Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20/700: SWM? Whole Home? New Disk? DECA?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   grins

grins

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 21 January 2013 - 02:34 PM

iirc correctly, the HR20/700 is SWM ready.

Is it compatible with Whole Home DVR?

Is the Ethernet port useful on that, or do I need the DECA dongle?

Can I copy its current internal disk onto a new bigger disk and use that as a replacement internal disk?

Actually, I also used that DVR with an external disk. Can I copy that external disk onto a new larger disk and use that new larger copy of the old external disk as the internal/only disk?

Thanks, y'all. I'm considering resurrecting the old dog so that some recordings will stick around for a bit longer.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 02:42 PM

iirc correctly, the HR20/700 is SWM ready.

Is it compatible with Whole Home DVR?

Is the Ethernet port useful on that, or do I need the DECA dongle?

Can I copy its current internal disk onto a new bigger disk and use that as a replacement internal disk?

Actually, I also used that DVR with an external disk. Can I copy that external disk onto a new larger disk and use that new larger copy of the old external disk as the internal/only disk?

Thanks, y'all. I'm considering resurrecting the old dog so that some recordings will stick around for a bit longer.


HR20 is compatible with WHDVR... the supported way is with DECA dongle, but uses the ethernet port... unsupported way would be to use your own ethernet network.

if you OWN the DVR (or you don't care if you violate the terms of service) and you are familiar with replacing the hard drive in a PC, you can copy the drive to a larger one and use a larger one in your DVR. (see http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=148760) for information. as far as external vs internal... to the box it does not matter, you can change one for the other, just that the external, if present will have priority over the internal.

HR34, HR20x3, HR22, HR23, H24, H21

-BAHitman


#3 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,929 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 02:51 PM

Before you add hard drive space to an HR20, I'd consider that a HR20-700 is between 5 and 6 years old by now. It would be a shame to hook up a 1TB drive to a HR20, fill it up with recordings, and then have the HR20 die due to a power supply failure or some motherboard issue.

You might want to consider upgrading to a HR24 or a Genie instead.

This was the calculus we went through recently when our HR20 developed disk issues. Rather than replace the drive and have a new drive attached to an old DVR, we upgraded to a Genie.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#4 OFFLINE   grins

grins

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:16 PM

HR20 is compatible with WHDVR


Thanks, BA! I do in fact own it, so out come the wrenches ;-)

#5 OFFLINE   grins

grins

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:21 PM

You might want to consider upgrading to a HR24


Thanks, Diana!

I moved in July 2012, and got an HR24 then. HR20 used an external disk, and was therefore unable to participate in whole home, so I asked to upgrade the HR20 to another HR24, and got the HR21 instead (because they "are absolutely unable to control what model of DVR you get"...even though they obviously _can_ control it when you add an additional _new_ dvr) :nono2:

TL;DR can't upgrade HR21 to HR24, so adding the HR20 as a cheap hack

#6 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,929 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:26 PM

I'm a compulsive tinkerer, so I get the motivation. :)

However, there is no reason an HR20 could not participate in whole home because it uses an external drive. We had an 1TB external drive on our HR20 almost from the day they enabled external drive support, and we likewise had MRV turned on back in the beta test period.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#7 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:27 PM

I own 3 of the HR20's... 2 of them have 2TB drives internal, and 1 has a 1TB internal...

As Diana pointed out... if the DVR fries, the recordings are gone, so long as you keep that in mind... open her up... it's a bit tricky, but patience will get you there...

I ordered a "new" dvr and got my HR21... That's where solid signal is your friend... order from them and you will get an HR24...

HR34, HR20x3, HR22, HR23, H24, H21

-BAHitman


#8 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:29 PM

. HR20 used an external disk, and was therefore unable to participate in whole home,


This is not the case... The DVR does not care whether the drive is internal or external...

HR34, HR20x3, HR22, HR23, H24, H21

-BAHitman


#9 OFFLINE   grins

grins

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:47 PM

I'm a compulsive tinkerer


Compulsive? Who's compulsive? <washes hands> ;-)

However, there is no reason an HR20 could not participate in whole home because it uses an external drive.


well then...I guess I should have played CSR roulette a third time, 'cause that's the line I got twice. anyway, it got me an HR21-700 :-/

#10 OFFLINE   Rent_Share

Rent_Share

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2011

Posted 22 January 2013 - 09:49 AM

Doesn't the HR20 require a slighty different hookup than the HR21/22/23 on SWM8

Dish Slimline-5 WB68 MRV Enabled (Non Supported) Cat 5
HR20-100 - HR21/100 - HR23-700 - Not Networked DSR708 SD


#11 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,169 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 January 2013 - 09:56 AM

I think it is just the HR20-100 that has a unique connection, not all HR20's.

#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,346 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 22 January 2013 - 10:31 AM

Right, the -100 is the only one that needs the special setup. -700 is just like an HR21-23.

#13 OFFLINE   SFNSXguy

SFNSXguy

    EOE

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 515 posts
  • LocationNear San Francisco
Joined: Apr 17, 2006

Posted 22 January 2013 - 02:04 PM

Right, the -100 is the only one that needs the special setup. -700 is just like an HR21-23.


Just curious -- what's the "special setup"?
HS
D* user since 11/94

#14 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,929 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 22 January 2013 - 09:52 PM

Just curious -- what's the "special setup"?


See here: http://www.dbstalk.c...734#post2456734

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#15 OFFLINE   SFNSXguy

SFNSXguy

    EOE

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 515 posts
  • LocationNear San Francisco
Joined: Apr 17, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 08:22 AM

Thank you!
HS
D* user since 11/94




Protected By... spam firewall...And...