages 1, 3 and 4. I probably have 9-10 SLs, 5 episodes each, and a couple of movies. Maybe 20% of my drive space? :scratchin Not sure.


/steve

#60 OFFLINE   IndyMichael

IndyMichael

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 927 posts
  • LocationIndiana
Joined: Jan 25, 2003

Posted 22 August 2014 - 12:34 PM

Is there a valid reason for having a series limit?  With the fall season soon to start, I have 3 spots open to record new shows.  Even if I delete all the summer shows, I won't have enough, to have a season pass for the new shows the 6 of us want to record.  I'd rather not have to get rid of the genie client, and buy another HD dvr.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...