Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

swm ?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bzmannn

bzmannn

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2013

Posted 20 January 2013 - 11:27 AM

what type if any power inserter do i need with a 5lnb dish and a h23 receiver

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 20 January 2013 - 11:52 AM

For an SWM-8 you need a PI-29. If you're getting an SWM-LNB dish (which I think is a 3 LNB only, not a 5 LNB) it would be a PI-21.

#3 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 20 January 2013 - 07:20 PM

For an SWM-8 you need a PI-29. If you're getting an SWM-LNB dish (which I think is a 3 LNB only, not a 5 LNB) it would be a PI-21.


SWM LNBs are available in both 3 and 5 LNB versions.

SL3 = 3 LNB, non-SWM.
SL3S = 3 LNB, integrated SWM switch.

SL5 = 5 LNB, non-SWM.
SL5S = 5 LNB, integrated SWM switch.

PI-21s are used for all SWM LNBs.

PI-29s are used for external SWM switches (SWM-5, SWM-8, SWM-16). The SWM-32 requires *2* power inserters, a 20v and a 24v, that are unique to the SWM-32.

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,646 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 January 2013 - 07:44 PM

Pi 29 will work with the SWM LNB also.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   FlyingDiver

FlyingDiver

    All Star/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationOn the road in North America...
Joined: Dec 03, 2002

Posted 20 January 2013 - 08:17 PM

I didn't realize that there was a 5 LNB SWM dish. Good to know.

#6 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,082 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 20 January 2013 - 08:30 PM

I didn't realize that there was a 5 LNB SWM dish. Good to know.


The dish is the same, just a different LNB.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"





spam firewall