Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

moving 722 away from phone jack


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dynomonkey

dynomonkey

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:49 PM

If I move my 722 away from the phone/internet jack and hook up my smart tv to wireless/router, will the 722 transmit info through the hdmi cable to tv? Strange thought, eh? I don't know if the hdmi transmits data or just video/sound. Is the HDMI cable two way?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 05:54 PM

If I move my 722 away from the phone/internet jack and hook up my smart tv to wireless/router, will the 722 transmit info through the hdmi cable to tv? Strange thought, eh? I don't know if the hdmi transmits data or just video/sound. Is the HDMI cable two way?


Hdmi works with CEC, yes its two way.

#3 OFFLINE   dynomonkey

dynomonkey

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:02 PM

So my 722 should be able to use the tv's wifi. Updates, PPV and ect. will transmit correctly to dish?

#4 OFFLINE   DoyleS

DoyleS

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 994 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:11 PM

Very easy to tell. Connect the HDMI cable and then go into your 722 setup menu and see if it has an IP address. I find it hard to believe this would work but I am not really familiar with the CEC connection and what all information can pass with it.
Receivers= 722K, 722, 211K,
Dishes=Dish1000.2
Sling Adapter

#5 OFFLINE   dynomonkey

dynomonkey

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:22 PM

Good idea. I'll let you know when my new tv gets here! Hopefully soon. Already orderd!

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,744 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 January 2013 - 07:06 PM

Your chances using your TV's Internet connection for 722 via HDMI is zero. The DVR has no provision to utilize Ethernet via its HDMI connection.

#7 OFFLINE   dynomonkey

dynomonkey

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 23 January 2013 - 10:11 PM

Hmm. Maybe I will check into one of those wireless adapters then.

#8 OFFLINE   sremick

sremick

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2008

Posted 27 January 2013 - 10:19 PM

I connected a single wireless adapter to a hub to supply wired network connections to several bits of AV gear on my rack. No more worrying about whether a device has built-in wireless or not.

#9 OFFLINE   garcher

garcher

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 07 February 2013 - 05:11 PM

I did the same thing -- I have my 622, Blu-Ray DVD and HDTV all plugged into the same linksys wireless router -- it saves $$ on having to purchase wireless adapters (each a bit different) for all my equipment. If you have the room you should go that way.




spam firewall