Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Custom home build. What do I need to have run to dish?


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 21 January 2013 - 07:58 AM

So is the D* requirement that the installer be standing on the ladder in order to install? If so, I'm not sure I'll be able to get the dish installed as the back side of the home from the ground to top roof line over 50ft and first roof line they could consider is about 35ft.

There is a chance I could get it installed on the side elevation roofline that is near the back of the home before it drops down to the basement level. There is a concrete area off that side that a ladder could reach at probably 25ft. The only problem is that might be a no-no with the CC&R's of the development as you might be able to see from the street. I'll check into that.
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,566 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:55 PM

May I ask why a pole mount isn't an option?

It will allow easier removal of snow from the dish for those occasions.
Heavy wet snow has a tendency to stick to the dish. :)
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#23 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 21 January 2013 - 01:01 PM

1. It doesn't snow much here in NC

2. I want the dish on the roof and wiring to be self contained to and within the home. Besides, we have large trees that if I wanted a pole mount, would probably rule out the install. That, and the house is very tall so probably no way to get a signal. (can only be mounted in rear of house as stated in our community CC&Rs)

3. The pole mounts are not the least bit attractive hanging out in your yard. At least the roof mount gets it up and out of the way of sight.
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#24 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 907 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 01:14 PM

OSHA now mandates that if you leave the ladder then you need fall protection. Some offices have fall protection some don't but even if they do most techs have decided to not use it in most cases. Especially when it will be that high up and take alot of their time getting the stuff in place to do the job.

#25 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 21 January 2013 - 01:37 PM

Makes sense. Hopefully the location I have in mind (side elevation near back of home) will work. If not, I call a specialist.
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#26 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,314 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 04:34 PM

OSHA now mandates that if you leave the ladder then you need fall protection. Some offices have fall protection some don't but even if they do most techs have decided to not use it in most cases. Especially when it will be that high up and take alot of their time getting the stuff in place to do the job.

OSHA has mandated fall protection for years. This is nothing new.

However, in 1995 OSHA gave an exemption to the residential building construction industry (framers, roofers, etc.) and they didn't have to meet all the requirements. That exemption has been rescinded and is going to be enforced (one of these days -- it was supposed to be last year but OSHA keeps sliding the date back. Currently it is scheduled to be enforced starting March 15, 2013). But for dish installers, there has been a requirement for fall protection going back to at least the 1980s.

#27 OFFLINE   Combat Medic

Combat Medic

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 154 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 22 January 2013 - 10:31 AM

I would add that while the counts of cables are great, I would also install some conduit with a pull string so that future cable installs are easy.

#28 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 22 January 2013 - 10:43 AM

Check....Conduits already in the plans.
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#29 OFFLINE   Phil17108

Phil17108

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationOrange County California
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:48 AM

Use solid copper coax for all DirecTV runs. if you are having it done make sure you specify solid copper like this
http://www.satpro.tv...able-Solid.aspx.
the Direct installer will add the connectors and ground blocks
read the code on grounding a satellite dish and maybe have direct show you the best place for a dish on your place.

#30 OFFLINE   CDJohnson25

CDJohnson25

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
  • LocationOn a long and lonesome highway, east of Omaha
Joined: Nov 04, 2007

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:23 AM

Where on the outside of your house are you planning to put the dish (have the coax run to)? Are you certain the dish can be mounted there? Multiple considerations including line of sight, access to the location by the installer (they normally won't go on a roof away from the ladder location), ability to properly ground the coax and dish, etc.

I totally agree with running at least two extra coax. Or as an option, run conduit through which you can easily pull 4 to 6 coax.


First, thanks Ray for starting this thread on new homes. I'm in the same position here. And thanks all for the suggestions to run 6 lines to the dish, it would be nice to add an attic antenna for the extra locals.

It will be mid March before we actually move the service. So, if I call DTV movers line, do you think they would send someone out to locate where the dish will go?

Also, is SOP to come out the house sidewall and wrap around the edge of the roof to the dish? (That's the way it was done in my old house.) I have mixed feelings on punching a hole for the cables in the roof at the dish location. What have you all done?

Thanks,
Chris

#31 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,243 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 25 January 2013 - 04:26 PM

It will be mid March before we actually move the service. So, if I call DTV movers line, do you think they would send someone out to locate where the dish will go?

Also, is SOP to come out the house sidewall and wrap around the edge of the roof to the dish? (That's the way it was done in my old house.) I have mixed feelings on punching a hole for the cables in the roof at the dish location. What have you all done?

Thanks,
Chris


Directv dosen't have a work order for a site survey.

Your only option would be to schedule the movers connect. A Tech would get the workorder around 3 or 4 am, add up how much he was going to make that day and maybe get excited. If he needed equipment to complete any of the work he would head out to the wharehouse, otherwise he might go back to bed. When he got to your house, likely in the middle of nowhere and found out you just wanted a site survey he might be irratated. I know I would. A movers connect would pay somewhere around $50 depending on a number of variables. We only get paid if we complete the job that day. If you had that in your hand when I got there we could talk.

The NEC requires the dish and coax to be grounded before it enters the house. Most states and local governments follow the NECs recommendations. The most logical location is where the other utilites enter the house at the meter base. Run the cables from your structured wiring closet there. Let the tech worry about getting the cables from the dish to the meterbase.

We could talk about that also, you could be prepared. ;)

Edited by samrs, 25 January 2013 - 05:13 PM.
;)

HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#32 OFFLINE   996911

996911

    Go Pack!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 809 posts
  • LocationTobacco Road, NC
Joined: Aug 24, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 05:00 PM

First, thanks Ray for starting this thread on new homes. I'm in the same position here. And thanks all for the suggestions to run 6 lines to the dish, it would be nice to add an attic antenna for the extra locals.

It will be mid March before we actually move the service. So, if I call DTV movers line, do you think they would send someone out to locate where the dish will go?

Also, is SOP to come out the house sidewall and wrap around the edge of the roof to the dish? (That's the way it was done in my old house.) I have mixed feelings on punching a hole for the cables in the roof at the dish location. What have you all done?

Thanks,
Chris



Very welcome. This can be a bit overwhelming for most so I hope we can get the answers we need from the collective braintrust here!
Cheers,
Ray Johnson

#33 OFFLINE   CDJohnson25

CDJohnson25

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
  • LocationOn a long and lonesome highway, east of Omaha
Joined: Nov 04, 2007

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:16 PM

Directv dosen't have a work order for a site survey.


ok, I have a pretty unobstructed south roof that should work about anywhere along it.

Your only option would be to schedule the movers connect. A Tech would get the workorder around 3 or 4 am, add up how much he was going to make that day and maybe get excited. If he needed equipment to complete any of the work he would head out to the wharehouse, otherwise he might go back to bed. When he got to your house, likely in the middle of nowhere and found out you just wanted a site survey he might be irratated. I know I would. A movers connect would pay somewhere around $50 depending on a number of variables. We only get paid if we complete the job that day. If you had that in your hand when I got there we could talk.


I think you read a bit too much into my question. I wouldn't do that to the installers. I'm a builder, and I don't like people doing that to me. I want them to want to do good work, not piss them off before they get started. :D


The NEC requires the dish and coax to be grounded before it enters the house. Most states and local governments follow the NECs recommendations. The most logical location is where the other utilites enter the house at the meter base. Run the cables from your structured wiring closet there. Let the tech worry about getting the cables from the dish to the meterbase.

We could talk about that also, you could be prepared. ;)


Yes, that's what I mean, I want to get prepared and have cables where I want them so installer can mount dish where I want it to go, if it works there. (kinda got a bit frustrated with one prior installer when he put the dish on the front side of my roof - the north side facing the street. I'd like to locate it in the back out of sight from the street, if at all possible.)

#34 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,314 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:38 PM

Yes, that's what I mean, I want to get prepared and have cables where I want them so installer can mount dish where I want it to go, if it works there. (kinda got a bit frustrated with one prior installer when he put the dish on the front side of my roof - the north side facing the street. I'd like to locate it in the back out of sight from the street, if at all possible.)

In our neighborhood, that is where the installer always tries to put the dish -- front corner of the house. Typically closest to the home-run outside box and also the ground for the house. So less work and expense to the installer.

If you're building and can have your wires all set at the back of the house, the installer shouldn't be 'upset' about mounting the dish at the back. As long as he has LOS and can get the signal strength required to complete the job.

There are also some apps and web pages that can help you verify your LOS.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...