Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

netflix super hd


  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#41 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:14 PM

The thing, terminator 2, fire in the sky, the innkeepers all in super hd


Thanx, I'll check them out.

Rich

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,596 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:19 PM

Netflix titles can be 1080p without being "Super HD."
DTV = Digital Television

#43 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 793 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:27 PM

i believe the theory is a higher bit rate on the 1080p super hd.

#44 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:28 PM

Netflix titles can be 1080p without being "Super HD."


All my NF content is upscaled to 1080p. I just want to see how much better this is.

Rich

#45 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:29 PM

i believe the theory is a higher bit rate on the 1080p super hd.


I'll check out those titles and post about them later.

Rich

#46 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 793 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 03:05 PM

The list of devices is sort of incorrect too. The Roku XD/S all thou 1080p capable only does Netflix in 720p. As far as I can tell.

Edited by Christopher Gould, 27 January 2013 - 03:45 PM.


#47 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 793 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 05:51 PM

well according to avs site it looks like a possible bug is why im getting high/sd after high/hd on the ps3. they think its because there isnt a level programmed into the ps3 indicator to show that bite rate.

#48 OFFLINE   morgan79

morgan79

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: Oct 09, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:17 PM

the frieghtners just watched high/sd was what it sad the whole movie was 5.1 though...great pq

#49 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 793 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:26 PM

I called Netflix again and tried to explain the high/sd thing and asked to report it as a bug.

#50 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:25 AM

I called Netflix again and tried to explain
the high/sd thing and asked to report it as a bug.


Can't get it at all. Called Cablevision and got nowhere.

Rich

#51 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:30 AM

I called Netflix again and tried to explain the high/sd thing and asked to report it as a bug.


Do you know: NetFlix has no technical support? I called them a year or so ago about a problem I was having and as soon as it got a bit (just a little bit) technical, they quickly gave up and told me to call my ISP. I then asked to be sent to their technical support people and was told they don't have that. Unreal. They're trying to go to a mostly streaming business and don't support it in any way, technically.

Rich

#52 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 793 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 28 January 2013 - 04:09 PM

I got that feeling the first time I called and he tried to tell me my connection wasn't steady enough. I pointed out that I can do vudu hdx 1080p on the same ps3 with no problem. He said that was like comparing apples and oranges. So I gave up and did more Internet searches and found AVS was taking about it and said he had a bit rate of 4800( I think) and was showing high/sd. They assumed it was a big.

#53 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 January 2013 - 09:37 AM

I got that feeling the first time I called and he tried to tell me my connection wasn't steady enough. I pointed out that I can do vudu hdx 1080p on the same ps3 with no problem. He said that was like comparing apples and oranges. So I gave up and did more Internet searches and found AVS was taking about it and said he had a bit rate of 4800( I think) and was showing high/sd. They assumed it was a big.


I got into one of those circular arguments. NF told me to call CV. CV told me to call NF and so forth.

Rich

#54 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,929 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 29 January 2013 - 09:53 AM

I would do next time make 3-way call, mini conference.

#55 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 January 2013 - 10:07 AM

I would do next time make 3-way call, mini conference.


Honestly, I don't know who else to call. I guess I'll get it when I get it. Not that important to me, I get better PQ than D*'s 1080i with my upscaling BD players when streaming NF content.

Rich

#56 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 07 February 2013 - 10:04 AM

OK, I finally got the HD on my Sammy e6500s. Watched the sequel to The Pillars of Fire on one of my e6500s and it looks good. Watched the second episode on one of my c5500s that doesn't show the Super HD logo and it upscaled it so well, I couldn't really tell the difference. Now, I see most of the New Releases show the Super HD logo.

I have a Sony 590 arriving tomorrow, need it to replace the c5500 on my Home Theater Sammy sound system. Can't put another Sammy on it, the remotes would screw both up.

The Sony 590 was the choice over on AVS and I'll be interested to see if it can at least perform as well as my Sammys do.

Rich

#57 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,634 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 07 February 2013 - 02:57 PM

I went to the NF SHD page. It says my ISP is not configured (CenturyLink 20M/896K)

#58 OFFLINE   morgan79

morgan79

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: Oct 09, 2007

Posted 09 February 2013 - 01:10 PM

my ps3 shows high/sd,, but when i hit the info on my lg tv its shows as 1080 60p...

#59 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 09 February 2013 - 01:23 PM

my ps3 shows high/sd,, but when i hit the info on my lg tv its shows as 1080 60p...


My Sammy e6500s and c5500s upscale every thing to 1080p/60 and I kinda thought that was what I was looking at. All my Panny plasmas tell me is 1080p. I called NF about the ("Super HD") and, naturally, they didn't know what it was. They're gonna send me an email if they figure it out. I'm not holding my breath. How can they run that company without tech support?

Rich

#60 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,930 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 09 February 2013 - 01:30 PM

OK, I finally got the HD on my Sammy e6500s. Watched the sequel to The Pillars of Fire on one of my e6500s and it looks good. Watched the second episode on one of my c5500s that doesn't show the Super HD logo and it upscaled it so well, I couldn't really tell the difference. Now, I see most of the New Releases show the Super HD logo.

I have a Sony 590 arriving tomorrow, need it to replace the c5500 on my Home Theater Sammy sound system. Can't put another Sammy on it, the remotes would screw both up.

The Sony 590 was the choice over on AVS and I'll be interested to see if it can at least perform as well as my Sammys do.

Rich


So, I got the Sony 590 yesterday and I'm not happy with it. The remote is not as well thought out as the Sammy remotes, which aren't well thought out, but the Sony remote is really bad. Tiny buttons, big Home button where it's not needed. Can't see the damn thing in a dark room. I'm gonna give it another day and see if I can tolerate it. The PQ is on a par with my Sammy e6500s. The 590 doesn't have a time counter on the front panel as the Sammys do. Another nail in the coffin.

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...