Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Searching for 771 Issues


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tae111

tae111

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 07:47 PM

I am suddenly having a problem with my receivers.(1 HD DVR, 1 HD receiver and 1 non HD Reciever). On some channels I am getting a searching for satelite 771 message. It just started the other day. The weather is clear but we are in a very cold spell (teens and below). It started out as pixelated channels and now those channels just don't come in. The channels not effected come in perfectly. I had my HD DVR check the transponders and there were two that were 86 but all the rest were between 94 and 98. Service dept. says they can't come out for two weeks. There is no snow on the dish and no trees in the way.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 23 January 2013 - 07:55 PM

Hi,

are you sure you checked signal levels on all satellites? If you could at least say which channels are causing the problems then the folks here could tell you which satellites are the issues. It could be anything from a loose connection to a blown LNB.

I'd also ask, are you sure it's not a 771A or 771B error? Those are different from just plain 771.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   tae111

tae111

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 24 January 2013 - 12:12 AM

The screen says searching for satelite 771. The channels effected are 5,9,11,13,247,269,273,292,327,333,335,507,508,517,529,540,541,542,545,554,558,559,605. might be a few more. All the other channels come in chrystal clear. Earlier today and yesterday these channels were pixelated some of the time and the message would flash once in a while. As of tonight these channels will not show at all. You just get a black screen and the message. Like I said before it is very cold 10 right now and not a cloud in the sky.

#4 OFFLINE   tae111

tae111

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 24 January 2013 - 12:25 AM

I'm not sure about the satelites though. I just selected view signal strength with the remote and this came up

1-8 97 0 97 0 96 0 97 0
9-16 96 0 96 0 95 0 95 0
17-24 86 0 86 0 94 0 95 0
25-32 94 0 96 0 98 0 95 0
I have no idea if I am doing this right though
I also did another test that showed a diagnostic code 72-972. I did this test after the customer service person over the phone asked me to. They said they couldn't schedual anyone to come out until feb 1.

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,483 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 24 January 2013 - 01:17 AM

You're missing all of the even-numbered transponders. This is typically a symptom of a defective coax cable connector at the dish LNB or ground block. Cold weather can affect these connections. If you can easily access them, you might try loosening and re-tightening these connectors. Otherwise best to call for a service visit.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   tae111

tae111

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 24 January 2013 - 01:39 AM

Thanks. Thats just what I did. Must be busy around here though. Thay can't come out for two weeks. :nono2:

#7 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,337 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 24 January 2013 - 05:56 AM

Weren't there some LNBs that had issues in cold weather, or it it unlikely that anyone would still have those?

#8 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,824 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 24 January 2013 - 06:59 AM

Weren't there some LNBs that had issues in cold weather, or it it unlikely that anyone would still have those?

Some of the very early SWiM LNBs would cut out when it got too cold.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#9 OFFLINE   tae111

tae111

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:44 AM

If the Lnb was bad wouldn't that effect all channels?

#10 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:53 AM

Actually no. What you're seeing is that the LNB is having trouble tuning half of the transponders on one satellite. The dish tunes odd numbered transponders differently than even numbered ones (insert long explanation here, which is not terribly interesting.)
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#11 OFFLINE   CATCRAW

CATCRAW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2008

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:28 AM

I had the same issue and it was fixed a couple of weeks ago. 771 was just on some of the channels. DTV sent me new BBC's and that did not resolve the issue. It was intermittent at first - if I disconnected the BBC on Sat In, the channel would come in fine. Finally it got to the point that 771 was on all the time for some channels. DTV sent someone out the next day and it ended up being the coax run. They ran a new cable under the house and everything works fine now. Although yesterday we did have 771 on a few channels in the 360 range, but they came back after a few minutes.




spam firewall