Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Why does TV Apps so often get broken?


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Pepe Sylvia

Pepe Sylvia

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 10, 2010

Posted 23 January 2013 - 07:03 PM

I like it when it works, but so often it gets "service unavailable (5)" error. It's not the network connection because the On Demand downloads without a problem. This feature is still not ready for prime time.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 23 January 2013 - 07:17 PM

They haven't continued to support the applications for a little while now. I wouldn't expect many of the issues with the apps to be fixed anytime soon or ever really.

#3 OFFLINE   FussyBob

FussyBob

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 186 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2009

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:23 PM

I like it when it works, but so often it gets "service unavailable (5)" error. It's not the network connection because the On Demand downloads without a problem. This feature is still not ready for prime time.


I have the same problem and this has helped a lot. When I lose TVapps on either one of my HR22's I go to Directv.com and reauthorize that particular receiver. They state that it will be reauthorized in 5 minutes but that is not true, you need to wait over night. Then do a red button reset and the apps will be back. Or you can just wait it out for days for them to return on its own.

Someone here with the inside knowledge said a few months ago that DTV was working on a new TVapps system and was to roll it out soon, let's hope!

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,936 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:37 PM

Sadly, TVApps has sort of been left out in the rain for a while. I have been told something else is coming but I don't know when.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,152 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:45 PM

I've given up on the current TV apps, I don't even bother reporting any problems with it anymore. IMHO just another case of DIRECTV coming up with a good idea, like Media Share also, and then not really following through on it.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#6 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,334 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:47 PM

My TV Apps work perfect. Everytime. On all four boxes.

Except right after a software upgrade, but that dosn't take much to get them going again.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#7 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,864 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 25 January 2013 - 04:04 PM

My TV Apps work perfect. Everytime. On all four boxes.

Except right after a software upgrade, but that dosn't take much to get them going again.


Mines been working good also, which I had a problem with on previous SW updates, but don't use it much unless to watch weather app or sometimes scoreguide app when I'm not on a interactive sports channel

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#8 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 25 January 2013 - 05:24 PM

They state that it will be reauthorized in 5 minutes but that is not true, you need to wait over night.


Every time I've used it or had them do it over the phone, it took about 20 seconds. The reauthorize is for your access card and the programming it is able to view, not TVapps.

#9 OFFLINE   TXD16

TXD16

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 876 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:29 PM

I've given up on the current TV apps, I don't even bother reporting any problems with it anymore. IMHO just another case of DIRECTV coming up with a good idea, like Media Share also, and then not really following through on it.


Agreed---they both got off to a good, if not great, start, with a seemingly high uptake, and both have (had) high value if implemented properly. Curious.

"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion: the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases, while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force." - Ayn Rand


#10 OFFLINE   goinsleeper

goinsleeper

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: May 22, 2012

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:43 PM

Agreed---they both got off to a good, if not great, start, with a seemingly high uptake, and both have (had) high value if implemented properly. Curious.


Probably based on cost of IT upkeep versus the low number of customers using it. Maybe just a little ahead of it's time. Hopefully a new platform is coming as the use of applications on many devices is only climbing.

#11 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,120 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 26 January 2013 - 12:42 AM

With the onset of millions of tablets and light laptops over the last 3-4 years, all in customers hands as they watch TV, TV Apps becomes moot for most of that base. You can much quicker find what you want on your iPad or laptop than through TV Apps, with a great deal more customization. So, for many, the sun has set there. Hardly all, of course, and it would be nice to see it brought up to snuff.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#12 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,337 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 26 January 2013 - 06:13 AM

My TV Apps work perfect. Everytime. On all four boxes.

Except right after a software upgrade, but that doesn't take much to get them going again.

That does indeed happen sometimes.

Resetting the Network Services settings corrects the issue and restores TV Apps.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#13 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,334 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 26 January 2013 - 07:09 AM

That does indeed happen sometimes.

Resetting the Network Services settings corrects the issue and restores TV Apps.


Yep, thats what keeps mine happy.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#14 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,337 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 26 January 2013 - 07:31 AM

Yep, thats what keeps mine happy.

I'd speculate that DirecTV is aware of this hiccup issue, and perhaps folks will see it corrected in a future firmware update. :shrug:
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#15 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,424 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 26 January 2013 - 08:41 AM

It's right up there with Media Center (beta) and Game Center (makes the Atari 2600 look state-of-the-art)

#16 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,337 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 26 January 2013 - 08:46 AM

It's right up there with Media Center (beta) and Game Center (makes the Atari 2600 look state-of-the-art)

Actually....TV Apps have worked very well here for a very long time.

Only use about 5-6 at a crack, but use them regularly...a great info convenience here. The scores, weather, and other apps get used all the time.

All that said...accessory functions like these tend to evolve over time.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#17 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,152 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:21 AM

Actually....TV Apps have worked very well here for a very long time.

Only use about 5-6 at a crack, but use them regularly...a great info convenience here. The scores, weather, and other apps get used all the time.

All that said...accessory functions like these tend to evolve over time.


The ones that are left work, but a number were removed by their developers because something new was coming. Plus the tvapps.directv.com web site was removed months ago because something else was coming, still waiting.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#18 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,337 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:32 AM

All that said...accessory functions like these tend to evolve over time.

Plus the tvapps.directv.com web site was removed months ago because something else was coming, still waiting.

Think we're kinda saying the same thing. :)
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#19 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,152 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:50 AM

Think we're kinda saying the same thing. :)


Nope. I come from the school that you don't remove functionality from a product while working on an upgrade.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#20 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,337 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 26 January 2013 - 10:25 AM

Nope. I come from the school that you don't remove functionality from a product while working on an upgrade.

What about during transition?

Agree removing something before it's morphed replacement is in place makes little sense though.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#21 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,152 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 26 January 2013 - 10:31 AM

What about during transition?

Agree removing something before it's morphed replacement is in place makes little sense though.


A transition over a weekend, maybe. But it's been months now and still nothing.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#22 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,864 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 26 January 2013 - 06:01 PM

I remember when early last year they push us a update that really broke the TV Apps with errors on every press of the right arrow button, then update fixed it with exception of the weather app disappearing then YouTube was broken.

#23 OFFLINE   FussyBob

FussyBob

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 186 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2009

Posted 29 January 2013 - 07:20 PM

Every time I've used it or had them do it over the phone, it took about 20 seconds. The reauthorize is for your access card and the programming it is able to view, not TVapps.


Well it's the only way I can get the TVapps back. Done it about 30 times over the last few years and if I do not do the reauthorization, I never get the TV apps back until I do so.

#24 OFFLINE   paulh

paulh

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2003

Posted 30 January 2013 - 03:01 PM

I don't check the Apps that frequently now a days, but my TV App experience went from spotty (disappearing after software updates..) to reliable once I realized I needed to change (firewall?) settings in my DSL modem, and not just my router.

I had to check, but it looks like I turned off my modem's firewall as I'm using my routers firewall.

Edited by paulh, 30 January 2013 - 05:59 PM.
Update


#25 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,403 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 30 January 2013 - 09:58 PM

my apps never work, always say Still initializing please try again later (301)

also my You Tube does not even show up in the Extras menu. Im getting Pandora, and On demand but no You tube. Not even getting the settings in Parental for you tube.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...